We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best on Bowen.”
Review of Rustique Bistro

Rustique Bistro
Ranked #3 of 21 Restaurants in Bowen Island
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $19
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: French inspirited restaurant on Bowen island , using local fresh ingredients.
Bowen Island, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best on Bowen.”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Really great food. Service attentive and laid back. This is a very special place, Welcomimg but not precious. We have gone back three times.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DaddyWaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    24
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bowen Island, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

This is a very impressive little restaurant. The space is small and informal, the owners take great pride in the place, but most of all, the food is consistently great. The first time I had lunch I had the salad nicoise and was surprised that it was better than any I had in France. I've since been back and tried other items--such as the savoury crepes and have always been impressed. For the care taken with the menu, the price is reasonable.
Well worth the ferry trip over (it is a one minute walk to the ferry, so leave your car).

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank danparke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Make sure you stop in, - You will be pleasantly surprised!”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

I've eaten all over the world and my measure is if I still have a smile on my face from the food the next day. The food was cooked perfectly and the atmosphere was very friendly. This truly is a terrific restaurant, and much more than you would expect from a small island. Worth the visit and will definitely be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rubbishdump09 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous food”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Wandered in on Good Friday and had a wonderful Cobb salad--so fresh with their homemade smoked bacon, light dressing, chicken, egg, avacado--nothing pre-made in the order; everything clearly was freshly prepared. Probably one of the best Cobb Salads I've had in a long time. Their prices are very reasonable too. The salads left us very full, but we took away another delight: a homemade lemon tart, again, nearly perfect!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Temporaryresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“I can see why people like it here”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

I didn't try their crepes, which is what they're known for, but had the dinner here instead. The space and service is fantastic. We had the house salad, which was very good, and had the short ribs and the duck leg for dinner. The mains were ok, the duck leg was a bit too salty. The ribs were ok, but little too salty as well. We'd come back here to try the other items, but maybe not the dinner again. The big salads they serve looked huge! The dinners are more pricey ($20 range) vs. the crepes and other items that seem of better value, but dinner can be pricey on the island.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cowboy_Buddha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rustique Bistro also viewed

Bowen Island, British Columbia
Bowen Island, British Columbia
 
Bowen Island, British Columbia
 

Been to Rustique Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing