We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,789)
Filter reviews
1,789 results
Traveler rating
990
468
203
80
48
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
990
468
203
80
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fetch restaurant float lounge rain shower main building the wild pacific trail ocean view drift spa pacific spirit one bedroom suite floor to ceiling windows the kitchen heated floors on the rocks soaker tub amazing views large balcony crashing waves
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 1,789 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2018 via mobile


We arrived about 17:45 We booked B&B and a very early bear watching tour next morning (before breakfast service), we asked for a picnic because we couldn’t have breakfast at the hotel. The receptionist told to us you need to tell it 24 hours in advance, but sometimes they do an exception. He send a message to the restaurant and they told them it was not possible for us. We were three people in our room, we call to the reception to ask to make ready our sofa bed, they said it was ready, but we have to open the sofa bed ourselves. I tried to exchange some $ dollar but they told me the rate was one one, I find that a really ripe off, in Vancouver and Victoria we got 126 CANADIAN dollar for every 100 USA dollar. As I said great location, but they should think more about the needs of the customers.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
3  Thank Ricardo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine A, Director of Sales & Marketing at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2018

Dear Ricardo P,
thank you so much for taking the time to write to us. We really appreciate your feedback. I am certain you will agree that Vancouver and Victoria have hundreds of options and exchange offices which of course, our beautiful town does not have. We have a total of 3 restaurants on site, and food is available daily from 7am to 10pm. Outside of our opening hours, we have snacks and drinks vending machine available. There are currently no option for food 24/7 in both Tofino and Ucluelet. Although we are a 3-star resort, we thrive on offering our guests with a 5-star experience. We hope to be serving you again in the future,
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2018

We enjoyed three nights at this oceanfront resort perched on the black rocks lining the coast. Our room was great in terms of the view, comfortable bed, fireplace, sizeable bathroom and shower, balcony and amenities such as coffee, etc. It was nice to stay inside the main building so walking to the restaurant and spa did not require donning outerwear. We enjoyed wonderful facials at the spa and although there was a mix-up with our spa reservations, the staff recovered the situation quickly. The food is great. We enjoyed breakfast and dinners at Fetch throughout our stay. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. A highlight is the ability to walk the Pacific Rim trail starting right at the front door of the resort. This is not to be missed. Absolutely spectacular scenery and moderate difficulty. The Artists Loops are wonderful along the trail and take you to the edge of the cliffs. The resort location provides a nice home base to visit the beautiful beaches, rainforest, harbor area of Ucluelet, Tofino and the local lighthouse. A few things that could use improvement: provide directions in the room for turning on the fireplace and the bathroom sink plug. Our sink was draining very slowly so we called for maintenance twice and when they finally came, the solution was simply to press down on the plug to pop it open. We had never seen this type of drain before. Also, our room was right above the pool/hot tub so in the late afternoon when we wanted to quietly relax, read or nap in our room or on our balcony, it could be noisy with kids playing in the pool or adults talking loudly. We would request a different room on our next visit. The lounge area of the spa faces the pool/hot tub so again, if there are kids or people playing/talking loudly, it interrupts the serenity of relaxing before or after a spa treatment. Some type of drapes to obscure that part of the view may help. Overall, we had a very nice stay and would recommend this property to others.

Date of stay: July 2018
1  Thank kahula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine A, Director of Sales & Marketing at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2018

Dear kahula,
Thank you for leaving such a nice review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay; our dedicated staff will be pleased to learn of your high praise. They work very diligently and it will provide them with great encouragement to keep doing what they are doing. We hope to have the lovely pleasure to be your hosts again on the rugged west coast. Thank you, once again, for your kind words.
Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2018

Not even a breakfast for $500 per night? Seriously?
Both the bed and the sofa bed were extremely uncomfortable. The swimming pool and Jacuzzi were too small and dirty. The amount of money you pay for this resort takes up expectations and expectations were not met at all. In contrast to the rate, the staff and service was very very cheap. The resort is located in a very nice spot though. I do not recommend staying here at all unless they lower they prices by at least %50.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank this_is_randomness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine A, Director of Sales & Marketing at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2018

Dear this_is_randomness,
thank you very much for taking the time to write about your recent stay. We absolutely do offer Bed and Breakfast Package; it is really disappointing we did not get the chance to speak with you and solve this. Our room rate starts at $299 per night in the summer months, and will vary depending on the room type and occupancy. Next time, please walk right up a manager and voice your concerns. We want hear all about your concerns and address them in the most suitable way. We look forward to hearing from you.
Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2018

We were expecting an amazing place for our visit to Ucluelet and had selected Black Rock Resort. We were impressed by the views from our room in the Beach House but our positive impressions were quickly diminished. One of the doors to the patio would not open which left the bedroom warm and unpleasant as there is no air conditioning. The front desk fixed the problem quickly. We then tried to wash a load of clothes with the in room washer and dryer to find out that the drawer to load the laundry detergent was broken. We were eventually able to get it to work but the lack of quality control was disappointing.

Our biggest disappointment came when we went to dinner in the Fetch Restaurant. This is an upscale restaurant where we did not expect small children to be running around and rolling on the floor causing the wait staff to have to step over the kids. The noise level was also disturbing. Things did not get better. I waited 30 minutes to get my water refilled. We waited one hour and 30 minutes for our meal to be delivered. At the first the wait staff seemed ambivalent to the issue and less than concerned about our situation. Eventually they were more attentive and had the manager come over to explain they were experiencing some problems in the kitchen.

When the food was delivered one of the sides did not arrive and finally we cancelled the order. The Burrata was unacceptable and had to be returned. The Ribeye was a poor excuse for a quality steak but I was able to eat it. The Risotto was very good as was the chowder.

The manager did comp our drinks and provided a discount on the meals we ate.

Given the distance and difficulty to get to this resort and the poor quality of service we will not be visiting the Black Rock Resort in the future.

Disappointed

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine A, Director of Sales & Marketing at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2018

Dear Robert G,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this note. We were devastated to hear you had such a bad experience with us. We are usually known for our great customer service and attention to detail in everything that we do. No hotels on the coast currently have air conditioning, but we do provide cooling unit, should the fan and fresh ocean air not be satisfactory for your comfort. Being right on the ocean, our patio doors are "Patio Storm Door". They provides additional insulation against outside elements and help save on energy. They reduce heat loss in the winter and heat build-up in the summer. I was very sorry to hear about the waiting time in Fetch Restaurant, and will be following up with the Executive Chef. An acceptable waiting time for dinner is usually around 30 minutes. I am glad you spoke to a manager and he offered a discount on your meals. We pride ourselves in maintaining the highest quality standards for our guests. So, we hope you will give us and opportunity to discuss this further with you. We look forward to hearing from you.
Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2018 via mobile

Trails start right outside the premises. Service needs more training. The FETCH Restaurant was not overly impressive. Good Food but no idea how to serve red wine. Best experience was the spa treatments (hot stone, seaweed wraps and facial) - simply amazing!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank 446christiann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine A, Director of Sales & Marketing at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2018

Dear Christian N,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a beautiful review. We are glad that you loved our services, our dedicated staff will be pleased to learn of your high praise! We appreciate your feedback and will pass on all your comments to the entire team. Thank you, once again, for your kind words.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews