We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Cabin on the Harbour-Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
West Coast Motel on the Harbour
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Ucluelet
Certificate of Excellence
Summerland, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Cabin on the Harbour-Perfect”
Reviewed May 7, 2011

Not only is the staff friendly and capable, the unit was more then we expected. Right on the harbour, you can watch the daily activities and the various marine creatures right from your deck. The unit was fully equipped and perfect for 2 people. In a resort area where overpriced accomodation seems the rule, this bargain priced gem was woth double what we paid for it. Our second stay and we'll be back for sure!

Room Tip: Either motel or cabin, both are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Retired071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcoastmotel, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this review, May 9, 2011
Thank you very much for your kind words! We hope to see you every year and promise to always try to make your stay as wonderful as the last two! Happy travels. Brenda and Jeff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    87
    17
    5
    5
See reviews for
54
119
28
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2010

I was very pleased with my stay in this Motel. It was clean & the bed was comfortable. It also had some dishes in the room so I was able to have my morning cereal without having to go out and have a glass of wine in a real wine glass. My room was at the end of the building so it overlooked the boats in the harbour which was lovely. The owners were super friendly & helpful in choosing a restaurnat or letting me know of the fabulous trail systems that wind around the waterfront. I was here to work & my company did the booking so I don't know how much the room was but it had everything that I needed & more.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RedRose55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcoastmotel, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this review, October 20, 2010
Thank you, thank you, thank you for taking time to write this review. Often, people only take time to put something in writing when the comments are negative. It means so much more to us, when someone has enjoyed their visit, to put their thoughts in writing. We so appreciate all the business that comes our way. Our efforts are always geared towards ensuring that the guest has a nice, clean, safe place to stay and is made aware of all the great features of our little village. We hope to see you again soon!

Brenda and Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2010

The motel backs on to the peaceful harbour of Ucluelet. Our room overlooked the harbour and our view was of the forest of masts of boats moored. Brenda - the owner - was hugely helpful; nothing was too much trouble. She advised on restaurants, whale watching, surf lessons, local sights and booked some of the above for us. Our kids loved the swimming pool and Brenda ensured they had towels and access without any need for input from us. The room was huge, meticulously clean and well equipped. The bathroom was a little tired, and Brenda confirmed it was about to be refurbished.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theBeightons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcoastmotel, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this review, October 3, 2010
Hello Beighton Family,

Thank you for coming and for taking time to write such a thoughtful and kind review. Your family were an absolute delight and we are sure pleased you enjoyed Ucluelet and your room. The kids were pool-crazy! It was wonderful that they enjoyed it so much. The West Coast unit you were in, was ground floor facing the harbour and really does give our guests an impression of where the roots of Ucluelet are at. Fishing boats!

Yes, this particular unit, is on the list to get a bathroom renovation this year - we hope to do 3 washrooms this year and a couple of unit renovations to go with the washroom repairs, barring no other emergencies. The bathtub is really the tired part, as the sink and toilet are relatively new. That being said, I think most people can see from the website that we puchased a motel requiring work 4 years ago. Most of the rooms that have not yet been renovated were in reasonably good shape when we purchased and were not the first on the list 4 years ago to be improved.

We strive to have all of our renovations (interior) mostly complete by year 5 - so that's coming right up). At that time, we'll have to start again, plus focus our attention on the some exterior renovations we would like to to do. Time and money, time and money!

We hope that some day you will be able to come back and visit us again!

Keep well!

Mr. and Mrs. West Coast Motel (aka Jeff and Brenda Mathieson)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwell, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2010

The motel is in a really good location, ideal for exploring Uclulet on foot, and also for trips further afield. The management and staff were all friendly and helpful, which made checking in and out very easy, and they had lots of helpful suggestions for local places visit, and also for places to eat that would suit all budgets.

We were booked into a two bedroom unit, which worked really well for our family of 5 (parents, two teenagers and a toddler). The facilities in the room were really good, and we were particularly impressed with the kitchenette - well-equipped, with a full sized fridge and cooker which enabled us to cater for ourselves in comfort when we didn't want to eat out (although a bit more preparation space would have improved it even more). Everything was clean and well cared for, and we were given an extra set towels to use in the swimming pool, which was a nice touch.

We organised to hire a travel cot (pack 'n' play bassinet) from Ukee Baby before we arrived, as the motel doesn't provide cots, and this worked well - it was delivered to reception to be ready for us when we checked in.

We all really enjoyed our 3 day visit - we went whale-watching with Jamie's which was fabulous; we took an evening stroll along the Wild Pacific Trail to the Amphitrite Lighthouse; we had a morning on Long Beach watching the surfers, followed by lunch in Tofino (and a lot of window shopping!) and a visit to Wickanninish Beach to chill out in the late afternoon sun. And we generally relaxed and had fun! Uclulet is a beautiful town with a real sense of community, and the West Coast Motel provided us with a great base to explore the rest of the Pacific Rim.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda_Urmson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcoastmotel, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this review, September 22, 2010
Hello Urmson Family!

Thank you very much for visiting us and taking the time to review our property and noting your kind comments. We loved having you and enjoyed reading about your visit to Ucluelet.

Wtih regards to the counter space in this unit - you are right - it is a little light on counter space. Our renovation is not quite complete. Cupboards and new counters arriving within the next 6 months and then the entire renovation will be 100% and the food preparation space will be expanded somewhat (within the limits of space available!

We hope to see you again someday.

Best regards

Brenda and Jeff Mathieson and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellfleet, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2010

Clean, friendly, affordable and with a great location and superior amenities. What more could you ask for? A small family run piece of paradise in a town filled with "tourist trap" opportunities. The owners could not have been more pleasant or accommodating. I made an error in booking the room. The Euro sleeper was clean and comfortably with an AMAZING one piece space age bathtub/shower unit. Unfortunately I missed the part about the ONE queen bed because I was looking at the photo of the two twin beds & my buddy was unimpressed. With no vacancy or option for the 1st night we shared the bed and on the next morning the owners graciously swapped us out at noon and moved us into a suite with a full kitchen area and a bedroom with a queen & twin bed. My mistake and yet they were gracious and accommodating. The pool is huge and well heated. The sauna was clean & perfect. "Take to the beach" towels are offered upon check in as is a hair dryer if you would like one.
Should I ever make it back to Ucluelet, BC I will happily stay at the West Coast again!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LowellBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcoastmotel, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this review, August 30, 2010
To the East Coasters meet West Coasters,

Thank you very much for coming and for taking time out of your day to write this review. We did feel badly we had no other accomodation for your first night, we were really glad you were so patient. We are so excited that you enjoyed your stay so much, despite having to share a bed with your buddy on your first night. Ucluelet and the West Coast Motel on the Harbour welcome you back any time - to 2 beds!

Brenda and Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at West Coast Motel. We arrived almost four hours before the check-in time and only wanted to ask for permission to park our car near the motel, but Brenda personally checked our room for us and since it was ready gave us the keys. The room was comfortable, modern and very clean.
Brenda and her husband were always there to give us an advice about places to see, trips to book, restaurants to visit. Their kids were always helpful too.
After a long day of sight-seeing it was a pleasure to relax in the sauna and swim in the pool – not every motel provides such amenities! We didn’t get a chance to use the gym, but maybe next time – because when we go to British Columbia again we would definitely stop at West Coast!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lilyrem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2010

Brenda and Jeff created a gem (their sparkling, well designed, well thought, modern place, with gym, sauna, and pool) within a gem - Ucluelet.
They will give you friendly advice about place to dine, to watch whales, bears or the World Cup. They have both - wireless and broadband web access.
Brenda was very accommodating in helping me to organize phone interview, and result is positive!

I am sure to tell all friends about West Coast Motel.

Jacob

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YaRem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcoastmotel, Owner at West Coast Motel on the Harbour, responded to this review, July 21, 2010
Gosh..we are really, really happy to hear you loved this place and our town. Sounds like you got your job! Thank you ever so much for taking the time to do a review on Tripadvisor. We hope you can come back this way again!

Brenda and Jeff Mathieson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ucluelet
20.4 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
1.2 mi away
Reef Point Cottages
Reef Point Cottages
#8 of 11 in Ucluelet
239 reviews
21.6 mi away
Maquinna Lodge
Maquinna Lodge
#15 of 16 in Tofino
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
0.1 mi away
Canadian Princess Lodge
Canadian Princess Lodge
#11 of 11 in Ucluelet
73 reviews
0.2 mi away
Water's Edge Shoreside Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Coast Motel on the Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Coast Motel on the Harbour

Property: West Coast Motel on the Harbour
Address: 279 Hemlock Street | Box 275, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Ucluelet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — West Coast Motel on the Harbour 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean and friendly, family-run motel at the Small Craft Harbour in central, small-town Ucluelet. Some units have beautiful views of the colourful fishing fleet. Steps to the boats, walking distance to restaurants, whale watching, fishing tours, and the Wild Pacific Trail. 10 minute drive to Long Beach/Pacific Rim National Park. 30 minute drive to Tofino. Free WIFI & hard-wired internet in each unit, cable TV, free use of pool and 3000 square foot gym with harbour view + sauna (the local community centre). No pets permitted, no smoking in units. Cookshack with BBQ and crab pot on site in season. Lots of room styles to choose from from tiny, but economical suites, full kitchen suites, 2 bedrooms and our West Coast units with covered balconies facing the boats. We also have a 4 bedroom "Fisherman's House" with a huge deck facing the boats and the "Little Green Cabin on the Harbour" with a beautiful deck a stone's through from the harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your West Coast Motel on the Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing