We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best in town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
West Coast Motel on the Harbour
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Ucluelet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

I've been here at their gym many many times on my travels here which is by the way one of the best in town or tofino for that matter..finally had a chance to stay there and it was a very pleasant stay.. room was clean and quiet with an awesome view of the harbor ..it is a family run business so you get that personal touch ..price was very good compared to other hotels

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcoastmotel, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are glad you not only enjoyed "working on your 6-pack" in our gym, but also enjoyed your stay! Please do come again - for work or pleasure - we will always do our best to make you feel welcome!

Jeff and Brenda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
There are newer reviews for West Coast Motel on the Harbour
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 273 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed three nights there and enjoyed it! The room was small but clean. We missed a microwave. We came back to this motel after one really overpriced night in Tofino. Price/Value is great in this motel and we definitely would stay there again :-)
The front desk staff and owner were VERY kind and gave us a lot of recommendations.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manou S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcoastmotel, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Thanks for coming, AGAIN! 3 nights and another 3 nights! We hope see see you again some time, although we know you are coming from very far away. Perhaps next time, we will turn you into surfers!

Glad everything worked out and super excited that you loved Ucluelet so much!

Happy travels,

Brenda and Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We spent three nights in ucluelet in the wettest couple of weeks possible in early September but we had a blast. Room was small but perfectly formed with a really comfortable bed. Location outstanding for the local restaurants and wildlife. Just from the car park behind the hotel we saw harbour seal, otters and bald eagles. Owners were lovely, pool was a treat

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcoastmotel, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Hello!

Thank you ever so much for coming and writing a review on our behalf. We are glad you found our "Euro Sleeper" comfortable and that the location was favourable for you! Come again!! If you like, we do have larger units, as well, or the Euro sleepers, as you had are always a great option for those on a budget, who don't need any thing other than a bed and a shower, a coffee maker and a TV in a pocket-sized space. We hope the rest of your holiday was fantastic!

Happy travels!

Brenda and Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in August 2013. Get a suite with a balcony overlooking the harbour. Everything and more. Clean, roomy, well located, indoor pool, great people in charge. Jiggers is not far and serves the best fish and chips for a quick first evening meal. Great view of harbour.

Room Tip: Get the suite with a balcony
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeandBa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcoastmotel, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Hello!

We are so pleased that your enjoyed our West Coast Balcony suites. Motels don't usually have any rooms with private balconies and views like these do. We have so many rooms styles, we hope that we have something for everyone. Isn't Jiggers great? The best fish and chips on the planet, as far as we are concerned! Come back and see us soon. Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review.

Brenda and Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Our visit to Ucluelet was framed by the area's first fall storm - heavy winds and driving rain. We weathered quite well at this property. Based on previous reviews, we selected a harbour view room with a small kitchenette. Our room (302) was large, the bed firm but comfortable and the bathroom was up to date and spotless. Much to my surprise, there was even a live plant (Christmas Cactus) in the room. In all my years of travelling, I'm sure this was the first time there was a real plant in any room I've stayed in.
We were warm and comfortable despite the storm outside. There was a nice view of the harbour and we found the motel to be quiet despite most of the rooms being occupied. The young woman at the desk was very helpful and provided suggestions for which section of the Wild Pacific hiking trail to view the raging ocean. A Co-op grocery store, private liquor store and restaurants are all within easy walking distance.
If you are looking for basic i.e. not fancy, clean accommodations to see this portion of the island's west coast, this property is just right.

Room Tip: Go for the harbour view.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2eratics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcoastmotel, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Hello

Thank you for coming!! Yes, that was quite the storm, was it not? Craziness! People come to this area just to see these type of "weather performances" and we are happy you enjoyed it. The noise of the rain that weekend was incredible! It came down so hard, it sounded like Niagara Falls! Wow!

Thank you for the nice review and hope that you can make your way back here again someday.

Happy travels!

Brenda and Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We had a lovely stay at the West Coast Motel. We were upgraded to harbour facing room. Everything was excellent for the price paid. Very clean, well equipped, slept well, loved the fact it was quiet at night to sleep. Staff helpful. Hairdryer given on request, also iron and ironing board. reccommendations given on where to eat spot on. A big thank you to Brenda, who, on seeing the way I looked stressed out on cracking my windscreen spent her time ringing the hire company to clarify what I should do and how much it would cost me etc. She then rang me in my room so I could get a good nights sleep. This was over and above what you expect from your motel, I was so grateful.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank amdramhwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcoastmotel, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Hello

Thank you both for coming and we appreciate the review! So happy that the windshield issue you had worked out - we are always pleased to assist our guests. We hope the rest of your holiday was just fantastic and that some day you can come back again!

Happy travels!

Brenda and Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed at the West Coast Motel for 2 nights in a Junior Kitchen suite. The room was a very good size for the money and, although the fittings and decor were fairly basic, there was everything that we needed and it was very clean. The bed was firm (which I prefer) and the sofa was very comfy. Brenda was very friendly and helpful, making sure that we felt welcome and had directions / recommendations for the town's restaurants. There is a laundry room for guests but it only has the one washer and dryer so you may have to wait. I would love to return to Uclulet for longer than 2 nights and would absolutely stay here again (and hopefully have the time to check out the pool).

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike_A_1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcoastmotel, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Hello!

Thank you very much for coming and taking the time to write about your time here! We so appreciate it. We know it is a long way away, but we hope that you can find your way back here again some day. It's such a beautiful place - restful to the soul!

Happy travels!

Brenda and Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ucluelet
20.4 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
1.2 mi away
Reef Point Cottages
Reef Point Cottages
#7 of 11 in Ucluelet
246 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Francis Boutique Inn
The Francis Boutique Inn
#1 of 11 in Ucluelet
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
0.1 mi away
Canadian Princess Lodge
Canadian Princess Lodge
#10 of 11 in Ucluelet
93 reviews
0.2 mi away
Water's Edge Shoreside Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Coast Motel on the Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Coast Motel on the Harbour

Address: 279 Hemlock Street | Box 275, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Ucluelet
Price Range: $61 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — West Coast Motel on the Harbour 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean and friendly, family-run motel at the Small Craft Harbour in central, small-town Ucluelet. Some units have beautiful views of the colourful fishing fleet. Steps to the boats, walking distance to restaurants, whale watching, fishing tours, and the Wild Pacific Trail. 10 minute drive to Long Beach/Pacific Rim National Park. 30 minute drive to Tofino. Free WIFI & hard-wired internet in each unit, cable TV, free use of pool and 3000 square foot gym with harbour view + sauna (the local community centre). No pets permitted, no smoking in units. Cookshack with BBQ and crab pot on site in season. Lots of room styles to choose from from tiny, but economical suites, full kitchen suites, 2 bedrooms and our West Coast units with covered balconies facing the boats. We also have a 4 bedroom "Fisherman's House" with a huge deck facing the boats and the "Little Green Cabin on the Harbour" with a beautiful deck a stone's through from the harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your West Coast Motel on the Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing