We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Steven Olson

Just did a three day cat ski trip and had a phenomenal time. Excellent powder days and the... read more

Reviewed February 10, 2019
Venture605609
via mobile
Backcountry Snowcats has it all! Great lodging, great snow, and great hospitality!!

Stayed a night with Reg at Backcountry Snowcats. This place has everything!! Sleeps tons of people... read more

Reviewed December 28, 2018
Ashley W
via mobile
Read all 15 reviews
  
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveler rating
13
2
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
13
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews powder days great snow cat ski hot tub reg kathy bc
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 15 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2017

We just got back from a trip with our family visiting Reg and Kathy for Labour Day weekend. All the skis and pictures on the walls made me start craving the moment the snow starts falling again. I hope to come back in the winter. We used the lodge as basecamp and headed out for an adventure that turned into a much larger event than we had anticipated. Our kid sized adventure turned epic when Sean spotted a grizzly charging at him. Leaving all our food behind, we started running, our four year old on our backs, for another 9 km's off trail. Luckily we reached Reg and Cathy by SAT phone and they picked us up at another trailhead after a tired and hungry epic. We are not in the belly of a bear and in the end we got a lovely alpine traverse in past glacial tarns, alpine meadows, goat beds, and even a quick dip in Opal Lake. Reg and Cathy showed what it takes in the backcountry to help each other out. They put aside their roof repairs and water resupply to help us feel safe and rescue us with food and ATVs. We sat in their hot tub watching the moon traverse across the sky finally beginning to unwind after the biggest day we have had with our children in the mountains yet.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank julianiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reg M, Owner at Backcountry Snowcats Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2017

As Backcountry operators we are always happy to assist anyone needing help in the the area. Sean and Julia are seasoned and well equipped wilderness travelers ready for any wildlife encounters. The area surrounding Backcountry Snowcats has many types of wildlife and is known for bears. We hope to see back this winter for more adventures.
Reg and Kathy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2017

Outstanding tour and ride on the mountain side just south of Whistler. Had Breakfast at the top and enjoyed the rest of the ride . Also have a trip for beginners. If you have had any experience choose the mountainside. Nothing like it sleding between the Pines, the view , and the fresh mountain top air.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank mumbojumboman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2017

I had never been in a Snowcat before, and was unsure what the experience would be like. After arriving at the base parking area you are greeted by the guides, pack your gear onto sleds of snowmobiles and after a safety briefing on the machines you are on your way for about a 70 min journey up the mountain to the base lodge. A long but beautiful ride and finally arrival at the lodge. The facilities are made up of modular units that while on the outside look rudimentary inside is very warm and comforting. After placing your gear in your room we were treated to a great dinner and after some conversation called it a night. Morning brought fresh snow and a new outlook. After breakfast, avalanche transceiver training it was on to the mountains. The hosts Reg and Kathy and their guides are extremely professional and very serious about the safety of guests. The experience of the ride up in the cat and the drop off on top of a pristine untouched slope was amazing. The guides gave us a variety of terrain over the two days, open, trees, jumps , and everything one would expect in the mountains. There was always plenty of food, water, snacks in the cat through out the day. The lodge does not serve alcohol so you need to bring with you anything you would like to drink. Way up in the mountains there is no cell service so be prepared to disconnect while there. In the lodge there is basic wifi. After a day riding in the mountains, followed by a home cooked dinner, a jump in the large hot tub it was our last night. Two days, two nights, 24 drops (runs) Our group including some new friends were done. It was truly an amazing experience with a company dedicated to your safe, enjoyable experience. If you have never done it , you have to go!! (couple tips. Bring only the basic clothes you need . layers, waterproof, comfy clothes. cover your bags in plastic or garbage bag for ride up and down to keep dry)

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank waterskiguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2017

I had heard from others how great catskiing is and I jumped at the chance to experience it myself in my own backyard. It was as amazing as everybody said and Backcountry Snowcats made sure we were well looked after. Right from the start they meet us in Pemberton, shepherded us up to the lodge, fed us amazing meals, then found us the best powder and terrain. Reg and Kathy were professional and friendly and that held true for their guides and other staff. I was particularly impressed with how safety conscious they are given the risks involved. I felt entirely safe in their hands, Overall a memorable experience and one I would highly recommend. Bonus feature was my first time ever driving a snowmobile!

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank fav-vancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2017

We've been talking about going Cat skiing for a few years now and finally made a booking with Backcountry Snowcats based on a recommendation. It was amazing! We weren't sure the weather was going to be perfect but were assured by Kathy (the owner) that it would be great. And it was! The area they have at their disposal is so large that when conditions are not right in one spot they just move the Cat to other areas to find the best stashes. The staff was super friendly and helpful. The food by lovely Lisa was delicious and abundant. Any time you wanted a snack or meal it was already prepared and waiting for us. She was very good about considering food sensitivities as well. Yay! Our family (husband, wife and teenager) had a truly memorable weekend. We skied and rode so many runs each day and each one seemed better than the last. It was hard to choose the run of the day. The guides were very good. Just the right mix of safety conscious and fun-seeking. The lodge is not fancy but that's not why you go here. If you've been thinking about it, you should do it. And dress very warm for the snowmobile ride to the lodge! Hand and foot warmers definitely helped.

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank Joelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews