We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“archipelago wildlife cruises McNeils and company” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Archipelago Wildlife Cruises

Archipelago Wildlife Cruises
Ranked #1 of 36 Tours in Ucluelet
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: For an unforgettable West Coast experience, join Al & Toddy Landry aboard their luxurious 53 foot motor yacht for a very personalized tour to view whales, bears, sea lions and other wildlife in comfort. More than just wildlife viewing, their interpretive tours include a scenic cruise through the sheltered waters of the Broken Group islands and a gourmet meal while at anchor. Romantic sunset cruises and private charters are also available.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
1 review
“archipelago wildlife cruises McNeils and company”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

We just completed our wildlife tour with Al and Dotty. What a fabulous day cruising the Broken Group Islands off Ucluelet. The vessel itself is in tiptop shape and extremely comfortable. Al and Dotty made it their number one job to ensure our comfort and address our curiosities. The lunch was delicious. Though we did not come across whales or bears on our tour, there was a host of other wildlife that was well worth the trip. We would recommend this excursion to all.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    687
    26
    4
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wildlife Adventure on the Ocean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

My sister gave me this cruise for my birthday present, and it was amazing. wonderful tour guides hosts Toddy and Al. Very friendly and attentive.
Their knowledge of the local culture, islands and wildlife was beyond my expectations.
The boat is beautiful, and they ensure your every comfort is met, as you travel through the Pacific to the Broken Islands. We saw Sea Lions, and Harbour seals, eagles, and a glimpse of a black bear too.
Of you come to Vancouver Island don't miss this amazing trip

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Janine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond British Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Inlet & Islands--The Only Way To Go”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

Archipelago Cruises have been on my radar since many years ago when I listened with excitement to an enthusiastic recounting of friend’s sunset journey with Toddy and Alan. At the time, we were exploring the Broken Group Islands off Ucluelet, and as a result of four wonderful days kayaking in that beautiful area, I was determined to get in there again, but had wondered about a means that would better suit my husband. Archipelago Cruises’ large yacht was the answer. After years of yearning, in earlyish July 2013 we were at last on board and heading down Ucluelet Inlet past places off the beaten track that are now on our next road trip’s must-do list. En route to the archipelago, a grey whale was busy foraging and allowed us plenty of photo ops from a respectful distance. Further on, a family of orca was snuffling through seaweed in search of lurking salmon. On entering the Broken Group, our heads were on swivels as we marvelled at these enticing islands, each a treasure and many with shell-midden beaches fronted by almost tropically hued water (on sunny days). Anchored in a pretty cove, we enjoyed a delicious, locally catered lunch served at tables cleverly set out on the upper deck. (Reserve on board enough in advance to ensure your choice of meal.) On the return trip, someone spotted a black bear on a beach. It disappeared into bush by the time others turned to look, but our skipper idled the engine, allowing everyone to hope actually, that the bear would pop out at the next beach--which it eventually did, to a muted chorus of delight and raised cameras. Not long after, we witnessed a tricky sea rescue--of someone's hat, which had leaped overboard in the wind. Toddy and Alan are readily accessible to answer questions or just chat. They provide every comfort and need for their guests. There is lots of room on board for everyone to roam about. This long-awaited exploration with Archipelago Cruises surpassed our imaginings. Other companies offer daytrips from Ucluelet, but I wholeheartedly recommend Toddy and Alan’s enterprise because they own and skipper the well-appointed, very comfortable and sprucely maintained “Raincoast Maiden”, have long and intimate personal knowledge and experience of the region, and allow time in the schedule for guests to thoroughly enjoy whatever might come along.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Catwhowalksbyherself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Unforgettable trip, great for Vancouver Island wildlife”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We were recommended this trip by friends from UK, who did it the year before, and we have no regrets at all. A stunning trip out of the Broken Islands, helped by the sun coming out! We turned up at the dock to enquire about possibilities at 8.45, and yes we could go that day or the next day, the weather was likely to be better that day, so we agreed to find some lunch (too late to book their gourmet lunch), but a quick forage in the coop, and we had the makings of our lunch, less gormet style.

Trip was lead by an extremely entertaining, hospitable couple on a wonderful boat, which is also their home. Before getting on the boat we were seeing the amazing size and diversity of starfish around the dock. only 20 minutes had passed we had seen Californian sea lions and Bald Eagles, and we then headed out to the archipelago. We were lucky to see a humpbacked whale breaching and travel nearby for 10 minutes or so, before heading back towards the broken islands. There we saw Stellar Sea lion colonies up close. Several different species of bird were found for the twitchers on board,

A quiet lunchtime spot found where we moored up and watched the birds around whilst eating lunch. Afterwards we headed back looking for whales, bears and other animal life. We were one of the unlucky days without black bear sightings, but we were directed to a place where we should get views onshore.

I found it good as you could move around the boat: choice of sitting at front (risk of spray coverage, but you were warned when to move), sitting or standing on upper deck, or staying inside, with reasonable views outside, for those who wanted more comfortable seating. Husband got great photos including the humpback whale tail.

Overall, an unforgettable day, which will linger in the mind for tranquility, wildlife and wonderful seascapes.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ucluelet, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful boat, wonderful hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

The Raincoast Maiden is a beautiful boat. The tour through the Broken Group Islands is wonderful and the pace allows you to take in the scenery and chat with the hosts. I also find that I don't get as seasick while on this style of boat. I would recommend this tour operator to friends and family.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank rainforestmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Archipelago Wildlife Cruises also viewed

Ucluelet, Barkley Sound
Ucluelet, Barkley Sound
 

Been to Archipelago Wildlife Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing