We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super friendly staff; you'll love your stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
West Coast Motel on the Harbour
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Ucluelet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2008

Nice warm pool, friendly family-owned establishment; really knowledgable about the local area. Excellent gym facility, although we never made use of it. We were there for our honeymoon. Ucluelet is definitely a great getaway for a honeymoon; especially if you like the outdoors.

The staff at the motel referred us to all the great restaurants in the area. All in all, I would highly recommend this motel over any of the others in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jinyan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (279)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 279 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2008

Four of us went fishing this weekend. Two took separate rooms and two split a spacious two bedroom with kitchen that became our group meeting place. This is a motel, not a fancy lodge. My tiny room was clean, everything worked and was totally suitable for a the quick in and out needs of someone not planning to lounge around a hotel room. The facility has a gym and indoor pool. It is across from the yacht basin for fishing charters and close to a marine pub. There are more up-market places in the area including Tauca with its wonderful fine dining, but if you are not looking for a high priced resort and just want a clean, easy and comfortable place for a base for west coast adventure, West Coast Motel should be considered. Oh, and yes the fishing was excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank AlegreVancouverBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2008

From beginning to end this was an experience I never hope to have again! I contacted the hotel directly to book and as they were busy was asked to leave my name for a call back. It never came and when I called again was told my call had been 'forgotten' because they were just so busy. As they were the last place that had a room available for the two nights I needed to be in town I had no choice but to book the room. I found it to be stuffy and with no air conditioning a floor or table fan would have been most welcome. The windows have no screens and as this is a ground floor only hotel leaving windows open isn't an option.

The worst was yet to come when I returned to my room late in the afternoon after a day of working to find my door had been left wide open! The room next to mine was also open but the guest had already checked out aparently. I have no idea how long but when I reported this to the person at the front desk, I was told it hadn't been long as the maids had recently left but who knows?! Nothing was taken but my piece of mind thank goodness!

I found the rates to be a bit high in comparrison to other places with nicer ammenities and locations in the same area and really dislike being charged a full night at the time of booking.
I would call this the "Last Resort" Resort. The Terrace Beach Resort is much nicer and less expensive.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Pubrep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcoastmotel, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2008

I was very suprised and concerned to find that one of our staff had accidentally left this customer's unit door open. The customer received an immediate apology. At the time, this customer indicated she was satisfied with my concern and response to the situation. Nothing was missing, thankfully, and I investigated the sitation with our staff. The other room she mentioned was actually an empty unit that had been cleaned and had not yet been checked by myself (I personally check all units for cleanliness prior to check in). The door to the empty unit is left open, if the day is nice, until I get there.

Security of our guests is very important. In fact, this year the motel invested a great deal of money to upgrade to a cardlock system and did away with the key system.

With regard to the customer's other complaints, which she did not bring up with me during her stay, I respond below:

Air conditioners are non-existent in Ucluelet and Tofino, no matter which resort (high end or moderate price points). The temperatures here are moderate and seldom go above 23C. Had this customer made the front desk aware that the unit was too hot, a fan could have been supplied. During check in, guests are told that should they require anything during their stay to please let us know and the staff would be happy to help.

This customer complains that we "forgot" to call her back. This is not the case. When there is a rush of customers at the counter and a long distance phone call is received, we explain to the customer that we need to call back, so as not to place someone on hold while calling long distance. Our mistake was to not be clear that we may be a while. Answering phone calls on a timely basis is a priority, however there are times when all our arrivals for the day arrive at one time and we cannot supply "enough hands on deck" to deal with the phone calls for a period of time (up to 1 hour). Communication was lacking on our part. We will do better.

With regards to rates:
We offer a very clean facility with internet, full gym facilities (equivalent to a fully equipped city gym) and swimming pool located in central Ucluelet. Our rates in August are at the highest point of the year. The customer compares our faciltiy to Terrace Beach Resort, which is a very nice facility, however the rates at that facility are in fact, much higher than ours. It would be considered more up-scale than a motel. Like all other accommodation providers, we take a take a deposit. Our deposit and cancellation policy is very clearly explained verbally during booking, followed up again with a confirmation in writing and is also clearly posted on our website.

We take great pride in providing a clean, well run, safe facility. We are very sorry to have let this customer down with regards to security.

Sincerely,

Brenda Mathieson, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2008

We have just got back from a 3 week holiday in Canada and we stayed at the West Coast Motel for 3 nights. We got a great welcome from Brenda Mathieson who was there to greet us on arrival. She took lots of time to tell us about the motel, that area, the amenities and local attractions. She gave me the impression that they would do all they could to make our stay a pleasant one. I realise now that booking in advance for a holiday weekend in Ucluelet is essential and I probably left it a bit late so we didn't get the pick of the rooms. We could have done with a bigger room and recommend that you go for a harbour front view (ours was backing onto the car park). Having said that what we got was value for money and it was all very clean. The bathroom sink unit and kitchen units could have been a bit more up to date ( I notice from the photos from the last reviewer that they probably got one of the more refurbished rooms) but having said that the shower/bath was great and all clean. The one thing I would have liked was a hair dryer!
The kitchenette was very useful and meant that you can have breakfast and even cook dinner there if you are on a tight budget.
One final point that you might need to be aware of! The adjoining walls to the neighbouring rooms are very thin and therefore I was disturbed by the young couple next door and their nighttime activities (I will go no further but I am glad I didn't have to endure that for another night).
This motel would be very highly recommended for those who want access to a gym and swimming pool. I used the pool which is great (although the changing facilities could do with some individual booths for changing) and the gym itselft looked fantastic and had a beautiful harbour outlook.
The motel is generally quiet and we had a fantastic stay helped by great weather of course. Didn't want to go home!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank kathmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2008

Just returned from a fabulous stay at the West Coast Motel. This was our first stay at this motel and I can’t say enough good things about it. The Mathieson family are great hosts. If you are travelling on a budget this is the place for you.

The rooms are clean and spacious. We had a room with a queen and single bed. It also had a full kitchen with complimentary tea & coffee. We only used the kitchen for breakfast and some lunches but you could definitely make dinners if you so desired to do so. It had 2 TV’s one in the bedroom and one in the sitting area. There were clean towels every day and the sheets get changed every 4th day. There is also high-speed internet connection in the room.

This motel sits on the harbour side of Ucluelet, overlooking the small craft harbour. It is the only facility in town that has a swimming pool (indoor). It also has a gym and sauna. The motel is within walking distance to almost everything such as restaurants, drug store, and grocery stores.

When we return to the west coast of Vancouver Island we will definitely be staying here again. If you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact me.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank palapa_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Daniela2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Jean Luc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhalestailUcluelet, Manager at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ucluelet
1.2 mi away
Reef Point Cottages
Reef Point Cottages
#7 of 11 in Ucluelet
248 reviews
20.4 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.4 mi away
The Francis Boutique Inn
The Francis Boutique Inn
#1 of 11 in Ucluelet
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
0.6 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
0.2 mi away
Water's Edge Shoreside Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Coast Motel on the Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Coast Motel on the Harbour

Address: 279 Hemlock Street | Box 275, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Ucluelet
Price Range: $60 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — West Coast Motel on the Harbour 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean and friendly, family-run motel at the Small Craft Harbour in central, small-town Ucluelet. Some units have beautiful views of the colourful fishing fleet. Steps to the boats, walking distance to restaurants, whale watching, fishing tours, and the Wild Pacific Trail. 10 minute drive to Long Beach/Pacific Rim National Park. 30 minute drive to Tofino. Free WIFI & hard-wired internet in each unit, cable TV, free use of pool and 3000 square foot gym with harbour view + sauna (the local community centre). No pets permitted, no smoking in units. Cookshack with BBQ and crab pot on site in season. Lots of room styles to choose from from tiny, but economical suites, full kitchen suites, 2 bedrooms and our West Coast units with covered balconies facing the boats. We also have a 4 bedroom "Fisherman's House" with a huge deck facing the boats and the "Little Green Cabin on the Harbour" with a beautiful deck a stone's through from the harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your West Coast Motel on the Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing