We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SAVE YOUR MONEY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Ucluelet
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We booked room 414 (The Penthouse) @ $450.00/night, for 3 nights. This special weekend was for my mother's 70th birthday and a little get away for some much needed R&R before my husband had spinal surgery.
The room & view was spectacular but when it came time to go to bed there was a loud and constant noise??? (like a ships engine running). We called the front desk to inquire what the noise might be and if they could please do something about it. Their response was “I don’t know?, I haven’t heard this before? I’ll send someone up to look into this” Nothing changed after my call & noise continued ALL night! (they did not do a follow up call for the duration of our stay or attempt to inquire if the noise had stopped).
The next evening the noise continued at 11 pm it suddenly stopped? We were thrilled. Silence just the beautiful noise of the ocean.......BUT unfortunately at 7:15 AM the loud noise commenced.
My husband decided to take a walk to see if he could find the source of this noise. He came back to explain that our room sat adjacent to a huge metal cylindrical pipe that ran that height of the building. His assumption was that this was the kitchen’s exhaust system. Therefore when the staff came in to cook breakfast the exhaust fan was turned on (7am) and when they were finished for the day (11pm) it was turned off. (Our assumption is, the staff forgot to turn it off on our first nights stay, so this is why it ran alllllllllll night).
At check out, we explained our experience to the front desk attendant. Her response was “I’ve never heard that before, only from the guests staying in the rooms on the backside of your suit”. "Would you like the remainder of your bill charged to the credit card you made the reservation with?"
We paid the LARGE bill ($1635.80 for 3 nights stay. This charge was ONLY for the room cost & a $75 pet surcharge) and decided to email the Resort when we got home.
We sent an email and have waited over a week and still have not received a response.
We paid a lot of money in order to have a quite and restful holiday. Our comfort did not seem to be a priority to the Black Rock Resort. The resorts etiquette and sleep quality is certainly not at par with the rates being charged. Room 414 is not worth $450.00/night

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesokah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackRock09, General Manager at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Jesokah,

Thank you for your review. First, please accept our apologies for the challenges you have experienced during your stay. Your comfort and enjoyment are of upmost importance to us. We are in the process of investigating your comments regarding the noise in the suite and will work on an immediate solution.

In your review you mentioned having sent an email to Black Rock regarding your experiences, with no response. Please do contact myself directly and inform me of what email you sent your comments to. We pride ourselves on responding to all guests emails and I am available to all guests to hear about their positive and negative experiences, at any time. We have built our reputation on being attentive and available to our guests. Together with the Guest Services team we have looked for the email noted in your review and have not located it. If it was sent through our internal comment card system there is a minor time delay in receiving those comments.

Again, our sincere apologies for your experience. Please do feel free to contact myself directly to discuss at any time. Your comments are valued.

Regards,

Adele Larkin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,610)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,017 - 1,023 of 1,610 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

This was our third stay and we enjoyed it very much. Very pet friendly and a great place to bring the dog. Did find the check-in a bit officious. The room was lovely with a great view. Didn't think the value was there for the price we paid. Next time we will shop around more as we felt we paid too much. Much better deals at other resorts, including Tofino.

Stayed: February 2013
1  Thank tedted92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We loved everything about our stay here. The rooms, the service, the people, the view. A+ everything and we would gladly stay here again.The food in both the lounge and the restaurant was very good, We also loved hiking on the Wild Pacific Trail which runs right through the resort.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dorvlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We eloped here and we could not have asked for a more accommodating, genuine and helpful staff. Every detail was taken care of and there were multiple surprises for us every step of the way. We are so pleased we chose this spot to get married and stay at. We'll be coming back for our anniversary that's for sure! The view from the room was stunning.. the rain shower.. OMG.. and the place was so clean i would walk around the room with bare feet... how many would say that about their average hotel??!? can't say enough about this place..

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SurferSarah1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I can't wait to go back. Stayed here with friends for 2 nights in December and was thoroughly impressed with everything.

Our suite was lovely, perfectly finished with the most amazing kitchenette - we even had a dishwasher! The microwave/convection oven was awesome and made making appies and dinner a breeze. All the dishes and utensils we could ever need. The room was clean and the king size bed was incredibly comfortable. The bathroom was amazing! I loved everything about it: the rain shower, heated floors, massive soaker tub..... I want to transplant that bathroom into my house.

The front desk was incredibly helpful, recommending places to go for lunch that were perfect, and directing us to the wild pacific trail which I now need to walk every time I head west.

We checked in on a Saturday where there was a wedding taking place, what a beautiful place to have a wedding!! Sunday night was so relaxed as most of the other guests had checked out so we pretty much had the lounge and hot tub all to ourselves. Drinks and appies in the lounge were delightful, and the hot tub located on the cliff above the roaring ocean was breathtaking.

I can't say enough about Black Rock, I can't wait to go back again next month!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank islandgirlie522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

On the way to this resort (isolated) we broke down and had to get a tow truck to fetch us. The staff arranged for someone (Josh) to pick us up from the service station and then helped us with top class service and courtesy throughout our stay. They even allowed us to extend our stay for another day at the special price while we waited for our car to be repaired. As the title said they went above and beyond, and this in our opinion made them special.
The view from our room was amazing and also we could not fault the service and the food at this resort.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenricgates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Room was not vacuumed so the initial reaction was not great. We had the best experience in the lounge with 5 star service and views. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Worth it if you can get a deal in the Storm season.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ucluelet
20.6 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.5 mi away
The Francis Boutique Inn
The Francis Boutique Inn
#1 of 11 in Ucluelet
325 reviews
0.9 mi away
Reef Point Cottages
Reef Point Cottages
#7 of 11 in Ucluelet
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Water's Edge Shoreside Suites
18.5 mi away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Rock Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Rock Oceanfront Resort

Address: 596 Marine Drive, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ucluelet
#2 Family Hotel in Ucluelet
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ucluelet
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ucluelet
Price Range: $149 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Rock Oceanfront Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Nature, Designed for ComfortVancouver Island’s most awe-inspiring oceanfront resort, Black Rock Resort offers a spectacular escape from the ordinary. Experience a Vancouver Island vacation at Black Rock Resort for winter storm watching, spring whale watching, summer beach adventures or a romantic fall retreat. With breathtaking vistas of the Pacific Ocean and rainforest, our comfortable suites offer a magical perspective to Vancouver Island’s rugged West Coast… any time of year!Relax and rejuvenate in exquisite suites designed for maximum comfort- from plush king beds to state-of-the-art kitchens. Lounge in spacious living areas with fireplaces. Rejuvenate in spa-inspired bathrooms. Take in magical sunsets from your balcony facing the crashing waves or lush forest. Our suites are also pet friendly! Enjoy a soak in one of our outdoor hot tubs or the plunge pool over looking the ocean during your stay. Keep up your fitness routine in our 24 hour accessible Fitness Centre. Dine in our oceanfront restaurant Fetch, open breakfast, lunch and dinner or enjoy BC wines or locally inspired martini's and light snacks by the fire in Float Lounge. Artisan Inspired cuisine, sure to impress all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Black Rock Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Rock Oceanfront Hotel Ucluelet
Black Rock Oceanfront Ucluelet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing