We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must see” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ucluelet Aquarium

Ucluelet Aquarium
Ranked #2 of 26 things to do in Ucluelet
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Come explore local marine life with all your senses! Knowledgeable staff, interactive demonstrations and fascinating diversity all within our new facility! Features a giant tide pool, kids play area, many touch tanks and video microscopes. Best part is that all the animals are release back into the wild at the end of the season after a short time on display. Admission: Adult $14, Child $7, Student/Senior $10. Under 4 is free. Annual passes pay for themselves in two visits! Staying for a week? Opts for a Annual Family Pass $50.00 Or Annual Adult Pass $25.00
Edmonton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A must see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Excellent and hidden gem in Ucluelet. Fantastic new building, knowledgeable and helpful staff. Super displays .. all around a great addition to your trip to Ucluelet.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank stevenku1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    376
    165
    39
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Margaret River
Level Contributor
72 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“An absolute treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

So good environmentally and excellent for kids. Very different and small but a wonderful conception and execution.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MreMargaretRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This aquarium and their knowledgable staff create a hidden gem in Ucluelet. We found this special aquarium to be a trip highligh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We highly recommend the Ucluelet Aquarium to anyone who loves marine biology and to families that love touch tanks and learning about our local oceans. We had a half hour only and they gave us an in depth personally guided tour which was fascinating. Please ask for this. No extra cost. Very affordable entry fee as well.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SusanRichardsdewit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Level Contributor
118 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great place to learn about local marine habitat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This place catches and releases every year new marine habitat. The staff are great with young and old alike. So much to learn about all the different species. Not a big place, but they have an impressive variety of species. The highlight was the interactive show with the clams and scallops! Learned a bunch of interesting facts on our visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank leanne1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“What a little gem for children & adults alike!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

I don't know if we would have considered a visit to the aquarium had the guide at the Pacific Rim Interpretive Center (K'wisitis) had not recommended it. We've been to one of the world's best aquariums several times (the Georgia Aqurium), as well as the Monterrey Aquarium & Shedd's in Chicago. We definitely enjoy a great aquarium, so we didn't think we would get much out of the little aquarium in Ucluelet. We were mistaken! It was one of the top spots for our 5 & 7 year old kids while in the Pacific Rim area! It is about 80% hands on, meaning the visitors are allowed to pick up & hold (or touch) most everything around the outer perimeter area of the aquarium. We all held or touched many various types of starfish, sea cucumbers, crabs, small anemones, marine snails, sponges, & the list goes on. Our son was so excited that a flounder surfaced in the big tank & swam right by him 'waving' his fin at him! He said, "I think that flounder was trained to wave at children!" - definitely put a smile on all our faces!

The staff is all so friendly & knowledgeable. We learned so much about the marine life in the area by visiting the aquarium. It is a catch & release aquarium & at the end of the season, they release all the animals back into the wild & restock again with fresh sea creatures. If you have a spare hour or two while in the area, I would not miss it! It is great for 1 year-olds to 101 year-olds! It was very clean & all the animals seem very well cared for by a dedicated staff.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie_USA_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ucluelet Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to Ucluelet Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing