We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive and Gloomy !!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Gallery

The Gallery
Ranked #4 of 10 Restaurants in Iqaluit
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
iqaluit
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Expensive and Gloomy !!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Food tasted good. It took a really long time. The waiter was somewhat condescending and a little rude. Female supervisor ( manager ) spoke very rude to her staff and never smiles. I have been there many time and she is not very nice.
Wine list is very good.!!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank jenny a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    23
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Iqaluit
Level Contributor
60 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Over price meals, snotty staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

The server was very french and tempermental. Like he was doing me a favor, and the prices were extremely high, even for the north.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank CryslynIqaluit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
160 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Great Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

I had a great dinner here at the Gallery (and a pretty good lunch as well). Service is exquisite. The food is pricey but that reflects the cost of living in the north. I had a wonderful mushroom soup - perhaps the best I've tasted. Be sure to try some of the game - I totally enjoyed the muskox. The wine list is short by reasonable, with incredibly moderate prices. I would happily return.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yazzy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

Consistently excellent food and service. Friendly staff make you feel welcome. Food is best in town -- consistently.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Spambulina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
235 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Best place to eat in Iqaluit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

I've eaten here several times on business trips to Iqaluit. The food is very good and consistent. Service can be a little on the slow side so you should pay soon after ordering at lunch or risk standing in a long line. They make a good muskox burger - it's a lot of food. Also delicious was the maple char in grainy mustard (which another reviewer mentioned). It was excellent. Prices are on par with Iqaluit. I must say that I was impressed by the quality of the salads, and side veggies. I didn't expect such fresh and well prepared veg! Very good, and a must eat when you are in Iqaluit.

The local artisans stroll through the restaurant with their works. Lots of wonderful carvings, jewellery, beadwork etc. It is somewhat of an interruption when you are eating there for the 4th time in a week, and you just want to have a conversation, but it is all part of the Iqaluit experience.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PrincessGolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gallery also viewed

 

Been to The Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing