We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You will be happy!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of West Coast Motel on the Harbour

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
West Coast Motel on the Harbour
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Ucluelet
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“You will be happy!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Very nice hotel, wonderful experience. Very large rooms, close to everything, excellent value. Owners/operators very helpful, extremely dedicated to service, will take great care of you. Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya_Andy_Hyatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcoastmotel, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you, Hyatt Family - you were awesome guests and we so appreciated your understanding! Please come again!!!!! Brenda and Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    77
    14
    4
    5
See reviews for
47
111
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penticton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

Stayed here 1 night before and 1 night after a 4 day kayak trip during the Aug long weekend. Very glad we did: central to almost everything, the rooms were very clean & reasonably priced and the staff helpful and friendly, giving us a map and showing us some great choices of places to eat and see. Even when we wanted to add a 3rd person at the last minute to the small twin bed room to sleep on the floor, Brenda was skeptical but very accommodating, even loaning us the use of a kettle from her own kitchen! Given that we were going to be in a small tent for the next few nights, it really was enough room for our purposes. We were able to upgrade to a room with a kitchenette & hide-a-bed on the second night and all 3 of us enjoyed a hot shower.
I would definitely recommend this motel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DMinPenticton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcoastmotel, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you for coming, our adventurous kayaking friends! We enjoyed having you and were so happy your trip went well. Hope to see you next year! We so appreciate that you took some time to write some comments for us!!!
Brenda and Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

I am from Victoria and had my friend and her two teen boys from Edmonton here visiting. We stayed at this Motel right on the Marina...Service absolutely the best and the rooms were super
clean and comfortable ..
Don't miss out on this one !!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcoastmotel, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Hello folks!

Thank you very much for your kind review and that you were so please with your accommodations and our service! We loved having you all and hope that you will find your way back here again soon. In March every year over 20,000 grey whales migrate past our coast (we also have some permanent resident greys and humpbacks) from Baja, Mexico to Alaska. Perhaps you and your friends might like to come back then, if you can. Chowder tastings, beach tug of war, whale watching, native art; all kinds of small town activities. The festival is a 10 day joint effort between Ucluelet, Pacific Rim National Park and Tofino. Just an idea!

Brenda and Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

We were only supposed to stay 2 nights but within an hour of arriving we booked another night.
You are directly in front of the harbor, steps away from the ocean and a fabulous restaurant (FloatHouse).
The owner of the hotel provided us with so much helpful info of where to eat and what to do around the town, this was helpful & we had the most amazing fresh meals at the restaurants she suggested. The rooms we had were 100% spotless, the cleaning ladies do an outstanding job! Thanks so much ladies!! We have never in all of our travels stayed in such pristine accommodations.
Yes, this is a motel, and perhaps not new, but the owner, staff & accommodations made you feel like you were at home for your stay.
We loved our stay at this motel and will stay here again when we come back to Ucluelet.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcoastmotel, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you very much for writing such nice comments! You are welcome any time. So happy you had a great visit here!

Brenda, Jeff and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalais, France
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

Everyone said "you must see Tofino" but when we found this great motel we decided to stay there an extra night and just do the day trip to Tofino. The owners couldn't have been more helpful, advising us on places to eat for breakfast and evenings, local walks, trips and attractions. Our large two queen bed room had a deck overlooking the harbour, and we could have spent hours watching all the activities, including bald eagles soaring over the water. As residents we could use the large fitness room and huge indoor pool even when it was closed to the public, and this was a real pleasure. The complex is not new, but well maintained, with a few quirky touches giving it real character.

Room Tip: ask for a view of the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ziggy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Super! So happy you enjoyed your time with us and had great experiences. That's what we aim for when people check in - to give them advice - if they want it - of all the things we would do. We love our adopted home town and take great pleasure in making sure our guests love it too. Please come again (we know you are from far away). Thank you very, very much for the kind review.

Brenda and Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Plain, Canada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed three nights at this family run motel. Service could not be more friendly and helpful. We stayed in a very large two queen bed room with a small deck overlooking the harbour. While the motel is older it is lovingly and attentively managed. The fitness centre for the community is attached to the motel. I used it on two evenings and found it not only convenient but well equipped for a small town. The West Coast Moel is well located in the centre of restaurants, shops, and activities all within walking distance. It is exceptionally clean. After a stay we are in the habit of checking under the bed when leaving to make sure we haven't forgotten something. We were surprised to find that it was immaculate even under the beds. That's an extra level of attention that characterizes this property.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimfromalberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Aw shucks - you make us blush! Thank you ever so much for coming to see us! Brenda and Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights whilst kayaking, and it was great. The staff were really friendly and helpful, advised us on how to get to the kayaking, all the details on it, what sort of places there where to eat, all that sort of thing. They even suggested a really nice walk that fitted in well with the other things we were doing. The hotel is in a good spot, just above the harbour so you have some good views, and is 1-10 minutes walk from all the restaurants / cafes / shops you might want to visit, so you can walk rather than having to drive which was nice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gagravarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
A pleasure to have you! Thank you for choosing our place - paddle back again this way some day!!! Brenda and Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ucluelet
20.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
1.1 mi away
Reef Point Cottages
Reef Point Cottages
#6 of 10 in Ucluelet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.5 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Whale's Tail Guest Suites
Whale's Tail Guest Suites
#7 of 10 in Ucluelet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.2 mi away
Water's Edge Shoreside Suites
0.0 mi away
Bayshore Waterfront Inn
Bayshore Waterfront Inn
#4 of 10 in Ucluelet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Coast Motel on the Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Coast Motel on the Harbour

Property: West Coast Motel on the Harbour
Address: 279 Hemlock Street | Box 275, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Ucluelet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — West Coast Motel on the Harbour 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean and friendly, family-run motel at the Small Craft Harbour in central, small-town Ucluelet. Some units have beautiful views of the colourful fishing fleet. Steps to the boats, walking distance to restaurants, whale watching, fishing tours, and the Wild Pacific Trail. 10 minute drive to Long Beach/Pacific Rim National Park. 30 minute drive to Tofino. Free WIFI & hard-wired internet in each unit, cable TV, free use of pool and 3000 square foot gym with harbour view + sauna (the local community centre). No pets permitted, no smoking in units. Cookshack with BBQ and crab pot on site in season. Lots of room styles to choose from from tiny, but economical suites, full kitchen suites, 2 bedrooms and our West Coast units with covered balconies facing the boats. We also have a 4 bedroom "Fisherman's House" with a huge deck facing the boats and the "Little Green Cabin on the Harbour" with a beautiful deck a stone's through from the harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your West Coast Motel on the Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing