We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Ucluelet
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
indian head, saskatchewan
2 reviews
“A real gem!”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Fantastic in every way. We stayed for three nights at the end of September, and the food was amazing in the evening. If you go here there isn't much for dining but I would recommend Norwoods downtown to try. Very nice.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank horsenini11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    879
    379
    165
    58
    36
See reviews for
315
931
30
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed there for 2 nights after buying one of those "daily deals" which included a 2 night stay and $50 restaurant credit and a bottle of wine for $265. We were a group of four (two couples) so we had two of their Studio Wild Pacific Trail Suites booked (which I understand is bigger than their Lodge Studio suites). For the price we paid, it was good value.

What we loved:
Lots of room, even for a studio suite! Microwave was great for popping popcorn on the night we stayed in and had a movie night plus there was a fireplace too (I get cold easily). And the beds were very big and comfy!
The bathrooms had a frosted window that you couldn't see through if they were closed. If you left the sliding window open, you could look through the room and outside so if you were on a romantic getaway, you could run a bath, leave the windows open and have a great view of the outdoors! But you could close the windows too so that if you had guests over or were staying with girlfriends, you could use your bathroom in privacy.

What could be improved on:
The restaurants... since we had $50 restaurant credit we decided eat there... not impressed. It wasn't horrible, but it was just so-so. Good thing we had a car as we drove around to try some of the other local food places which were much better than the hotel restaurant!

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor - they have better views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdnsilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

My hubby & I visited the Black Rock with our then 4 month old for a bit of romance & reconnecting and the experience was all we planned for and then some. I can not say enough nice things about this beautiful hotel. We had a suite looking right out on to the break water with the pool & hot tub below. Huge windows and a fireplace allowed us to stay cozy and watch hail and snow then go for a quiet walk in the sun (with snow blanketing the entire place) the next day. The food was 5 star (they did not discriminate about our little one) and there was a full kitchen for a light breakfast & snacks. I also indulged in a well priced ($100) spa experience (exfoliation, wrap & facial).
We are already planning another trip this coming January with another couple :-)

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz_TVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I went for new years, when we got to our room the windows were so dirty we had to get room service to come clean them again so we could enjoy the view. The next morning we woke up, went to make coffee we noticed the coffee maker still had a dirty filter in it. Following that we found used shampoo and conditioner packets in the shower. On our final day we went to the Restraunt for breakfast only to have some of the food uncooked.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dubblife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, AB
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I have stayed here on two occasions, and am finally getting around to a review! The resort is a newer construction, sleek, modern property perched on the rocks of a small cove, right on the wild ocean. There is a great, cozy lounge downstairs, a small- but decent- spa, and mediocre restaurant. The best part of this resort is that you don't have to leave your room to experience- see, hear, smell- the ocean. Which is amazing because you can bet that it will rain while you are there! Just stay in your room, turn on the fireplace, curl up under those great fuzzy blankets and watch the waves from the couch. This pet friendly hotel would amazing for some winter storm watching! There is a small beach on the far end of the bay, and some nice forest trails for walking. I

The rooms are condo style, with nice little kitchenettes (with a oven and dishwasher!), separate rain shower shower stalls, deep tubs and heated floors. The gas fireplaces worked well, and keep us warm.The bedding was decent, and was happy with the large amount of fluffy towels, and bathroom products (small detail, but important to me).

I stayed in the Black Rock Suite the first time with a pair of girlfriends, and loved the ample space and amazing views of the 2 bedroom/2 bathroom suite. We brought our own snacks of cheese, crackers, fruit, and used the small oven to roast up our own garlic. The floor to ceiling windows and massive outdoor deck were perfect for sitting out and enjoying the sunset. Well worth the extra cost. My friends and I went to the spa one afternoon, and enjoyed it. It was small, but the girls there were very friendly, and the facials were good.

My husband and I just got back from 2 nights in a 1 bedroom suite (room 313) and were very happy with it. The room is on the top floor, end unit and was very quiet with killer views of the ocean. We were lucky to have some clear weather and a full moon, and really enjoyed the moonlight over the water, and filling our room (very romantic!).This unit I think had some of the best views in the place, so I would call the nice folks at their reservation desk and book through them directly. Please note, this room is handicap accessible and has an adjoining room door (thought it was super quiet).

If you are looking for an easy, relaxing place to enjoy the ocean stay here! Just bring a raincoat, and some snacks and curl up by the fire.....

Room Tip: Black rock suite; 2 bedroom/2 bathroom of awesome-ness Room 313; 1 bedroom ocean views, top floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunPrincess9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouth, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We loved our stay and would definitely go again. It was our favorite accomodations during our 2 week vacation in BC and AB. The room was beautiful and spacious. The bathroom was amazing, loved the soaker tub and shower with rain shower head, the heated tile floors were great too. The kitchenette was very useful and the location was beautiful. We were only there for 2 nights but wished we could have stayed longer. Took a morning walk along the Wild Pacific Trail that passes through the resort grounds and it was wonderful (even on the misty morning). We only had one meal at Fetch and it was lovely. I hope to go again one day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vcomeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Let me start by saying we would definitely stay here again as we loved the location - right on the water with great views and only a 15 min walk into the main part of town. Bikes available to use which was a fun way to explore (note there are many hills) and the convenience of a condo style room meant we could make our own breakfast in our room and eat out for lunch and dinner. The negatives - there is no air conditioning in the hotel. Normally for Ucluelet this is not a concern but the lack of AC meant virtually no air circulation so even though it was 10C outside at night, it was so hot in our room we needed to use a fan all night (in fact there were 3 fans available for use in our room). We kept our patio doors (with screens) open all day but still at night the air was warm and stuffy. I'm not sure this is a typical hotel for service as room service was limited to just making the bed and replacing towels and there was no option to order room service. One other issue was a few mosquitos in the room - many of which had been splatted on the walls by previous guests but not cleaned off by staff. The result was many black spots on the walls leaving the place seem a little worn. Note the pool is just a plunge pool you could not swim in it, the gym is quite small but well equipped. Also tried out the spa which was small but nice seating area to watch the waves. Food in the restaurant was great.

Room Tip: A view room is a must. Not worth the stay if you don't have the ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loopies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ucluelet
20.2 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
20.6 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
18.5 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Water's Edge Shoreside Suites
18.5 mi away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
98.6 mi away
Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
#1 of 4 in Central Saanich
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Rock Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Rock Oceanfront Resort

Property: Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
Address: 596 Marine Drive, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ucluelet
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ucluelet
#2 Family Hotel in Ucluelet
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ucluelet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Rock Oceanfront Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Nature, Designed for ComfortVancouver Island’s most awe-inspiring oceanfront resort, Black Rock Resort offers a spectacular escape from the ordinary. Experience a Vancouver Island vacation at Black Rock Resort for winter storm watching, spring whale watching, summer beach adventures or a romantic fall retreat. With breathtaking vistas of the Pacific Ocean and rainforest, our comfortable suites offer a magical perspective to Vancouver Island’s rugged West Coast… any time of year!Relax and rejuvenate in exquisite suites designed for maximum comfort- from plush king beds to state-of-the-art kitchens. Lounge in spacious living areas with fireplaces. Rejuvenate in spa-inspired bathrooms. Take in magical sunsets from your balcony facing the crashing waves or lush forest. Our suites are also pet friendly! Enjoy a soak in one of our outdoor hot tubs or the plunge pool over looking the ocean during your stay. Keep up your fitness routine in our 24 hour accessible Fitness Centre. Dine in our oceanfront restaurant Fetch, open breakfast, lunch and dinner or enjoy BC wines or locally inspired martini's and light snacks by the fire in Float Lounge. Artisan Inspired cuisine, sure to impress all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Black Rock Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Rock Oceanfront Hotel Ucluelet
Black Rock Oceanfront Ucluelet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing