We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rustique Bistro

Rustique Bistro
Ranked #2 of 20 Restaurants in Bowen Island
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $18
Cuisines: French, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

Wandered in on Good Friday and had a wonderful Cobb salad--so fresh with their homemade smoked bacon, light dressing, chicken, egg, avacado--nothing pre-made in the order; everything clearly was freshly prepared. Probably one of the best Cobb Salads I've had in a long time. Their prices are very reasonable too. The salads left us very full, but we took away another delight: a homemade lemon tart, again, nearly perfect!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Temporaryresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    23
    7
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
71 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“I can see why people like it here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

I didn't try their crepes, which is what they're known for, but had the dinner here instead. The space and service is fantastic. We had the house salad, which was very good, and had the short ribs and the duck leg for dinner. The mains were ok, the duck leg was a bit too salty. The ribs were ok, but little too salty as well. We'd come back here to try the other items, but maybe not the dinner again. The big salads they serve looked huge! The dinners are more pricey ($20 range) vs. the crepes and other items that seem of better value, but dinner can be pricey on the island.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cowboy_Buddha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

We've been four times, and every visit was excellent. The food is so very, very good and reasonably priced. It's also nice that the specials and desserts have been different every time we've gone. Looking forward to many more meals here.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank damgirl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowen Island, Canada
Level Contributor
153 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Newest but will be here a long time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Looking for a true french Crepiere or waffle experience? Wow... Thierry & Celenè have done an awesome job opening what will (if it already hasn't) become a MUST DO on Bowen. There's also a full lunch and dinner menu for those with bigger appetites. In a word? AWESOME!!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Murray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowen Island, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The Best Bowen has seen in a while”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

We've dined at Rustique Bistro three times now and I think it's fair to give it a review. Bowen Island dining has been a bit of hit or miss lately so I didn't want to get too excited until we'd tried Rustique a couple of times. Food is good, simply cuisine that is reasonably priced and served in a very friendly manner. The owners are very "child comfortable" and the menu provides for the kids as well as the adults. Wine and beers are reasonably well priced, even though the selections a rather limited. Rustic crepes and rustic mains at reasonable prices is what this restaurant is all about.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rustique Bistro also viewed

Bowen Island, British Columbia
Bowen Island, British Columbia
 
Bowen Island, British Columbia
Bowen Island, British Columbia
 
Bowen Island, British Columbia
 

Been to Rustique Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing