We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
Nearby Hotels
Whale's Tail Guest Suites(Ucluelet)(Great Value!)
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West Coast Motel on the Harbour(Ucluelet)(Great Value!)
$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayshore Waterfront Inn(Ucluelet)(Great Value!)
$129
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
$173
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wild Edge Lodge(Ucluelet)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,644)
Filter reviews
1,644 results
Traveler rating
937
414
187
67
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
937
414
187
67
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfetch restaurantrain showerfloat loungethe wild pacific trailmain buildingdrift spaone bedroom suitepacific spiritocean viewfloor to ceiling windowsthe kitchenheated floorssoaker tubon the rockslarge balconyamazing viewsvancouver island
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,109 - 1,114 of 1,644 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We have stayed at Black Rock a few times now and will continue to come back. By far the best selling feature is the location, which is stunning. The resort itself is beautiful and is an impressive reflection of the west coast. The food is excellent and the staff have always been very friendly and helpful. Absolutely a 5 star experience.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, but the rooms and suites in the fourplex units are amazing because of their location and outstanding views of the cove.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed here in mid Sept for a couple of nights - would have liked to stay longer. The whole hotel is ultra modern and designed to maximise the ocean views which would be spectacular in a storm. With the immediate proximity to the Wild Pacific Trail waking through interesting coastal areas was a bonus. Wildlife must have all hidden when we were in the vicinity so the imaginary bear repellant was obviously working, as we did not see anything much (except a squirrel and a couple of huge spotted slugs) consistent with our whole Canadian holiday really!
We stayed in a two room apartment with another couple - our rooms were right on the corner above Reception, so we only had neighbours on one side. Kitchen was also well equipped, ideal for staying for a week or more.
Our rooms had a good configuration for two couples - the bedrooms both adjoined a common living area, all rooms were large and well equipped, plenty of room to spread out and relax with spectacular views and nice books with local photography to peruse. The two bedrooms both had identical bathrooms each with a giant shower and freestanding sleek modern bath. Lovely "black rock" pebble shower floor and honey-themed toiletries with a green packaging twist - good quality as befits a spa resort. Lovely soft velvety robes.
Breakfast at the resort was a la carte with a fairly good range - esp considering we arrived just after the brekky time has officially finished. Coffee was toppped up unstintingly. Not cheap but great views.
Small suggestions for improvement - lighting in the bedrooms was a bit inadequate - it was hard to distinguish between the dark clothes in my case with small bedside lamps and no overhead lighting. Also the local black mosquitoes were big, vicious and very fast! Bug spray would have been appreciated, not available from reception unfortunately either, when we asked. On checking in, it might be advisable to bring guests up to their room and show them some of the extra features like the retractable magnetic insect screens for the doors onto the balcony, as we didn't notice them until just before we left. Although there is an eco focus at this resort, guest comfort is still a factor deserving consideration.

Room Tip: Top level views are good with balconies.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry1G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

This was an awesome stay. I would say it is a high end 4 star hotel. It is a friendly location with great staff. It does not have the high end pretentious atmosphere which we enjoyed yet it still was high end. Some 5 star hotels do not make us feel comfortable. This was as close to 5 star as you can get with still a fun atmosphere.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BOLondon_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Hands down - there are so many fantastic things about Black Rock. The setting is stunning and during our stay we had oustanding service all the way from the front desk staff, to the spa, lounge and restaurant the next morning. But my feeling is that you turn your eyes from the view you should not be disappointed. There is some attention that needs to be paid to maintenance and cleaning detail. Just sitting in the hot tub we noticed faded scaffolding that looked like it had been there since the place had been built, pool cleaning equipment left out and a broken vent cover. The landscaping (or lack of) around the black rock fire pit off the dining patio was disappointing. The windows in the cat walk look like they have not been cleaned since the place opened (you can see the installation suction markes on a few of them), and the room while very clean and well appointed is in need of a paint touch up and the seems on one of the throw pillows is coming apart. We wished someone had wiped away the 1/2 dozen or so swished mosquito bodies on the walls of the bedroom before we got there. Again - a great property in many ways and we had a wonderful stay and plan to return, but if they want to be considered one of the high end accommodation options on the west coast there is some attention to some details that has to happen.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sara_bc_cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Only stayed one night but loved, loved, loved this resort. Quiet, beautiful suite fitted out with nothing but the best and with ocean views from every room. Double suite with two stunning ensuite bathrooms, beautiful kitchen, dining area and lounge. Tastefully decorated, tv's in lounge and bedrooms, washer and drier in a cupboard. Everything you could ask for. My only (very small) niggle would be the very small two ring hob and a small oven. For anyone staying any length of time, a 4 ring hob would be useful and maybe a slightly bigger oven, but it wasn't too much of a problem for us. The sea views from all rooms and pine trees growing right outside our balcony made up for any slight problems and I would stay there again in a heartbeat. Lovely friendly staff on the check-in desk - no hint of snobbery - very laid-back for such a top-end resort. Beautiful artwork exhibition in the foyer and, I'm told by someone who's stayed there before, the restaurant in the main building (with sea views) is amazing.

Room Tip: It's possible that not every room would have had such a good view of the ocean as ours, so make sure you get a good view.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vonbaronowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews