We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,756)
Filter reviews
1,756 results
Traveler rating
978
453
201
77
47
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
978
453
201
77
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfetch restaurantfloat loungerain showermain buildingthe wild pacific trailocean viewdrift spaone bedroom suitepacific spiritfloor to ceiling windowsthe kitchenheated floorssoaker tubon the rocksamazing viewslarge balconycrashing waves
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 1,756 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2018 via mobile

Black Rock is in a great location on the edge of the Pacific and could be a top place to stay but lots of niggling issues let it down.
To name just a few: No air con in rooms. A noisy in room fridge cutting in and out all night that you can’t turn off / unplug. This maybe called Oceanfront but don’t expect a view as many rooms have little or no ocean view.
Lovely area for forest walks and the food is good.
The nearby town of Ucluelet is small with little to offer.
It’s a long way to come for average.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine A, Director of Sales & Marketing at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2018

Dear Richard C,
thank you so much for taking the time to write about your recent stay. We are delighted you enjoyed our beautiful location! Please note that we offer both oceanview and rainforest view rooms. We do offer cooling unit for the room upon request. The Miele fridges are designed for maximum energy efficiency and a minimum use of resources. The noise is often from the high efficiency compressor and fans running longer or slower to be more efficient. Our devoted team is always available should you need anything during your stay. Ucluelet has a lot to offer: from beach combing, to walking the Wild Pacific Trail, kayaking in the broken group, whale watching, bear watching, canoe tours, e-bike scenery tours, dozens of restaurants, shops and galleries! We hope you will get the pleasure to discover beautiful Ucluelet on your next visit!
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2018 via mobile

We stayed at Black rock resort for 3 nights as a family of 5 and we had a good time! There were a lot of positives with a few negatives. Negatives- there isn't really anywhere in the hotel to "chill out", a few wooden sunbeds which weren't very comfortable. For a hotel with such an impressive setting it was really disappointing to have no where to sit and relax/ read a book and enjoy these views. It's the perfect setting for an infinity pool!

The restaurants were very under staffed and as a result the service was a bit slow but the food was nice enough. Decor was quite plain and simple, no real sense of luxury but we spent most of our time outside so it didn't matter. On arrival to the hotel, the staff at reception could have been a bit more upbeat and welcoming, we left feeling like we had to fend for ourselves, that was until we met Rustee.

Positives - one word, Rustee. The concierge Rustee was absolutely fantastic and went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and was so enthusiastic about Ucluelet. We went whale watching which was amazing and he recommended some really fab places to eat, Ukee dogs for lunch and Abonanza pizza & Cedar girl. On the final day when we were leaving Ucluelet we had a bit of a disaster when our car broke down. Our first thought was Rustee who yet again went above and beyond to help us. He came and picked us up from the road, booked us another hire car and drove us to the airport to pick it up at Tofino. A fab service.

Another positive, the spa treatments. My mum and I had a facial and massage and both of us felt that this treatment was the best we ever had. I honestly don't have one complaint, it was so relaxing and everything was done to perfection.

Overall we had a really lovely time and we'd come back again, maybe only for 2 nights instead of 3.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
Thank Ern94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine A, Director of Sales & Marketing at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2018

Dear Ern94,
We are incredibly grateful that you took the time out to write this review. We offer multiple patios, a large mezzanine and a cozy outdoor firepit, for our guests to enjoy during their stay. Thank you for your lovely comment about Rustee, our amazing concierge, and our wonderful Drift Spa staff! Our team work very diligently and it will provide them with great encouragement to keep doing what they are doing. We look forward to serving you again very soon,
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2018 via mobile

Stayed here with family (daughters aged 13 and 9). We had booked adjacent rooms but on check in these were 3 floors apart. This was eventually resolved at second request. Rooms were spacious and well fitted. We had to chase a couple of times for hangers and towels. Menu in restaurant and bar is the same. We are in both and service in bar was better. Used plunge pool and hot tubs a couple of times.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
Thank tallbloke1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine A, Director of Sales & Marketing at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2018

Dear tallbloke1,
Thank you for leaving such a nice review. We are glad that you and family loved our services; our dedicated staff will be pleased to learn of your high praise. We look forward to be your hosts again in beautiful Ucluelet,
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2018 via mobile

We stayed in Black Rock Trail view hotel room for 3 nights in late May. The hotel room was amazing. With a modern decor and wonderful kitchen, washer/dryer, amazing bathroom with big shower and separate bath tub, and a gas fireplace in the living room. The view was amazing. We could see the tall trees outside and the ocean behind that, from the bedroom and the living room and kitchen.
The restaurant at the hotel was very nice, with great views and very good food.
People are very friendly, and there was plenty of parking right outside our unit.
We enjoyed hiking on the pacific rim trail, the rocky beach, and the quiet beautiful scenery. Tofino is half hour drive away, and it was nice to do the tourist things as well. But we really enjoyed the tranquility and scenery and the luxurious hotel room Ucluelet and Black Rock resort provided.

Will definitely visit again. Next time we hope to stay longer.

Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Tai95125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine A, Director of Sales & Marketing at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2018

Dear Tai95125,
Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback about your recent stay at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort! We are absolutely thrilled your enjoyed your time wit us. We are looking to welcome you again, for a much longer stay, very soon.
Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2018

We have been here before but always in the main hotel. This time we were directed to the apartments towards the main drive of the hotel Room 1402.
Our room was up a steep slope and a flight of steep stairs, not easy with suitcases etc. The room could be described as compact but with everything you could need. Small kitchen area at the end of the bed a comfortable couch and a balcony overlooking the ocean. Not a lot of storage space for our clothing (we were travelling for 2 weeks) and the shelf in the cupboard must surely be designed for people well over 6 feet tall, neither of us are! Because of our location we were not inclined to use the hot tubs after a day sight seeing but more inclined to relax on the balcony with a drink. This is the only reason I have given a 4 rather than 5 star rating.

Room Tip: We were advised if we wanted a room in the main block we would need to book ourselves and not through a travel agent.
  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sparra53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine A, Director of Sales & Marketing at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2018

Dear Sparra53,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a beautiful review. We are delighted you got the chance to experience both lodge and trail units. In the future, we always have bell agents and Guest Services Agent available to help you with your luggage. We also offer complimentary shuttle service from our trail units to our main lodge, 24/7! All the bed frame have additional drawers for extra storage, and each room is equipment with luggage racks. We have a lot of extra and we will be delighted to bring you everything you need on your next stay; simply ask our wonderful Guest Services team! Awaiting the pleasure to be your hosts again,
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews