We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Ucluelet
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

We spend four nights at the Black Rock Resort. Our condo was huge with nice furniture and had a great view to the ocean.
A very good breakfast was served in the restaurant.
The only disappointing things were:
- no hotel information folder in the room
- very "dark" lamps in the bathroom to do a make up
- very loud refrigerator
- staff at the reception sometimes arrogant
I would come back

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank LAworldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,610)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

744 - 750 of 1,610 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

While a tad on the pricey side, I was immediately pleased when my room was upgraded for free to a suite with separate dining and living room- and a massive bathroom, due to open occupancy. The view from our deck was breathtaking.

The bed was comfy, the rooms were beautiful, and my only real issue was no AC, though the screen doors were enough to cool the place down to a good temperature.

The restaurant was good, though overpriced. A basic breakfast was ~$18 a person, post dinner dessert and drinks about $30 a person, and dinner another $30-45. Regardless, I enjoyed my stay and would gladly stay here again, especially for a big occasion like a wedding celebration.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Gordy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We went fro my wife's 40th. we were on a spring special, and I asked fro a great view. The staff were very friendly on the phone. Upon arrival the service was prompt. We had a terrific view ( we were in a Trail Suite ) and could also hear the ocean from our room. The bathroom was very luxurious and large, the suite was also large and clean. When I had issues with the dvd player staff were there in minutes to show me how to work it. There was a birthday greeting for my wife awaiting us as well. We rarely stay in such places and felt very spoiled and pampered here. We only wish we could stay there often and longer.

Room Tip: Got for the ocean view, that is the whole point in staying at an ocean side resort. Great views and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Regular_People2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed in a one bedroom suite. Back to nature with beautiful rooms. Enjoyed the great outdoors but came back to luxurious comfort. The bathroom was bigger than most hotel rooms. Stand alone tub with separate shower. View of the forest and water, spectacular.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelfuntimes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

The resort is big and on the coast, beautiful scenery. The room is quite nice, but you can't make it dark and the light woke us up at 6am. No a/c either.
Breakfast is a la carte, we personally like buffets.
Gym room is pretty small.
An ok place but not exceptional in any way.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Granduelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We spent two days at this wonderful property, at an upgraded room directly facing the ocean---and the upgrade was well worth the extra $50.The views and sounds of the Pacific through the Pines crashing on the rocks are permanently etched in our memory. Rooms were beautifully appointed with high quality fixtures---with lots of windows and a spacious balcony. Bathroom had a large shower with Rainforest shower head as well as a separate tub. The property was directly on the Wild Pacific Walking trail---just walk out the door of the hotel---and you have a 8 KM walk ahead of you along the edge of the Pacific. The restaurant service was uneven--- and quite slow---but hey, what's the rush when you have such an incredible view out the windows of the restaurant.( although Dylan did a very good job when he served us). My only criticism was--that they didn't refresh the rooms daily---it's not that we need this done, but in a hotel of this calibre, it is the expectation---and if they aren't going to do this, guests should be told on check-in, that this is the case.

Room Tip: the view from a room facing the ocean is well worth the upcharge--- whatever the cost!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Pros: We had a wonderful stay in room #106 a lodge studio suite. The room was huge with king size bed, sitting area, fireplace, patio, kitchenette, large bathroom with soaker tub, heated floors, separate large shower with rainshower head. The kitchenette was perfect for preparing breakfast and snacks. We had a slight ocean view and we were okay knowing that we hadn't booked a "view" suite. We ate in the lounge and the food was fantastic and the staff were very very friendly and helpful.
Cons: The soundproofing was not the best, the door between our room and hallway was like cardboard and our room was east facing so we had morning sun. The room only had light shades not full blackout shades/curtains. I would like the choice if I want to wake up to the early morning blazing sun or not.
Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would probably stay again, we will ask for a non east facing room. Enjoying coffee on your patio in the morning listening to the ocean and birds was amazing.

Room Tip: get a top floor room so you can't hear the people above you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IndyBacsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ucluelet
20.6 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.5 mi away
The Francis Boutique Inn
The Francis Boutique Inn
#1 of 11 in Ucluelet
324 reviews
0.9 mi away
Reef Point Cottages
Reef Point Cottages
#7 of 11 in Ucluelet
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Water's Edge Shoreside Suites
18.5 mi away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Rock Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Rock Oceanfront Resort

Address: 596 Marine Drive, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ucluelet
#2 Family Hotel in Ucluelet
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ucluelet
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ucluelet
Price Range: $149 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Rock Oceanfront Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Nature, Designed for ComfortVancouver Island’s most awe-inspiring oceanfront resort, Black Rock Resort offers a spectacular escape from the ordinary. Experience a Vancouver Island vacation at Black Rock Resort for winter storm watching, spring whale watching, summer beach adventures or a romantic fall retreat. With breathtaking vistas of the Pacific Ocean and rainforest, our comfortable suites offer a magical perspective to Vancouver Island’s rugged West Coast… any time of year!Relax and rejuvenate in exquisite suites designed for maximum comfort- from plush king beds to state-of-the-art kitchens. Lounge in spacious living areas with fireplaces. Rejuvenate in spa-inspired bathrooms. Take in magical sunsets from your balcony facing the crashing waves or lush forest. Our suites are also pet friendly! Enjoy a soak in one of our outdoor hot tubs or the plunge pool over looking the ocean during your stay. Keep up your fitness routine in our 24 hour accessible Fitness Centre. Dine in our oceanfront restaurant Fetch, open breakfast, lunch and dinner or enjoy BC wines or locally inspired martini's and light snacks by the fire in Float Lounge. Artisan Inspired cuisine, sure to impress all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Black Rock Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Rock Oceanfront Hotel Ucluelet
Black Rock Oceanfront Ucluelet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing