We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved those cinnamon rolls on the deck”

Village Bakery & Deli
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast
Description: We have an assortment of breakfast (pastries, quiche, breakfast wraps) lunch (pizza, soup and sanwhiches, paninis) and dinner items (lasagna, salads, spanakopita). We also have great coffee, espresso, latte's, as well as ice cream and beer/wine. Our menu is to large to list here so come stop by and see for yourself! Great outside dining on our deck with a superb view of the St. Elias Mountain.
Howard, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Loved those cinnamon rolls on the deck”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Great morning breakfast stop. Not much to choose from in Haines Junction but this bakery is a gem in the forrest. We also bought a loaf of sourdough bread and an elk sausage cheese pastry. Got some cream cheese for the bread and it was truly the best.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    58
    14
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Whitehorse, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The one big reason to visit Haines Junction!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Fabulous atmosphere with good outdoor seating available. Great baked goods. Also serves small cooked lunch-type meals (sandwiches, soups, salads, pizza slices) - all freshly home-made on the premises. The Friday night salmon bake is well worth it - absolutely fabulous food and free musical entertainment. This place is a hang-out for everyone from hikers to cruise ship visitors to locals, so watch out - it can be busy, but it is worth it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katinthehat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Delightful bakery! A MUST when in Haines Junction!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This was our sixth time to the Village Bakery. They have sandwiches, pizza, all sorts of baked goods and treats, ice cream and Yukon beer. Their dough is made fresh daily so everything I have had has been quite good. The Ninimo bars are unreal. The prices are a bit spendy but to be expected considering it's the Yukon. Their service can be slow but only because they are very busy. They have wifi so it's so nice to sit in the sun at their outdoor tables, eating baked treats while playing on one of few places you will find wifi for many miles.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlaskanNurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neenah, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great coffee”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stopped here on our way up the Alcan and on the way back down. Excellent coffee and their pastries were an added bonus.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A real surprise in an unexpected location”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Myself and my wife hired a car in Whitehorse and when I told the Car Hire person where we were going she recommended the "Village Bakery". I thought yeah...yeah, sure !
However we decided to take a look the next morning after spending the night in Haines Junction.
They have an excellent set up in a small Cabin. Fresh brewed Coffee, beautiful and interesting verities of fresh bread. There is even a Deli there and it is a real Deli, albiet with limited stock. We discovered that they make fresh sandwiches so we decided to buy some for our Lunch. What a good decision. They were inexpensive and are probably the best Sandwiches we have both ever had....and this in backroad Alaska. I just love it when you find somewhere that is dedicated to quality, in an unexpected place and they don't rip of the Tourists.
Full marks to the owners...well worth a stop.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank anthonymcevoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Bakery & Deli also viewed

Haines Junction, Yukon
Haines Junction, Yukon
 
Haines Junction, Yukon
 
Haines Junction, Yukon
 

Been to Village Bakery & Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing