We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, staff and clean rooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
West Coast Motel on the Harbour
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Ucluelet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This is our second year staying at the West Coast Motel and again, Brenda and Jeff exceeded our expectations.
Jeff recommended a fantastic fishing guide - we caught some big fish!
The Cook Shack is a brilliant idea and we used it to cook up our catch of salmon and squid.
They also recommended some great restaurants in the area and sent my kids to a great surfing coach.
We were able to extend our stay by one night by staying at another of their properties, The Whales Tail. These are excellent suites with everything a young family needs. The rooms were very clean and beautifully appointed.
We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcoastmotel, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Thanks for coming!!! The cookshack is the best place to be, after catching some fresh fish, isn't it? Yum! We hope the kids become regular sufer girls and surfer dudes and will come back for an annual surf and fishing holiday!

Happy travels...

Brenda and Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (279)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 279 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed at this motel on the recommendation of my sister who had stayed there several times on fishing trips. Our room had a seperate bedroom and a full kitchen and the living room area was good sized. The view was of the harbor. Everything was very clean and comfortable. The girl at the front desk was very helpful, friendly and enthusiastic.

The facilities included a gym and a pool in the same building. Hairdryers are kept at the front desk and are offered when you check in.

The only drawback was that the walkway was right outside the windows, so if we kept the curtains open for the light and view, everyone walking by could look in. This was a bit uncomfortable. Maybe they could have lighter curtains only halfway up the window for more privacy.

Some rooms at the back of the building faced the parking lot and some rooms facing the water had balconies without the walkways.

I would highly recommend this motel to anyone planning a stay in Ucluelet. It has a great location and is within walking distance of everything in town.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the water and try to get one with a balcony, not on the walkway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcoastmotel, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Hello Laurie C!

Thank you for coming! We are so happy to hear that your family referred you to us and that you also loved our place! It may be that you might prefer one of our more hotel-style units, the West Coast Balcony suites - they feature private balconies, rather that the traditional motel-style walkways in front. Or, you might like the Little Green Cabin on the Harbour, which although is viewable by the public going by, is raised and is set back - so, it is a great place to people-watch and watch the goings on of Ucluelet's fishing fleet. Or, perhaps our "little sister" property, Whale's Tail, which has a more private, almost residential feel to it.

In any case, we are delighted that you loved our place and hope to see you back soon!

Happy travels!

Brenda and Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Our family of four had the best trip to Ucluelet and a big part of that was the amazing hospitality extended to us by the folks at the West Coast Motel. The staff were friendly and so helpful. Jeff, the owner, went out of his way to make sure we had everything we needed and even supplied all of the plates, utensils and cooking needs for our crabfest in their wonderful outdoor kitchen. The rooms were more spacious than I expected and spotlessly clean. Even better was the view from our balcony to the harbour with amazing west coast views. The kids enjoyed the pool and the dining recommendations from Kara at the front office were spot on. I am sure we will be regulars here for years to come. Thanks again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcoastmotel, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you for coming, Laura G and Family!

We are so glad you had such a great time with your family in our communal cookshack! The feast smelled delicious! We do hope you will make this an annual event and we will always do our best to make sure your stay is comfortable.

Happy travels!!

Brenda and Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

What a great time we had! The rooms were large and clean and the beds very, very comfy. But the reason it really deserves an excellent rating is Brenda and Jeff. They are fabulous hosts and ambassadors for their town.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
Thank SSwainsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcoastmotel, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you so much for coming! We loved that your first visit to the West Coast was with us and that you enjoyed your stay! Hope you can come back again and again....Brenda (and Jeff)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We arrived a the the West Cost Motel at the last minute when a our previous accommodation did not work out. We were warmly greeted by Jeff and Brenda, the owners, who made every effort to provide us a room for the night. We intended on staying in this beautiful coastal village two nights; however, Jeff and Brenda could not promise us the second night. What they did promise was if there was no room at their motel, they assured us that they would find us somewhere in town to stay. As is it turned out, we were able to stay the second night at their motel. We were grateful for this. The rooms were spacious and clean and had a fabulous view of the harbour. On our final day in Ucluelet, we went kayaking after we had already checked out. Once again, Jeff and Brenda demonstrated excellent customer service by permitting us to use the change room facilities at the adjoining fitness centre to clean up before we hit the road. We would certainly return to the West Coast Motel!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OntarioDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcoastmotel, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Hello you two!

So happy the place fit your needs so well! It's great we were able to keep you the second night, due to a cancellation, but we definitely would have made sure you had somewhere comfortable, if we did have to refer you elsewhere. Wasn't the kayaking incredible? We hope you can come relax here again soon. Thanks a bunch!

Brenda and Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

What a wonderful time we had! Our room was spotless, quiet, amazing habour view, and you will get the best sleep of your life on the comfy beds. Can't wait for our next trip to Ucluelet and of course we'll be staying at the West Coast Motel on the Habour...

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcoastmotel, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Why thank you! We enjoyed your visit too! Glad you found our rooms and beds just right and we sincerely hope you will be able to get back again here soon! Always at your service!

Happy travels!

Brenda and Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We chose this motel on the basis of TA reviews and were not disappointed. The rooms are large and very clean! the location is good as you come into town. There is a nice view of the harbour (albeit there is a car park in front).

As others have said, Jeff and Brenda are helpful to a fault. we were almost overwhelmed with information about sights and restaurants - all of it most useful, even if it was hard to process all the information at once! Jeff is a great salesperson for this town and we did agree with him that it was a much nicer, quieter place to stay than Tofino and the walks are superb. So its- yes if you can Vancover Island go to Ucluelet and stay at this motel. I doubt that you could do better on either count. We ate at Mattersons both nights it was so good- and value for money. Also the little acquarium is a star

Room Tip: Ask for a room where you go in on the level but look over the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MreMargaretRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcoastmotel, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you for coming, folks and for taking the time out of your day to write a review on tripadvisor!! We love that you enjoyed Ucluelet and our place so much. It makes us very happy that you were able to have such a nice time.

We hope that we will see you soon.

Brenda and Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ucluelet
1.2 mi away
Reef Point Cottages
Reef Point Cottages
#7 of 11 in Ucluelet
248 reviews
20.4 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.4 mi away
The Francis Boutique Inn
The Francis Boutique Inn
#1 of 11 in Ucluelet
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
335 reviews
21.4 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
0.6 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Coast Motel on the Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Coast Motel on the Harbour

Address: 279 Hemlock Street | Box 275, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Ucluelet
Price Range: $59 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — West Coast Motel on the Harbour 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean and friendly, family-run motel at the Small Craft Harbour in central, small-town Ucluelet. Some units have beautiful views of the colourful fishing fleet. Steps to the boats, walking distance to restaurants, whale watching, fishing tours, and the Wild Pacific Trail. 10 minute drive to Long Beach/Pacific Rim National Park. 30 minute drive to Tofino. Free WIFI & hard-wired internet in each unit, cable TV, free use of pool and 3000 square foot gym with harbour view + sauna (the local community centre). No pets permitted, no smoking in units. Cookshack with BBQ and crab pot on site in season. Lots of room styles to choose from from tiny, but economical suites, full kitchen suites, 2 bedrooms and our West Coast units with covered balconies facing the boats. We also have a 4 bedroom "Fisherman's House" with a huge deck facing the boats and the "Little Green Cabin on the Harbour" with a beautiful deck a stone's through from the harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your West Coast Motel on the Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing