We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still the best!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Ucluelet
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Auburn, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Still the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

My wife and I returned for our second visit in March. Our previous experience a year earlier was fantastic and, given the ways of the world, I half expected a decline in service. Wrong. If anything, this was BETTER! Wonderful resort, unbeatable food, and the service is the absolute best we have received at any place of its kind. The resort draws its name from the black rock of the Pacific shoreline, and ought to win design awards. Our room overlooked a bay/lagoon where the waves provided an ever-changing and compelling show. We referred to the huge picture windows as our wide-screen TV. It was absolustely addictive. We prepared and ate most of our meals in our room's well equipped kitchen and dining area, but we ate in the restaurnat once and the bar on two other evenings. The dining meal was creative and prefectly prepared, fitting for our celebration of our two birthdays. The Float lounge had live enterrainment both evenings we visited, and it gave the place a cool ambience. The meal there was the nightly special -- stroganoff -- and was exceptional. I can't say enough positives about the place. We're heading back to celebrate -- for the second year in a row -- our anniversary (#40!) in May. We can hardly wait.

Room Tip: Pay any extra for a waterfront room...the view will knock you out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    853
    365
    159
    54
    32
See reviews for
306
898
28
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

On all counts, this is an incredible hotel. I was fortunate enough to be here for 3 nights. The employees at the front desk were extremely helpful. This was my first visit to this part of the island and they were extremely helpful with suggestions of must see places. My room was in impeccable condition. The rain shower was very nice and the bed very comfortable. The view through the woods to the water was amazing. I ate at both the lounge and the main restaurant and both were delicious and the service was wonderful. Will for sure stay again if ever in this part of the world, and will definitely suggest it to others.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

This was our third visit to this resort and as always it never fails to impress. The location is superb, the rooms are always very clean and comfortable and we really enjoy both the lounge, restaurant and hot tubs. The Wild Pacific Trail is steps away and being nature enthusiasts we truly believe this is one of the best places on earth. The location alone is so breathtaking and I can't think of a better place to go to reconnect with nature.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyric21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

My significant other and I stayed at the Black Rock Resort for 2 nights from Jan 24th-26th for our 3 year anniversary. We'd purchased a groupon that was good for two nights accommodation as well as a small dining credit and a complimentary bottle of wine. Our stay started well enough with a great dinner at Norwood's, and our room was very nice. We'd booked massages for the second day we'd be there, prior to arriving. We had scheduled them for a few hours before our big anniversary dinner at the Wick Inn. Unfortunately, upon leaving our massages, we both tried to shower in the change rooms, but the water wasn't running. We shrugged it off to maybe being the off season, although we thought that was in poor taste. So we went back to our room, still oiled up, to try to shower there before dinner. However, when we turned on the faucets in the room, the water that spouted out was literally black. We called the front desk and they said a water main had burst but they'd fixed it, and if we just let our water run for a bit it should clear up. 2 hours later the water was still filthy, and now cold, and we had to go to our special dinner still sticky with oil. It was a disheartening experience that the concierge, and even the manager, made little to no effort to rectify, probably because we were just groupon customers. Don't think we'll be choosing Black Rock next time we come to Ucluelet.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jen0129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

First timers to this resort are guaranteed to be blown away. The lobby and reception desk has large windows looking out onto the ocean and rocks, so as you're checking in you're already wowed.
We had a very lovely and LARGE suite with a living room, dining table and kitchenette, as well as a huge bathroom with tub and rain-shower, plus bedroom with a very comfortable bed. The suite was very well equipped, with any amenity or appliance we would need. The very large balcony overlooked the park/paths around the resort as well as the volcanic rocks and ocean.
We spent a whole afternoon walking around the beaches and paths, then had dinner in the resort restaurant Fetch. Meal there was fantastic.
I highly recommend this resort. Beautiful location, great rooms, very friendly staff.
(on a previous visit I had enjoyed the spa, which was amazing)

Room Tip: I don't think there are any bad rooms in the resort, but there are ones with better views the cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reets54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moody, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

Kinda on the edge of the world but well worth it!..Spectacular view and surroundings. This is a very dog friendly resort and has washing station and blankets and amenities. Resteraunt is very good for all meals. Suites are well equipped for in room dining!

Room Tip: jr suites are great value try to get ocean view room that makes all the difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tofino, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

The Clayoquot Biosphere Trust chose the Black Rock as the location for our recent Board of Directors Retreat. The meeting room was incredible; professional yet practical. Meals were delicious and the menu was adaptable to all dietary restrictions and allergies. The Wine Cellar dining room was stunning and the Float Lounge was modern and chic. Guest rooms were very comfortable and included lovely soaker tubs and enormous walk in showers. As well each room had a cozy fire place in addition to offering a breathtaking view of the ocean. Black Rock staff members were cordial, professional and compassionate. Each guest thoroughly enjoyed the amazing Black Rock experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tabitha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ucluelet
20.2 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
20.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
18.5 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Water's Edge Shoreside Suites
18.5 mi away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
0.7 mi away
Bayshore Waterfront Inn
Bayshore Waterfront Inn
#5 of 11 in Ucluelet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Rock Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Rock Oceanfront Resort

Property: Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
Address: 596 Marine Drive, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ucluelet
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ucluelet
#2 Family Hotel in Ucluelet
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ucluelet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Rock Oceanfront Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Nature, Designed for ComfortVancouver Island’s most awe-inspiring oceanfront resort, Black Rock Resort offers a spectacular escape from the ordinary. Experience a Vancouver Island vacation at Black Rock Resort for winter storm watching, spring whale watching, summer beach adventures or a romantic fall retreat. With breathtaking vistas of the Pacific Ocean and rainforest, our comfortable suites offer a magical perspective to Vancouver Island’s rugged West Coast… any time of year!Relax and rejuvenate in exquisite suites designed for maximum comfort- from plush king beds to state-of-the-art kitchens. Lounge in spacious living areas with fireplaces. Rejuvenate in spa-inspired bathrooms. Take in magical sunsets from your balcony facing the crashing waves or lush forest. Our suites are also pet friendly! Enjoy a soak in one of our outdoor hot tubs or the plunge pool over looking the ocean during your stay. Keep up your fitness routine in our 24 hour accessible Fitness Centre. Dine in our oceanfront restaurant Fetch, open breakfast, lunch and dinner or enjoy BC wines or locally inspired martini's and light snacks by the fire in Float Lounge. Artisan Inspired cuisine, sure to impress all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Black Rock Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Rock Oceanfront Hotel Ucluelet
Black Rock Oceanfront Ucluelet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing