We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
C&N Backpackers-Ucluelet
Nearby Hotels
$161
$156
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West Coast Motel on the Harbour(Ucluelet)(Great Value!)
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thornton Motel(Ucluelet)(Great Value!)
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayshore Waterfront Inn(Ucluelet)(Great Value!)
$148
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cabins West(Ucluelet)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveler rating
26
15
2
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
15
2
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat gardena great stayhighly recommend staying hereone nighthostelpropertyfacilitiesnaturekitchen
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 47 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2010

Although the location is pretty good and the price is very competitive in the area, there are some things that were reason enough never to come here again.

Most of all, it was a shame to have people sleep on the mattress we slept on. The iron inside the mattress hurt our bodies terribly. Moreover, the blankets provided were not nearly warm enough to keep us warm during the night. We used the other blankets in the room (private room with one double bed and one buk bed) from the (not-used) bunk bed and still were cold. Considering this was a night in August (the warmest time of the year) and the fact you are not allowed to bring your own blankets this is pretty outrageous.

Furthermore, the lay-out of the hostel is such that when you want to brush your teeth, need to go to the bathroom or take a shower, you have to cross the main lobby and walk through the common area, which is not very pleasant when there are some drunk people having a party in that area. I'd rather bypass such a room. Also, quiet time was not really present, nor did the owners correct noisy people.

The staff (Scott mainly) seemed to have a laidback attitude as if trying to present themselves as an easygoing hostel, but to us they just seemed not to care and wanting their guests to mind their own business. Also, they are gone at unpredictable times, so you can well end up with no one there when you want to check in.

The showers worked fine, but it was some kind of a mystery how they worked. Judging from others coming out of the shower I had just used, saying that 'this one didn't work', I'm apparently not the only one that couldn't figure it out at once. Cleanliness is relative, but in the context of hostels it was fine.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kibago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ucluelet-Management, Manager at C&N Backpackers-Ucluelet, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2011

We are sorry that you did not have an enjoyable stay with us! We would like to thank you for your review and have made changes to resolve the problems you wrote of. There is a new manager at the hostel and we have replaced the bed you wrote about and will resolve the other issues you wrote of to the best of our ability. Thank you for your review, without your comments we would not have been able to resolve the problems you pointed out to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2010

We really enjoyed our two nights here.
The hostel is in a fantastic setting; just on the edge of this small town, with a big garden, a barbeque area with tables and benches scattered around and boardwalks that lead you down to the water and beautiful views (including a brief sight of grazing deer).
We stayed in 2 private rooms (the first night we'd booked dorm beds but they had a private room cancellation that we grabbed) which were simple but perfectly fine- beds for 3, a table and a heater, which did come in handy the first night.
The large communal kitchen is well stocked and as clean as you can expect for such a well used area. It is a bit strange having the bathrooms off this communal area (as noted in other reviews) but there are other toilets upstairs by the dorm rooms which feel a little more private.
We found the managers (Scott and Monique) to be friendly, accommodating and helpful and prompt to deal with concerns- such as noisy guests at 2 a.m...
Although $74 (including tax) does seem a bit steep for a hostel, compared to the other options in the area it's a steal.
In all, a great hostel with a lovely calm atmosphere.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kawasaki12r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2009

We were on the main floor with the large lobby/common area/internet stations (2, pay stations). There is a stocked bookshelf in the common area that looked like the take-a-book, leave-a-book type (I didn't ask). Our room had a desk, nightstand, bunk bed and a double bed. The mattress on the double bed (in room #1) was pretty brutal, with springs poking us all night, and the pillows were pretty flat. But we were so tired from hiking that we slept despite the discomfort.

We found it to be quiet and clean (especially compared to the C&N in Tofino!). The washrooms upstairs were clean (bring your own towel - there is also an area outside for hanging wet towels/wetsuits). Linens provided were clean (you cannot bring in your own linens or sleeping bags). The well-outfitted kitchen and common area downstairs were a little messy - but got a lot of use while we were there. We didn't use the showers so I can't comment on that. The hostel was fully booked while we were there but everyone was respectful and quiet after 11pm, we didn't feel like we had to wait for the shared washrooms or like it was too noisy.

The manager (?), Aaron, who checked us in, was friendly and helpful with suggestions of places to eat that serve vegetarian meals in this small town (we recommend the nearby Roman's pizza joint for fantastic pizza and a modern interior that was a pleasant surprise in the strip mall location). I think he was playing the didgeridoo in the evening (not sure it was him, someone was!) which was pretty cool to hear.

The location is a little distant from the rest of Ucluelet, but the town didn't really seem to have a central downtown so you really do need transport there, whether it be bike, motorcycle or car.

If you go to Ucluelet, the first 2.5 km of the Wild Pacific Trail is accessible and not a difficult hike. We spotted a humpback whale from the lighthouse point, and Steller Jays in the forest. It's not as pretty a hike as those in the Pacific Rim Park but is still decent and was well worth it for us when we spotted the whale.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ebickell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2008

This hostel was clean, friendly and well equiped. Linens were provided, fully serviceable kitchen, ample bathrooms and showers, great prices.

The location was great, in the town of Ucluelet which is small and charming on the west coast of Vancouver Island just next to the Pacific Rim National Park and directly adjacent to the Wild Pacific Trail. The clients were truly international and we enjoyed meeting other people on their travels of BC. We were a family of 3 (1 child) and were welcomed in this hostel (we've found most B&B's do not accept families or couples with children). There was also one other family there with two older children, but most guests were singles and friends traveling together of various ages.

The actual location surrounded by lovely trees and right on the sound, you could walk down to the water and the grounds were lovely, very natural, a hammock, tree swing, outdoor tables to eat at and we enjoyed a campfire in the evenings.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Yvette Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews