We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cabins at Terrace Beach
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed August 5, 2009

The main issue we encountered staying at the Cabins was the noise - the cabins are all close to eachother, so you can hear the noise from the other cabins easily. The main issue when we were there, however, was the noise at the back of the beach cabins - there are other guest units behind, belonging to another company, and these seem to attract a younger crowd. These units all have balconies with hot tubs on them, which are directly behind the sleeping area of the beach cabins. When we were there, we were kept awake until about 3 in the morning by people on their balconies partying, so got very little sleep.
The cabins themselves are nice enough and fairly well equipped, although the kitchen area was disappointing. The loft area where the bed is was great, as was the jacuzzi bath.
The main highlight for us was the friendliness of the staff - the owners were away when we were there, so we were taken care of by Jade who could not have been more friendly or helpful. Jade was very sympathetic when we explained about the noise from the other guest units and spoke to the owners for us. As a result, the noise levels dramatically improved.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank WelshWebber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    60
    23
    11
    11
See reviews for
74
149
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2009

During July, 2009 my wife and I visited Vancouver Island for our anniversary...while in Ucluet we stayed at The Cabins and they were EXACTLY what we were looking for; a fab view, privacy, rustic comfortable cabin with plenty of kitchen resources, great sitting area where birds come to visit in the morning..and it is all right next to the Wild Pacific Trail...in our experience it is hard to find private cabins in beautiful areas like this..there are plenty of B&Bs but great cabins are hard to find..Ron and his team were very helpful....we went to Black Rock restuarant for our anniversary dinner and it was top notch...other nights we got pizza from Romans which is mins from The Cabins....a great place to stay...we wished we could have stayed longer...

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boboHouston_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north vancouver, BC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2009

Ten Days in May

The quiet town of Ucluelet, perhaps a little ways to reach
Surrounded by clear water, is where you’ll find your Terrace Beach.

The waves on the ocean, reminds of the distance between
The memories living in our hearts, and the adventures passing in our dreams.

For we are but a tiny piece, found on this ocean so vast
And our time, like changing tides, continues and is past.

A city that steps quietly back in time
Telling stories of many years gone by.
A little city like others that live in my past
Where ever changing tides rise incredibly high.

Where the people are more than friendly, and life is not a rush
Where the ocean winds are constant, and seldom are they hushed.

The oceans powerful voice, the winds sweet song
The smiles on the faces, this is where we do belong.

So till next time we visit, we give thanks to all
We’ve had the pleasure to meet.
And wish you the best of the best in life
Your hospitality’s been sweeter than sweet.


cwt
05232009

Many thanks to Ron Clayton and his staff. They do a great job in making one feel comfortable and welcome. Wonderful experience. Wonderful people.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cwt1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st.albert,ab
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2009

I discovered The Cabins in 04 while searching on the internet for a place to stay while on my first visit to the west side of Vancouver Island. This year, 09, was my 7th visit to the cabins and with not doubt at all will NOT be my last! This place is my yearly salvation and rejuvenation.
I have stayed in both cabins 3 and 4 and you definately should stay where you can see the ocean every moment. The cabins themselves are very comfortable, the bed (best sleep ever), the decor ( easy west coat living), the kitchen ( 2 burner stove, frig, microwave, pots, itensils..everything you need), TV, radio, electric fireplace...and the MOST IMPORTANT ONE...tthe huge soaker tub on the upper level..fill it up. light the candles, pour a glass of wine and relax..not that you won't be relaxed already.
Ron and Jade are great hosts..there when you need them ready to help and answer any questions you have, yet never hovering or intrusive. The housekeeping staff are the same, they come every 2 days to change the towels and linen.
The beach is great to walk on in the morning and evening...just to explore and poke around and see something new every time. When the tides are low (and I would take a read thru the tide guide in the cabin) you can walk around the point on the east side of the beach to a great spot where yo get to see the full force of the ocean wasves craching on the rocks, then you can take the stairs up to the Pacific Coast Trail, which is comething you do not want to miss. It is a great trail, with beautiful views.
There is so much to do in the area...whether you want to take the whale tours, kayak, boat excursions thru the Broken Islands, surf, hike...or just chill out and read..you could not have a bettere place. Ucluelet has some new restaurants, which are great (Norwoods) and a fresh fish market. Fishful Thinking, where you can get fresh catch local fish to cook back at the cabin...yummy!!!
As you can tell..I love the cabins and highly, highly recommend staying here. Make sure it is the Cabins, as there are 2 resorts on the same locations..remember their slogan "check in and chill out", because that is what you will be doing.
By the way, ignore the review about the construction...it is all done and all the noise that you hear is the ocean and the birds and the murmur of the wind.
Enjoy your stay!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank weatcoastmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia Ontario
1 review
Reviewed May 27, 2009

Our stay at The Cabins at Terrace Beach on Vancouver Island's west coast was absolutely wonderful! I found this beautiful spot in searching on the net for affordable accommodation around Ucluelet / Tofino.
As we wanted to spend time visiting with friends and touring the area, The Cabins was everything we had wanted and more. On arriving at Cabin #4, we dropped our luggage at the door and took in the smell of cedar, a magnificent view of the water, the sound of eagles and the surf.
The cabin could sleep six, 2 queen bedrooms and a pull-out couch in the main living area. The upstairs queen 'loft' bedroom included a large soaking tub overlooking the ocean with separate two piece bathroom. The tub area included candles and bath salts with a breathtaking view of the water. Both bedrooms conveyed the rustic feel of a beach getaway with functional cedar lined dressers and comfortable large framed sleigh beds. Pillows, bedding and duvet were cozy and comfortable after long days of sight seeing, walks on the beach and enjoying the local hospitality.
Our only regret was not booking a longer stay at the Cabins and having the time to relax with the rugged and beautiful bounty that the west coast hospitality brought to us in Ucluelet.
A big thanks again to Ron, Jade and all the staff of The Cabins At Terrace Beach, Ucluelet, Vancouver Island, BC. for an extremely memorable vacation, we will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amjams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
112 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2009

We found the Cabins on the internet, read all the reviews, and decided it would be fun. We were so correct! Ucluelet is one of the most laid back places we've been. We lost count of the bald eagles that we saw.

Beach Cabin 1 is just right for two people. There's a hide-a-bed in the living room if there are four. Any more would be too crowded. The deck looks out over Terrace Beach and its cove. The sunsets are amazing. The cabin has a bedroom, small kitchen, living room and bathroom. The tub is long and deep enough for a good soak. The electric fireplace in the living room has a fan that circulates the air and keeps the room very comfortable. The other rooms have baseboard heaters.

Access is by a boardwalk from the parking area that extends on to a nearby trail. If you begin the trail there it loops over to the Wild Pacific Trail, which is spectacular. We would highly recommend both that segment and the other that starts off Marine Drive.

We cooked our dinner in the cabin. There is a gas barbecue on the deck but it was too windy to use it. On a calm night it would be perfect. The kitchen is fully equipped with a two-burner stove, refrigerator, microwave, toaster, coffeemaker, and all the utensils and table service for four.

The setting is interesting in that Beach Cabin 1 and Beach Cabin 3 are rented by The Cabins at Terrace Beach while most of the others are rented through Terrace Beach Resort, which is immediately adjacent to the back of the property. The balcony of their rooms have hot tubs that overlook the beach cabins.

We plan to go back to the Cabins. Ron, Jade and the rest of the staff were great. We loved it!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NWWildTurtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver
1 review
Reviewed May 16, 2009

Our family has travelled to the amazing Westcoast of Vancouver Island for over thirty years.
For the past four years we've stayed at The CABINS. We will be returning again and again for many reasons:
- location,location,location...step out the front door onto a dynamic beach that is ever changing, private,secluded and inviting
- cleanliness...every nook and cranny is clean
- service - Ron the host and his wonderful staff happily fulfill every wish from a massage in your room to the perfect table at a favorite restaurant

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoppaRegular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ucluelet
21.5 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.1 mi away
Reef Point Cottages
Reef Point Cottages
#7 of 11 in Ucluelet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
21.1 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
1.4 mi away
Water's Edge Shoreside Suites
3.8 mi away
Wya Point Resort
Wya Point Resort
#4 of 26 in Ucluelet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cabins at Terrace Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cabins at Terrace Beach

Property: The Cabins at Terrace Beach
Address: 1090 Peninsula Road, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Ucluelet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cabins at Terrace Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Check in & chill out at The Cabins and Lodge at Terrace Beach. Our 6 acre oceanfront and rainforest resort style property in Ucluelet offers fully loaded oceanfront, waterfront and rainforest cabins and suites, a lodge and Avenda Concept Spa. The Cabins and our award winning Sabbatical offer you fully equipped kitchens with dishwasher, large private soaker jacuzzi tub, fireplace, washer/dryer, large decks with BBQ, HD TV & DVD in living & bedrooms, iPod & iPhone docking stations, free wi-fi, pets are always welcome The Lodge offers you deluxe suites with king size beds, propane fireplace, double size soaker tubs, stand up rain shower, mini fridge, iPod & iPhone docking station, HD TV, large deck in ancient rain forest with ocean & beach views, Avenda Concept Spa, and the beautiful great room, the true heart of the lodge. The Cabins, the Sabbatical and the Lodge at Terrace Beach in Ucluelet, your HOMEbase on the West Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your The Cabins at Terrace Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cabins At Terrace Beach Hotel Ucluelet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing