We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous”
Review of The Portway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Portway Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“fabulous”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

what a lovely place to stay,really friendly staff,the room was spotless and comfortable,the food was the best i have had for ages,with 'REAL' chips...and the breakfast was absolutely superb...i would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    84
    19
    12
    7
See reviews for
47
107
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Having just been to Oakchuch farm shop, we decided to stop at The Portway Inn for a quick lunch.
Outside it has been painted recently with we'll cared for flower beds and plenty of parking.
Inside its very comfortable with bar and lounge areas, and a welcoming open wood fire on this damp day. Otters and WyeValley beers on draught and my wife reports the Chardonnay was lovely.
Full menu, specials and lunch snack menu available.
The staff were very welcoming and helpful.
We had Thai salmon fish cakes, chicken Caesar salad, the club sandwich and a bowl of chips.
They were all excellent!
I have no hesitation in recommending the Portway inn for lunch.
For a full dinner the menu looked good, might have the trout or the lamb !

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Russ-and-Wend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Have passed the Portway Inn several times and thought must try that sometime. Well today was the day when we called by for a spot of Sunday lunch. Arrived just after 2pm (serving 12 - 2.30) Offered the option to eat in the lounge or the restaurant, and chose the lounge by the huge fireplace. The Sunday lunch menu had a good choice of starters, a choice of four mains and three desserts. Starters chosen were the Broccoli and Stilton soup which came with some fresh bread (most of which is made onsite) plus a pot of butter, and Red Thai Salmon fishcakes with a sweet chilli sauce. Both were delicious. This was followed by well presented plates of Roast Lamb with roast potatoes,roast parsnips and four other veg cooked just right, and a yorkshire pudding (yes I know it's supposed to go with beef but who doesn't love yorkshire pud with gravy?) The desserts (all homemade) were just the right size after such a tasty main, a light Cherry Creme brulee with homemade shortbread biscuits and a rich chocolate fudge cake with pouring cream (the cream came in a jug which is preferable as then you can add it according to your taste). Overall, the meal itself was lovely, the staff, including the owner, were friendly and attentive and the price certainly isn't going to make a hole in your pocket in these economic times. The 3 courses came to £12.99 each and if you were to have two courses or just one then obviously cheaper. Adding a couple of drinks and two lattes brought the bill to £35 which for two is not bad. Go on give it a go, you know you want to.. :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AandHBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We have had lunch at this Inn several times in the past year.The food has always been of a high standard but durlng the past few weeks following the arrival of the new Chef the menu has been extended and the quality is now superb.The Portway Inn should be more widely known.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bill w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This is a fabulously located Inn and my partner and I stayed for one night. We had a superb room in a separate building out the back of the inn. Generously sized and with very comfortable bed.The staff were enormously helpful and friendly and we were made to feel very welcome. The food was outstanding and the service very attentive. In fact the only downside of our stay, aside from the weather being poor was that the shower in the room didn't work properly. Either scalding hot or freezing cold with the temperature gauge not appearing to work.

This slightly took the gloss off our stay as we wanted to shower immediately before departure. However other than that, The Portway Inn is highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Just spent two nights at the Portway Inn. Room was good, having everything you would expect. Clean and tidy and looked like it had been recently refurbished. We had a double room, however there are bigger rooms available which are worth the extra, if you want a bit more room. Our room was towards the rear of the place so road noise not an issue. We had meals in the bar on both nights which were excellent, try the home made pies and get the roasted veg to go with them. Breakfast again excellent and on all occasions the staff were polite, friendly and helpful. Overall a great place to stay and eat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gazzah45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

My wife and I treated ourselves to an over night at this charming cosy inn. On arrival we where shown to our room located directly above the bar ( very noisy beware...) l spoke to the receptionist who seemed to expect a request was on the way. She directed us to another quieter room at the back of inn. Oak beams , a bath and a king-size bed in the wonderful suite upgrade.....very nice thank you!. Breakfast was perfect , served with a smile and to perfection . Some attention to detail I think would make this Inn an absolute winner....more hot water please......matching carpet in the bedroom and living area would a simple but very effective touch to the stylish suite.The garden area outside the suite rooms could do with a tidy and clean up and would compliment the otherwise well maintained lawns. Overall without wanting to be too critical the Portway Inn was 85% lovely. Service 10/10, great staff who know what to do and how to look after you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ourjollys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staunton on Wye
8.7 mi away
Premier Inn Hereford Hotel
8.8 mi away
Three Counties Hotel
Three Counties Hotel
#5 of 12 in Hereford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
11.9 mi away
The Pilgrim Hotel
The Pilgrim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Much Birch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
The Burton Hotel
The Burton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stretton Sugwas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
9.4 mi away
Castle House
Castle House
#2 of 12 in Hereford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Portway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portway Inn

Property: The Portway Inn
Address: A438, Brecon Road, Staunton on Wye HR4 7NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Staunton on Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Staunton on Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Portway Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Portway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing