We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay for the most part.”
Review of The Portway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Portway Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The staff was pleasant and friendly. We had called to advise of early arrival and were greeted by a pot of hot tea while they finished our room. The room was of adequate size and clean, but overlooked the highway and the lighted car park. Reserve a room to the back if you can. The bathroom was on the small side, but manageable. The lounge and bar areas are quite large and comfortable. The dining room was closed the evening we were there so we ate in their pub. Food was good and the next morning’s breakfast excellent. Service was very good. There is also a sitting area in the back lawn, but the tables could use some upgrade.

Room Tip: Try for a room in the back away from the highway and car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EMac150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 242 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

Having read the reviews prior to our visit I wondered if I had the same place. I took my elderly parent there for Sunday Lunch and a few days later met some friends there. The service and staff were tip top.. The premises were clean, tidy and the food was good

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billybilge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I stayed overnight with my partner for a visit to nearby Hay-on-Wye; which was a 20 minute drive from the Inn. Check-in was nice and easy, and the staff friendly throughout our stay.
The room was good, although there were a few bits that could have been more of an issue for a different customer.
We stayed in room 7, and the main problem was the lack of wi-fi connection. Both of our phones struggled to pick up the very weak signal, despite their customer booklet stating only room 5 suffered with this issue. We also had difficulty when down in the dining room for breakfast.
The air-conditioning unit is attached below the window of room 7 and drones constantly, not a big issue for us but it could be if you need silence to sleep. Also kind of spoils the view onto the carpark!
The final gripe was a bit of black mould in the corners of the shower ceiling. Again not much of an issue on an overnight stay but would have needed cleaning had we been there any longer.
Beyond that the room was nice, the bed very comfortable and there was next to no noise from other guests.
We had a drink in the bar after a night out, and a game of pool in the Residents Lounge, which was quiet and a nice touch. Make sure you check out the random horses head skull in the floor of the bar area!
Breakfast was good, with cereals, yoghurts and lots of cooked options.
All in all a nice hotel with great staff who more than made up for the little niggles (although these would have been more of an issue on a longer stay).

Room Tip: Room 7 may be one to avoid - the view is of the carpark, very weak wi-fi signal and an air-condition...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RovingK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

This is a very good Fawlty Towers! It's part refurbished and a bit quirky but that all adds to the fun. We had a superior room in the barn extension. It was massive. Big bedroom area, strange sort of hall type dressing area and a large bathroom with toilet, good shower and full size bath. If you want to drink you have to eat in (location) but the food is very (very) good. One local said to us that it was the best in the area. The chef comes out to ask if you've enjoyed (I swear he had a cleaver behind his back) but fortunately I didn't have to lie. The breakfast is very large with excellent choices. A real gem of a find!!

Room Tip: Superior is away fro m the main inn building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Fabulous value for money. Gorgeous, locally sourced, food at reasonable prices with a friendly welcome. Nothing was too much trouble; the manageress even drew us a map of how to get to a cheap allday carpark in Hereford! Definitely intend staying there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WalesDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Enjoyed a pleasant stay at the Portway Inn having been upgraded from the single room booked to a spacious double at no extra cost. Why don't more hotels do this when they have free rooms?
Ate in the restaurant and the fish & chips were piping hot, freshly cooked and delicious. Breakfast was also cooked to order and very good. Staff were attentive and pleasant.
Did struggle to pick up WIFI in the room, but was available in communal areas and trying to fill the standard size kettle in a tiny cloakroom style sink was interesting, but overall was very good value and would be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnieVersarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Decided on the portway for sunday lunch. Very politely shown to our table. Order taken very quickly for roast beef and roast pork ,the beef and yorkshire pudding was fantastic a little more gravy would have been apreciated.The pork left a lot to be desired as it was not roast pork but some sort of pork cutlets/chops that were so over cooked they could,t be chewed,(if they had run out of actual roast pork they should have said and i would have changed the order). 2 big dishes of vegtables were bought out which would have been great except for the red cabbage that had been put in the same dish hence everthing was stained pink and looked very very messy and off putting.Desert was fantastic as was the service by a very polite young waitress. Throughout the whole meal the chef was constently coming out to ask guests was the food ok,maybe its just me but if i am going to give my complements to the chef i would like to do it in my own time after the meal .Compliments are not something you are supposed to ask for .Found that very unpleasant and something i have never had to experience at any other resturant.After the meal we took our drinks outside to the garden .first impressions were of the huge burnt bonfire over the other side (wouldn,t have been difficult to just fence that area surely) detracts your eye away fron the lovely selection of trees the garden has to offer. The grass also needed a little more work as it looked like it had,nt been cut for a for a long while .After our walk around the garden where we also came across an area which was just ciggarette buts not sure what this was butan extremely unpleasant site.Came back to the seating area and decided not to sit down as the the wooden benches were in the worse state of decay i have ever seen in any pub (they were crumbling and rotten).

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank SOPIA R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staunton on Wye
8.0 mi away
Three Counties Hotel
Three Counties Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hereford
320 reviews
8.4 mi away
Rhydspence Inn
Rhydspence Inn
#1 of 1 in Whitney-on-Wye
159 reviews
8.6 mi away
Castle House
Castle House
#1 of 11 in Hereford
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
The Pilgrim Hotel
The Pilgrim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Much Birch
826 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Swan at Hay
The Swan at Hay
#1 of 1 in Hay-on-Wye
473 reviews
3.1 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 4 in Bredwardine
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Portway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portway Inn

Address: A438, Brecon Road, Staunton on Wye HR4 7NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Staunton on Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Staunton on Wye
Price Range: $76 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Portway Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Portway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing