We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprised”
Review of Bragg Creek Steak Pit - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bragg Creek Steak Pit
Cuisines: Canadian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Surprised”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We called in without a reservation and were pleasantly surprised by both the food and the atmosphere. The service was a little slow but the Prime Rib Buffet was excellent. Not only was there prime rib, you had a choice of different main courses including chicken and salmon and many different salad and dessert items.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SL333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    11
    9
    8
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great steaks and more”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This largish restaurant has a great rustic decor. The service was good and efficient and my pepper steak was traditional and tasted great. My wife had the all you can eat Prime Rib buffet which she said was good and also a bargain. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardIanLord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quirky, Fun and Worth the Drive”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Steak Pit has been in Bragg Creek for over 50 years. The decor and ambience can best be described as quirky and rustic. With an tree growing out of the middle of the floor and lovers having carved thier initials into the log walls over the last 50 years, it certainly has charm. The food is quite good, your typical moderate to high end alberta steak house. Our waiter was very knowledgeable, friendly and entertaining. I would say his attentiveness to his guests was sometimes questionable. Overall, it definitely worth the drive. You will never experience anything quite like it. We had a great time!!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cubawedding2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Buffet on Friday and Sat.Evenings”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

There were five of us and after being encouraged to have a look at the buffet,we all decided it looked great.Why order one menu item when you can sample everything for pretty much the same price(29.95).
Prepared salads were plentiful and tasty,meat choices of prime rib,salmon and chicken were delicious.Lots of sides such as roasted corn,potatoes,fettuccine ,cabbage rolls and more.
Our waiter(Chase)was quick to refill our water glasses,remove dirty dishes,and bring coffee refills.
We were there for around 3-1/2 hours and were never ignored.
So,all in all,a very nice evening.Oh,and I enjoyed the rustic decor.I.M.O.there are enough trendy,pretentious restaurants in Calgary.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Killarnylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turner Valley, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Old Charm”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Nice charming place out in the country. Good buffet and it was out infront of the customers, pig on the spit and cooking. Thanks to Sonya for her service. Excellent!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deb F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bragg Creek Steak Pit also viewed

 
Bragg Creek, Alberta
Bragg Creek, Alberta
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing