We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very nice place to stay! Exceptional value!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of West Coast Motel on the Harbour

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
West Coast Motel on the Harbour
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Ucluelet
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay! Exceptional value!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

I was totally impressed by this little motel on my last stay in Ucluelet. Normally I don't stay in motels period, because I prefer all the amenities and services that hotels usually provide. Having said that, during my previous stay in Ucluelet, I had a bad experience at the Black Rock Resort so this time I decided to try something different.

The West Coast Motel is very well kept, and is clean and comfortable. Upon checking in, I was greeted and welcomed by the owners who were friendly and provided excellent service throughout my stay. The motel has a huge gym/pool facility that could compete with any fitness centre anywhere and despite not planning to use it, I found myself hitting the weights for the first time in a long time.

I wanted a nice view so the girl who took my reservation suggested the "little green cabin" to me. As soon as I arrived to the cabin, all the stress melted away and I felt instantly comfortable and relaxed. Also, the cabin is of course very environmentally friendly which is nice because we can always work on reducing our ecological footprint; even when on holidays!

Room Tip: The little green cabin was great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brasstackstrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcoastmotel, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Happy to hear you found the Little Green Cabin so relaxing! Thank you for your visit and taking the time to review our place!

Happy travels,

Brenda and Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    72
    12
    4
    5
See reviews for
46
106
22
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in July. The room was well above average for the price , We enjoyed the large living space as well as the kitchenette . The room and kitchen area were spotless. We were skeptical of the owner's enthusiasm about Ucluelet but followed may of his suggestions and were never disappointed. As a matter of fact, our most boring time was walking around Tofino. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Backtotravel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcoastmotel, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Hello!

Thank you so much for coming and taking the time to write! Local travel tips can sometimes seem at odds with research done from afar. We are so pleased you were happy with our advice and our rooms. Hopefully, one day you can come again!

Happy travels!

Brenda and Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

These folks make you feel like family.
We enjoyed the gym, the clean and warm pool- hot steamy sauna!!!!!!
incredible hospitality is an understatement.
There is a reason they are voted the best.
This is place is A+
A beautiful view of the harbour..
the rooms were immaculate.
Fresh and clean and relaxing - Safe harbour :D

Room Tip: Ask for the little green cabin!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcoastmotel, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you for coming! We loved seeing the 2 of you enjoy walking around our town and becoming "one" with the west coast, once again! We do hope you can make it back again next year to see us and our Little Green Cabin on the Harbour!

Happy travels!
Brenda and Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

I've been here at their gym many many times on my travels here which is by the way one of the best in town or tofino for that matter..finally had a chance to stay there and it was a very pleasant stay.. room was clean and quiet with an awesome view of the harbor ..it is a family run business so you get that personal touch ..price was very good compared to other hotels

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcoastmotel, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are glad you not only enjoyed "working on your 6-pack" in our gym, but also enjoyed your stay! Please do come again - for work or pleasure - we will always do our best to make you feel welcome!

Jeff and Brenda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed three nights there and enjoyed it! The room was small but clean. We missed a microwave. We came back to this motel after one really overpriced night in Tofino. Price/Value is great in this motel and we definitely would stay there again :-)
The front desk staff and owner were VERY kind and gave us a lot of recommendations.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manou S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcoastmotel, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thanks for coming, AGAIN! 3 nights and another 3 nights! We hope see see you again some time, although we know you are coming from very far away. Perhaps next time, we will turn you into surfers!

Glad everything worked out and super excited that you loved Ucluelet so much!

Happy travels,

Brenda and Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We spent three nights in ucluelet in the wettest couple of weeks possible in early September but we had a blast. Room was small but perfectly formed with a really comfortable bed. Location outstanding for the local restaurants and wildlife. Just from the car park behind the hotel we saw harbour seal, otters and bald eagles. Owners were lovely, pool was a treat

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcoastmotel, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Hello!

Thank you ever so much for coming and writing a review on our behalf. We are glad you found our "Euro Sleeper" comfortable and that the location was favourable for you! Come again!! If you like, we do have larger units, as well, or the Euro sleepers, as you had are always a great option for those on a budget, who don't need any thing other than a bed and a shower, a coffee maker and a TV in a pocket-sized space. We hope the rest of your holiday was fantastic!

Happy travels!

Brenda and Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in August 2013. Get a suite with a balcony overlooking the harbour. Everything and more. Clean, roomy, well located, indoor pool, great people in charge. Jiggers is not far and serves the best fish and chips for a quick first evening meal. Great view of harbour.

Room Tip: Get the suite with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeandBa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcoastmotel, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Hello!

We are so pleased that your enjoyed our West Coast Balcony suites. Motels don't usually have any rooms with private balconies and views like these do. We have so many rooms styles, we hope that we have something for everyone. Isn't Jiggers great? The best fish and chips on the planet, as far as we are concerned! Come back and see us soon. Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review.

Brenda and Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ucluelet
1.1 mi away
Reef Point Cottages
Reef Point Cottages
#6 of 10 in Ucluelet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
20.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
20.0 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
0.5 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
0.0 mi away
Bayshore Waterfront Inn
Bayshore Waterfront Inn
#4 of 10 in Ucluelet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Coast Motel on the Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Coast Motel on the Harbour

Property: West Coast Motel on the Harbour
Address: 279 Hemlock Street | Box 275, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Ucluelet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — West Coast Motel on the Harbour 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean and friendly, family-run motel at the Small Craft Harbour in central, small-town Ucluelet. Some units have beautiful views of the colourful fishing fleet. Steps to the boats, walking distance to restaurants, whale watching, fishing tours, and the Wild Pacific Trail. 10 minute drive to Long Beach/Pacific Rim National Park. 30 minute drive to Tofino. Free WIFI & hard-wired internet in each unit, cable TV, free use of pool and 3000 square foot gym with harbour view + sauna (the local community centre). No pets permitted, no smoking in units. Cookshack with BBQ and crab pot on site in season. Lots of room styles to choose from from tiny, but economical suites, full kitchen suites, 2 bedrooms and our West Coast units with covered balconies facing the boats. We also have a 4 bedroom "Fisherman's House" with a huge deck facing the boats and the "Little Green Cabin on the Harbour" with a beautiful deck a stone's through from the harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your West Coast Motel on the Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing