We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Great Dining”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Discovery Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Iqaluit
Coombs
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, Great Dining”
Reviewed June 30, 2011

Staying in the north is an experience everyone should experience once. I was initially reluctant to stay here as I read that is was only a 5 minute walk from the airport, but was unable to get a room anywhere else on a couple of the nights I needed, so booked here. It turns out that, while it is only a 5 minutes walk (but they do have a shuttle, and it gets to the airport fast!), all the hotels are only a couple of blocks from each other, with the exception of the Frobisher. Also the airport is not that busy by southern standards, and the planes are smaller-so basically proximity to the airport is not an issue. The rooms are basic, and in the same price range as all the other hotels. Jody, at the front desk, was super friendly and helpful. The room was clean and adequate. When you are in the north, things are different. Don't expect a luxery hotel because you paid $200/night. The dining at the Discovery was excellent (try the lamb) but they are not open all the time, only during certain windows during breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The TV was a bit old, but that is not why I was there. It is not fancy, but it met all my needs.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaCoombs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    17
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
2
3
4
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
408 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 658 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

First off, let's remember Iqaluit is in the Canadian Arctic, so they have different (and lower) standards here. The Discovery Lodge is a basic hotel in the middle of nowehere. Check-in was perfectly pleasant. To avoid problems at night, you can only get into the hotel proper after 6 pm with a special electronic key. The corridor and room smelled musty, and the room itself was very dark. I slept well until the early hours of the morning when a burglar alarm on a building outside went off. I askd to be moved the next morning and that was handed well, although the problem with the new room was that it as in the middle of a youth group and all you could hear late at night was people chatting loudly. The walls here are very thin. The breakfasts cost about $25 per person and were filling, if not very imaginative. Overall this hotel is OK but I'll be looking to stay elsewhere the next time I visit Iqaluit.

Room Tip: Make sure you're not close to a youth group
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Faience44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2011

nice clean room, extremely small, no closet, restaurant excellent but really pricey

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank STinMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaudreuil-Dorion, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2010

The staff and everything in general was fantastic. Iqualuit on the whole is expensive and the prices were exepcted. Yet this hotel wa sthe cheapest of them all and offered a free shuttle from the airport. Definately recommend this place to everyone.

Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank cassang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altus, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2009

Our handling agent set this place up, but we were very disappointed in it. It was extremely over priced. We paid CAD 219, and I would equate it to a Super8 in the USA. Not a good value. They are taking advantage of tourism.

Rooms were clean, but no frills - same with the bathroom. The people at the front desk were not knowledgable, and were slow. The Hotel is out dated and they had to run my CC by hand swipe. Our flight was very early in the morning, but the front desk was not 24hr - they only work for about a 7 hour window - so we had to have our agent check us out after we left. I tried to call the 'on call' number they gave me, but apparently I was not more important than sleep for the person on the other side. I was told to wait until they opened later - not an option for us.

The restaurant did not include breakfast and was way over-priced - meals running upwards of CAD 50 (US$45) - so we did not eat there.

I would recommend the Frobisher Bay Hotel on the hill top - if you must go to this town. The facilities are far better.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jetdriver21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, CT
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2006

My husband and I had a very pleasant stay at the Discovery Lodge last month. The airport shuttle picked us up promptly, the room (though small) was quite comfortable, the housekeeping staff was pleasant and helpful, and the restaurant was excellent. Best of all, a FREE washer and dryer--a big bonus when you've just returned from a backpacking trip!

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank izzobbed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 24, 2006

We arrived at 8:30PM and called the hotel for the advertised shuttle. We were told it was on the way. It did not show up, and repeated attempts to call the hotel were met by a busy signal. After 40 minutes (a freezing rain was falling) we managed to find a taxi.
Our complaints with management were dismissed. We asked for some quick food (sandwich, salad..) from the restaurant, but they refused to help although the restaurant staff was there and we had missed dinner because of the shuttle disappearance.
My wife asked for a 6:30 wake-up call (early plane) but nobody called.
Another minor but bothersome thing: they charge you for local calls even if the call does not go thru.
The rooms are ok considering you are in Nunavut, but management does not seem to care for the customers.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Iqaluit hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Arctic
Hotel Arctic
#1 of 4 in Iqaluit
63 reviews
0.3 mi away
Capital Suites - Iqaluit
0.1 mi away
Frobisher Inn
Frobisher Inn
#2 of 4 in Iqaluit
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Discovery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Discovery Hotel

Property: The Discovery Hotel
Address: Box 387 | BLDG 1056, Iqaluit, Nunavut X0A 0H0, Canada (Formerly Discovery Lodge Hotel)
Location: Canada > Nunavut > Iqaluit
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Iqaluit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to 'the Discovery' - Iqaluit's Boutique Hotel. As Nunavut's only boutique Hotel, 'the Discovery' offers guests unmatched comfort and unexpected luxury in the arctic. Our contemporary design is inspired by the elements of nature found around us in Iqaluit and offers an intimate atmosphere to unwind and relax. 'The Discovery' offers 51 stylish guest rooms all of which feature high-end amenities, luxurious bed coverings, wi-fi service and everything the discerning traveller needs. Centrally located in downtown Iqaluit, we are close to wherever you need to go. Come experience unexpected luxury at 'the Discovery' - Iqaluit's Boutique Hotel. About 'the Discovery' 'the Discovery' - formerly known as The Discovery Lodge Hotel has long been a part of Iqaluit's business community. Originally built to be Pan-Am Airline's Crew Hotel, the current site has seen many celebrities, politicians and Northern legends pass through its doors. Coming to Iqaluit Iqaluit is like any other modern Arctic town with all the services and conveniences one would expect in a Capital City. However, the closeness of the arctic tundra and landscape means you can escape and find solitude in mere minutes. Upon your arrival to the Iqaluit Airport, please look for 'the Discovery' courtesy phone to request our airport shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your The Discovery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Discovery Hotel Iqaluit, Nunavut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing