We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Mexico in Canada”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cabins at Terrace Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We have stayed at The Cabins four times now. Each time trying out a different cabin.
Everytime we have enjoyed a nice relaxing experience.
The cabins are clean and comfortable.
The staff is very friendly and knowledgable about the sites to see in the area.
They always have time for their guests and their four legged friends.
I can't travel out of the country anymore because of health reasons, so this has become my favourite destination.
If we just want to R&R in the cabin, no problem, there is TVs, music players and the beautiful Terrace Beach to just sit and watch.
Or hiking the great beaches, we normally pack a lunch and take off for a good hike on the several beaches that you can walk for miles. Then the Pacific Rim Trail is right beside you also which we try to do each evening and then to Terrace Beach to watch the sunsets. We even seen a couple of seals in the beach this year. We have had great conversations with other guests enjoying their experience here as well and cannot get over the great location and hospitality.
We will be returning here hopefully every year as long as we can.

Room Tip: Great Web Site to pick a cabin - something for everyone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (339)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 339 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2012

My relatives were visiting from the UK and I decided to take them on a tour of Vancouver Island. However trying to find accommodation at the end of August at the last minute proved to be difficult. Tofino was impossible and the rooms that we could find required a second mortage on the house! $$$$$$. Then I started looking into Ucluelet and I found the Cabins at Terrace Beach. While the Cabins at Terrace Beach have lots of cabins - they also have a 6 or 8 bedroom lodge (not sure how many) which is where we stayed. I can't say enough about this place. Wow it was great. We rented 3 rooms - so each family had privacy but we also were able to socialize together in the lounge area on the second floor. My mother enjoyed the library and we all loved sitting around the giant fire place. The bedrooms are really comfortable! Kingsize beds, with a private sitting area, gas fireplace, flatscreen TV that can pivot so you can watch it in bed. Bar fridge and coffee maker with a balcony and table and chairs made this the ideal westcoast experience. The lodge overlooks a beach and inlet. There is no room or daily maid service - but this did not detract from the enjoyment of the place. We paid 159.00 per room and considering all the amenties we did have in the rooms and where we were I consider it a great value. Sometimes staff can be hard to find - so come prepared. If you are not the independant kind then this is not the place for you. A note to tour operators. I recommend renting the entire lodge for small groups. Bus parking is available but clients must be prepared to hike with their luggage up a steep path, or pay for portering. The lodge has a kitchen, and dinning room area as well as a lounge area where small groups can gather. Rooms have kings beds and pull out sofas. Groups of couples would be best.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gunner007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I am very tempted to give this place a 1 star rating but seeing as my party and I had a good time overall, I'm going to be generous and give it 2 stars. I'd like to start off by noting that they might as well have made the cabins a giant multi-suite complex because these things are literally right smack up against one another in a line, offering very little privacy. Bedrooms have no doors so everything can be heard when people are moving around to go to the bathroom or grab a drink of water at night. Upstairs bathroom is very open concept so everything that goes on in the bathroom can be heard downstairs and vice versa. The only window in the small downstairs bathroom is one that is chest height that overlooks the main road where people pass by so it is a gamble if you want to open it to let out the steam or not.

The neighbouring cabin decided to leave early expressing noise complaints to management the morning after our party had apparently made the noise. The fact that we were not notified as soon as possible about a problem we didn't realize existed is absolutely bogus. In return, management refunded them their money for the night they were supposed to have stayed for (which might I add, is against their policy) and subsequently charged this hefty sum of money to one of our credit cards the day after our party checked out without the credit card owner's consent. An extra $275 was charged to the same credit card for a minor damage to a piece of furniture which we agreed to take responsibility for if we were given proof of damage (ie. pictures, etc). Immediately after this agreement was made, $275 was charged to the credit card long before any sort of proof was given. Not only did management use a guest's credit card information without his consent but they also failed to give proof of any damages and a breakdown of charges before charges were made. Is that even legal?

From the looks of it, management simply does not know how to deal with issues in a professional manner. We left this place in a sour mood. A terrible end to what was otherwise a great trip. Many thanks to Relic Surf School for making up for the terrible experience we with The Cabins.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mreea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

As a weekend get away, I was brought to believe that The Cabins would be the ideal place to stay due to the appearance of their website. Although the staff was extremely friendly and polite, the immediate fault was the proximity of the cabins to each other and the thinness of the walls. Because of this, the noise levels were difficult to deal with and complaints were filed. Also, maintenance was an issue. The upstairs sink was clogged and barely functioning, requiring most of the shower and brushing of teeth to be done in the downstairs bathroom. As the cherry on top, the cabins made us pay for erroneous charges that our party of 6 had no control over. Namely, charging us for an OTHER cabin's expenses of 200$ which absolutely makes no sense. The other cabin complained about the noise levels and failed to contact us or the staff members. They demanded a refund in the morning and as a result, the cabins stuck us with their payment without, at first, giving any sort of notice. In the end, the faults largely outweighed the merits and for the price, will never return again for this kind of service/treatment.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Nicholas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Perfect for a two-night getaway. Great view of the ocean. Lovely to hear the waves at night. It has a little fridge which is good for breakfasts. Nice balcony. A few steps away from the trail and a private beach. Staff was terrific and accommodated a last-minute change in plans Only minor complaint - needs better towels. Lovely bathroom but couldn't believe the towels. Have never seen such thin towels !!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank DC Family F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Enjoyed the sabbatical. Didn't find it noisy as others have but we were in the upstairs 2 bedroom. And no one else was around except some fishermen to our left. Did find it strange the cabins has no cot for my extra teenager or an extra blanket as my teenagers cannot share blankets when in the same bed. The young gils at the desk did try and we ended up with 3 throws to help the situation. On our first night the dishwasher leaked a lot and after we cleaned it up we let the front desk know but nothing could be done. I would have really liked a discount as I did all the dishes by hand but was told there were many hoops to jump through so the girl could not give me one. There was also a pain of glass missing between our master bedroom and the bathroom meaning you could watch each other in the toilet! All in all a nice place but a few changes would be better.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
4  Thank DasdasEdmontonCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at The Cabins with our 2 Newfoundland dogs and it was perfect. We were a short walk away from the best hiking trail and a beautiful beach. The staff were exceptional and met all of our needs. They provided extra towels for our dogs and water dishes. Out side our cabin was a hose hooked up for rinsing them off. It was quiet and relaxing. The BBQ on the deck was the best!!
Thank you so much for our stay, we will be back again and again!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gizmosav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ucluelet
0.1 mi away
Reef Point Cottages
Reef Point Cottages
#7 of 11 in Ucluelet
248 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Francis Boutique Inn
The Francis Boutique Inn
#1 of 11 in Ucluelet
324 reviews
21.4 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
1.4 mi away
Water's Edge Shoreside Suites
0.4 mi away
A Snug Harbour Inn
A Snug Harbour Inn
#1 of 30 in Ucluelet
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cabins at Terrace Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cabins at Terrace Beach

Address: 1090 Peninsula Road, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Ucluelet
Price Range: $134 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cabins at Terrace Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Check in & chill out at The Cabins and Lodge at Terrace Beach. Our 6 acre oceanfront and rainforest resort style property in Ucluelet offers fully loaded oceanfront, waterfront and rainforest cabins and suites, a lodge and Avenda Concept Spa. The Cabins and our award winning Sabbatical offer you fully equipped kitchens with dishwasher, large private soaker jacuzzi tub, fireplace, washer/dryer, large decks with BBQ, HD TV & DVD in living & bedrooms, iPod & iPhone docking stations, free wi-fi, pets are always welcome The Lodge offers you deluxe suites with king size beds, propane fireplace, double size soaker tubs, stand up rain shower, mini fridge, iPod & iPhone docking station, HD TV, large deck in ancient rain forest with ocean & beach views, Avenda Concept Spa, and the beautiful great room, the true heart of the lodge. The Cabins, the Sabbatical and the Lodge at Terrace Beach in Ucluelet, your HOMEbase on the West Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Cabins at Terrace Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cabins At Terrace Beach Hotel Ucluelet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing