We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Getaway Spot on Bowen”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bowen Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lodge at The Old Dorm Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 13 Bowen Island B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I was fortunate enough to get a reservation over the Christmas Holiday at The Old Dorm Bed and Breakfast. The location is perfect:10 minutes walk from the Ferry. The owner was very accommodating and went out of his way to make sure I had the privacy I had requested for my 2 night stay. I stayed in the Lady Cynthia room. The bed was perfect, temperature controlled room, with easy access to a most beautiful washroom and tub. The evenings were so quiet and peaceful sitting next to the fireplace. Dinner recommendations were spot on, and breakfasts were beautifully prepared. I highly recommend this special spot for time on your own or with friends. Sincerely, Layla

Room Tip: There are rooms available with ensuite washrooms for greater privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Layla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 54 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014

Man of the house Dan took us in at the last minute and was a very gracious host. Friendly and helpful to orient us during our first trip to the island Dan provided a welcoming environment for our first experience on Bowen Island. The house is 4 minutes from Snug Cove and close to the main strip as well as outdoor hiking.

The rooms are cozy and snug with room controlled thermostat heat during the winter months as well as large windows for good light and a breeze in the summer. Breakfast was healthy, hearty and ample.

My girlfriend and I have plans to return in the spring for more adventures.
Thanks Dan!!!

Room Tip: The room Lady Cecilia is a great choice with a Queen and a private bathroom located on the second fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Lodge at the Old Dorm. We stayed in the Lady Cecilia room. The room itself was quite small, but very cozy and comfy for the amount of time we actually stayed in the room. The ensuite bathroom was quite nice, too. We enjoyed some time on the lovely patio as well as in the various lounges.

The highlight was definitely the breakfast! It was delicious! And Dan is a great host who knows the island well. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Don and Julia made it a memorable stay. Rooms were bright, beautiful quality bed, food to write home about (just look at the wall of cookbooks). Walking distance to the ferry.

We even had to leave early, but Dan made us a breakfast before we left. Really generous, and we can't wait to tell our friends.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam-in-vancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I've stayed at the Lodge at the Old Dorm several times over the past year and have been very impressed with the accommodations and Dan's incredible breakfasts. If you are looking for a peaceful place to put your head during a visit to this island I do recommend calling the Lodge first. The decor and loving restoration of this heritage building wonderfully honours the island's and the building's history.

Bonus: it's within an easy walk from the ferry terminal and the village of Snug Cove itself. If you are a bath afficionado, you may want to spring for a room with one of these as well -- especially if you also are a hiker and tackle Mount Gardner during your visit.

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms with the bath tubs myself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Old Dorm B&B. Lovely setting on Bowen Island. The place was quiet and offered classic cottage elegance. The island itself is an interesting getaway - only miles from downtown Vancouver BC, yet with a feeling of remoteness of a quaint island community.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for the weekend and were impressed with this place. We looked at some pics etc online which were "okay", but were much happier when we arrived and saw the place for ourselves. It was a very relaxed atmosphere, everyone was friendly, and we had lots of space and quiet to ourselves.

The only slight annoyance was that the walls are a bit thin, so when people were coming in late at night and choosing to talk etc we could hear every word, which kept us up for an hour or so both nights. Other than that, fantastic b&b and we would like to return someday. Also nice a close to hikes around the lake, and to "town".

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank medsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lodge at The Old Dorm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge at The Old Dorm Bed and Breakfast

Address: 460 Melmore Rd, British Columbia V0N 1G0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Bowen Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Bowen Island
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing