We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Gem of a Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
West Coast Motel on the Harbour
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Ucluelet
Certificate of Excellence
Langford, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Gem of a Place”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed in the little "green" cabin just last week and it was wonderful.
Due to specific dietary requirements we always book a room with a kitchen and this cabin fit the bill perfectly.
Had checked the reviews here on TripAdvisor about this place and others in the area and after speaking to Brenda on the phone decided on the West Coast Motel for 2 nights in the cabin. We were not disappointed.

A suggestion - the place could use some more hooks on the walls to hang up clothing.

We did travel to Tofino and sure are glad we choose to stay in Ucluelet rather than Tofino.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Truth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcoastmotel, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
We are also happy you chose to visit Ucluelet. The Little Green Cabin is definitely a cute spot with a great view! We love Ucluelet because it is a little more laid back. In fact, after looking at businesses both here and in Tofino, we chose Ucluelet because we love the feel of the town. You are still within 10 minutes of Long Beach, just like Tofino. You can also see the Wild Pacific Trail, the Ucluelet Aquarium and access the Broken Group Islands (another part of Pacific Rim National Park) from Ucluelet! Thanks for coming - hope to see you again soon! Brenda and Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    82
    14
    4
    5
See reviews for
50
113
26
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed three nights during the first week of September at the West Coast Motel, based on reviews posted here on TripAdvisor. And we were not disappointed! When we checked in, manager Brenda explained everything we wanted to know about the motel (undergoing some renovations); about restaurants in Ucluelet and Tofino; about where to hike. It was great to receive all of this information, and we put it all to good use while in Ukee! Our room was upstairs and the rear balcony overlooked the harbor - nice view. The room was large and the bed was comfortable. The most noise we ever heard was from the gulls over the harbor! The motel is close enough to walk to restaurants, which we did sometimes - other times we drove. The only suggestion we can make is screens for the windows! But we never found any motel/hotel that had screens during our Canadian vacation - just like in Germany and Austria last year. Good value for a great stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billk1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcoastmotel, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words. Glad you had an excellent trip and stay with us and hope that you will come again one day! Yes, screens on windows are not really a necessity here - no bugs generally. As we replace windows (we are in that process), the new ones will likely come with screens, but seeing as we do not get mosquitoes here, replacement of damaged screens will not likely be on the priority list. Thanks again! Brenda and Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We had such a wonderful time at the West Coast Motel while staying in Ucluelet. Don't let the name "motel" fool you. It doesn't feel like a typical motel. We had a little living room and full kitchen in our room, which overlooked the harbor. The room smelled a little musty at first, but the furnishings were clean and remodeled and the kitchen was fully functional. The motel also has a big fitness center and nice pool, so there are many amenities. Because the town is so small, the motel is close walking distance to everything and we loved that! We also got so many great recommendations for restaurants and activities from locals Jeff and Brenda. Considering how expensive all accommodations are between Ucluelet and Tofino, this place was a steal. We would DEFINITELY stay there again!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a harbor view. It's so lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irishrine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcoastmotel, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thanks for your kind comments! We hope you can come visit again some time soon. Sorry for "musty", but although our rooms are very clean - the Wet West Coast is very, very humid and most places will have that musty smell when you close it up for a few hours. Just our climate, unfortunately! Jeff and Brenda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tofino, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

A quaint little place close to the wharf and centrally located, what a find! We had a really bad experience at another place and found this motel through the info centre. I called to book a room and there was this warm friendly voice at the other end of the line like a beacon in the dark! Thank you Brenda for helping our stay be a positive one. She was also were very informative about where to eat, and places to visit. They are very accommodating and takes very good care of all their visitors. The rooms were exceptionally clean and Comfy. Good value for your money! There is a Big fridge, a proper stove, microwave, basically fully equipped kitchen. Your home away from home! I will definately be going back there! Great Service indeed!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InaEygelaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcoastmotel, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you so much for coming and choosing us for your stay. We would love to see you back this way again some time soon!!!!! We so appreciate your kind comments! Brenda and Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commack, New York
Level Contributor
117 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

This "motel" is not what you think. These rooms were really clean and cozy. We were so suprised that this place even had a FRIDGE!! Even though we stayed for only one night, we would stay there again for sure!! The owner is amazing and will help you with anything you need. Great service!

Room Tip: This town is a bit off the beaten path in Ucluelet...about 30 miles from Tofino. Really cute town wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emjay24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcoastmotel, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Why thank you!!! We welcome you back to our "home" anytime. Thanks so much for choosing our place and hope the rest of your holiday turned out fantastic! Brenda and Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Very nice hotel, wonderful experience. Very large rooms, close to everything, excellent value. Owners/operators very helpful, extremely dedicated to service, will take great care of you. Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya_Andy_Hyatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcoastmotel, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you, Hyatt Family - you were awesome guests and we so appreciated your understanding! Please come again!!!!! Brenda and Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Stayed here 1 night before and 1 night after a 4 day kayak trip during the Aug long weekend. Very glad we did: central to almost everything, the rooms were very clean & reasonably priced and the staff helpful and friendly, giving us a map and showing us some great choices of places to eat and see. Even when we wanted to add a 3rd person at the last minute to the small twin bed room to sleep on the floor, Brenda was skeptical but very accommodating, even loaning us the use of a kettle from her own kitchen! Given that we were going to be in a small tent for the next few nights, it really was enough room for our purposes. We were able to upgrade to a room with a kitchenette & hide-a-bed on the second night and all 3 of us enjoyed a hot shower.
I would definitely recommend this motel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMinPenticton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcoastmotel, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you for coming, our adventurous kayaking friends! We enjoyed having you and were so happy your trip went well. Hope to see you next year! We so appreciate that you took some time to write some comments for us!!!
Brenda and Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ucluelet
20.4 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
1.1 mi away
Reef Point Cottages
Reef Point Cottages
#7 of 11 in Ucluelet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
19.5 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#9 of 16 in Tofino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bayshore Waterfront Inn
Bayshore Waterfront Inn
#6 of 11 in Ucluelet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.6 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
0.1 mi away
Whale's Tail Guest Suites
Whale's Tail Guest Suites
#9 of 11 in Ucluelet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Coast Motel on the Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Coast Motel on the Harbour

Property: West Coast Motel on the Harbour
Address: 279 Hemlock Street | Box 275, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Ucluelet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — West Coast Motel on the Harbour 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean and friendly, family-run motel at the Small Craft Harbour in central, small-town Ucluelet. Some units have beautiful views of the colourful fishing fleet. Steps to the boats, walking distance to restaurants, whale watching, fishing tours, and the Wild Pacific Trail. 10 minute drive to Long Beach/Pacific Rim National Park. 30 minute drive to Tofino. Free WIFI & hard-wired internet in each unit, cable TV, free use of pool and 3000 square foot gym with harbour view + sauna (the local community centre). No pets permitted, no smoking in units. Cookshack with BBQ and crab pot on site in season. Lots of room styles to choose from from tiny, but economical suites, full kitchen suites, 2 bedrooms and our West Coast units with covered balconies facing the boats. We also have a 4 bedroom "Fisherman's House" with a huge deck facing the boats and the "Little Green Cabin on the Harbour" with a beautiful deck a stone's through from the harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your West Coast Motel on the Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing