We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Ucluelet
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

The Black Rock Oceanfront Resort - as named, is a great location on the ocean with amazing views. They have first class facilities - restaurants, rooms, spa & fitness room. It wasn't particularly busy while I was there for 3 nights [Labour Day week-end], so it had a very relaxing vibe. I had breakfast & lunch in the main restaurant and one dinner in the bar/lounge. I will be back...

Room Tip: All have ocean view - I was in main building which was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingdadandkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    860
    367
    159
    54
    32
See reviews for
307
904
29
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed at Black Rock for 2 nights as we are planning our wedding there and made a trip to meet with vendors, conduct a site visit, and find a beach for our ceremony. We've stayed at many condo style/suite resorts and this was, without a doubt, the nicest suite we've ever stayed in of its kind. Walking into the lobby is breathtaking enough, you instantly feel like you are at peace with the beautiful view from every massive window.
Our check in experience was great, we were earlier than the stated check in time of 4 PM and were able to check in at 2:30. Our one bedroom suite faced Big Beach and right when from the minute we walked into our room, we knew we were going to have a relaxing weekend. We opened up the windows to let the wave noise in and explored our room - king sized bed, soaker tub with ocean view, rain shower head, huge beautiful bathroom (heated floors!), fireplace, kitchenette. One feature I really enjoyed was the two bottles of wine that you can enjoy and just charge to your room - Not sure why more resorts don't do that! Great for when you want a glass of wine but don't feel like sitting in a lounge or making a trip to the store. That often happens when you start relaxing in Ucluelet or Tofino... You don't want to leave the comfort of your resort or the sound of the waves for much. :)
The second floor in the main building has a common room with a games cupboard, and you can get cards from the front desk. I thought this was a fun little touch.
We toured the facility with Katherine, and checked out all of the spaces we will be using for our wedding day. She has been so helpful in helping us plan the day - quick to respond, booking our rooms, blocking off suites for our guests, and making great suggestions. On our tour we saw the plunge pools/hot tubs on the patio. Unfortunately with all of the planning we ran out of time to enjoy them, but they are in a lovely spot! Small hot tubs with an ocean view. Bliss.
We ate at both the lounge and the restaurant and both were fabulous. Limited menus, but great food.
There is plenty of parking, easy beach access, and easy access to trails. Black Rock has pretty much everything you need to relax, I wouldn't have been disappointed if we spent our entire weekend just at the resort. We can't wait to come back in May to stay and enjoy more of the resort and get married there!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carly17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
126 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Fiance' and I stayed here this past weekend and decided to book our wedding for 2014 here. It's just such a unique gorgeous property and perfect for our special day. The views are unreal, the food delicious and the staff extremely helpful and attentive. Ucluelet itself although a small town is full of character and charm and plenty to do in the area or a short drive up to Tofino. If you want to get away from the rest of the world and simply turn it off this is the please to do it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We visited Black Rock for the second time in 2 years. It is a 2 Day drive for us but the effort to get there is made up for the peacefulness of the resort.

Meals were all top notch. Get to the dining room early for a window seat. But in all honesty, all the seats have an ocean view.

We enjoyed the hiking trail that heads north along the coast from the resort. There are now benches placed at scenic viewpoints along the way, so it is much easier for folks to rest and enjoy the hike.

We hit the hot tub after our walk. There are 3 hot tubs so no worries about it being too busy!

Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights. Amazing views from the room across the Pacific. Enjoyed peacefully sitting on the balcony with a glass of wine. Lovely bathroom with great views from the bath. Only minor criticism was some dog hair on furniture from previous occupants.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanKWinchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

A fantastic room, loads of room, a kitchen area, comfortable lounge area and great balcony. A wonderful rain shower with a pebbled floor and a super comfortable bed. If you like a quiet place to stay this is for you.

Room Tip: A balcony facing the sea and the room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We just spent 2 nights at this resort for our nephews wedding. It was beautiful venue for a small wedding (40 guest as well as the wedding party). There is a great outside patio area for the ceremony. The staff were very nice and accommodating. The food for the wedding was delicious. The rooms were very big and quiet. I wish we could have stayed an extra day to hike the trails and check out the little town of Uculet. I would definitely love to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suep123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ucluelet
20.2 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
20.6 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
18.5 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Water's Edge Shoreside Suites
18.5 mi away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
0.7 mi away
Bayshore Waterfront Inn
Bayshore Waterfront Inn
#6 of 11 in Ucluelet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Rock Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Rock Oceanfront Resort

Property: Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
Address: 596 Marine Drive, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ucluelet
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ucluelet
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ucluelet
#2 Family Hotel in Ucluelet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Rock Oceanfront Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Nature, Designed for ComfortVancouver Island’s most awe-inspiring oceanfront resort, Black Rock Resort offers a spectacular escape from the ordinary. Experience a Vancouver Island vacation at Black Rock Resort for winter storm watching, spring whale watching, summer beach adventures or a romantic fall retreat. With breathtaking vistas of the Pacific Ocean and rainforest, our comfortable suites offer a magical perspective to Vancouver Island’s rugged West Coast… any time of year!Relax and rejuvenate in exquisite suites designed for maximum comfort- from plush king beds to state-of-the-art kitchens. Lounge in spacious living areas with fireplaces. Rejuvenate in spa-inspired bathrooms. Take in magical sunsets from your balcony facing the crashing waves or lush forest. Our suites are also pet friendly! Enjoy a soak in one of our outdoor hot tubs or the plunge pool over looking the ocean during your stay. Keep up your fitness routine in our 24 hour accessible Fitness Centre. Dine in our oceanfront restaurant Fetch, open breakfast, lunch and dinner or enjoy BC wines or locally inspired martini's and light snacks by the fire in Float Lounge. Artisan Inspired cuisine, sure to impress all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Black Rock Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Rock Oceanfront Hotel Ucluelet
Black Rock Oceanfront Ucluelet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing