We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pemberton Valley Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pemberton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Harvie Heights, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing stay”
Reviewed September 21, 2009

We found the Pemberton Valley Lodge after we decided that the pre-Olympic madness of Whistler just wasn't for us. Pemberton is a little ways from Whistler, but I would go forth and back anytime in trade of for peace and tranquilness. The lodge is pretty well right on the highway but our room was towards the back and we didn't here a thing. They don't rent rooms, they rent suites - fully equipped with a kitchen that has everything from dishwasher to stove, a washer and dryer, gas fireplace, balcony and plenty of storage space. Everything is beautifully decorated. The bed very comfortable and cozy. There is an outside swimming pool that looks amazing but we didn't try it. The lodge also offers complimentary mountain bikes, which is a really nice touch. We stayed 3 nights instead of just passing through.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markus N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    119
    32
    16
    24
See reviews for
87
163
16
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2009

Pemberton Lodge, Pemberton, BC

I'd been to Whistler and it is such a zoo that we tried Pemberton hoping it would be a bit quieter. Our room at Pemberton Lodge was OK. I'd compare it to low-end Embassy Suites with a stacked washer/dryer. Almost a small apartment, good place for workers temporarily in the area or for skiers that just want to eat and collapse every night. Everything worked, was fairly new so in pretty good shape.

We booked a mountain view room with a balcony, expecting to be able to sit outside and enjoy the view. When we checked in we were give a first floor room with a view of nothing beyond the parking lot. I asked for another room and we got one on the 3rd floor in the back.

We guess our room had one of the best possible views from Pemberton Lodge. There is a giant ugly lump (hill) behind the lodge that blocks the view of "majestic mountains" and there are giant electric lines running up that hill. If we stood on one side of the balcony and leaned over, we could see a mountain... so I guess technically there was a mountain view.

There is no food available in the hotel. We were prepared to go out. Our server at Di Carlos (see below) told us to try the Big Sky Golf Club for breakfast. It is close by, food was fine and the view was terrific. bigskygolf.com

I thought Pemberton Lodge was overpriced and we had an Orbitz discount which came to total $155 for one night. Good grief! We stayed in some really nice B&B's in BC for that price.

The photos on their website are really much better than the reality!

----

Pemberton is very quiet in the summer. Not much there, which was fine with us. Our dinner and the beautiful ferry ride from Victoria to Horseshoe Bay and drive up the Sea to Sky Highway were great. Too bad Pemberton Lodge put a dent in it.

We ate at Di Carlos for Italian. This place didn't look great. It was stuffed in a strip center beside the supermarket (and BTW had a great view of majestic mountains!) After checking out the other available places in town (Wildwood, Pony) we decided it looked the most promising for good food. Had a spinach salad with warm goat cheese that was amazing. Much better than expensive restaurants we'd tried. Also the thin crust pizza was very good. Reasonable prices and friendly service. Our server told us the owners are planning to sell the place, so that may change. One of the best meals we had in BC including Brasserie L'ecole in Victoria!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank indotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2009

We just returned from a 3 night stay at this lodge. Originally had booked a month earlier but had to cancel due to a family issue. Front desk were very friendly and there was no problem in allowing us to cancel on short notice (ended up being a trail and hiking ban that weekend due to forest fires so that ended up working out well).
We rebooked and arrived with our large germain shephard dog which the hotel staff were extremely friendly towards. Some hotels advertise "dog friendly" but do so begrudgingly and are somewhat suspect if you bring anything larger than a toy breed; NOT SO with this hotel. There were dog snacks waiting in the room for our friend, a placemat and bowl, and directly behind the lodge (50 feet from front door) are miles of dog-friendly hiking trails. A bear-proof garbage can and poop-bags are located there also to help make staying with our fur-friends convenient.
Front desk staff were all friendly and helpful, and the room was cozy (we had a 1 bedroom, with full kitchen, stove, fridge, dishwasher).
Beautiful outdoor pool and hot tub had a view of surrounding mountains (would be neat in the winter to sit in the hot tub and have snow falling on you). Also a couple large BBQ's in the pool area available for guest use.
Coffee was provided free in the room, but also was a Starbucks "serve-yourself" mini-bar in the lobby for which there was a small charge ($1.75-ish) for coffee, espresso, etc.
Until traveling here we didn't realize how close this was to Whistler (20 minutes).
Highly recommended for a stay, and especially if travelling with a dog.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank warba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2009

The Lodge was very functional, clean and roomy. The staff were very friendly and always available for advice. We used it as a base for hiking in Whistler and it proved ideal. It was a 15-20 min. drive into Whistler. There were some road works in preparation for the 2010 Olympics and some building work in Whistler itself. The Lodge probably could do with an update but it was more than suitable for our purposes. The self catering facilities were fine and everything was clean and cleaned.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewcastleFlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2009

This place is perfect if you have a car and willing to drive 20 mins each day to whistler. We chose this hotel as a cheaper alternative to Whistler accommodations, and found the hotel to be excellent value. We had a one bedroom suite, which came with a full kitchen and living room. The hotel was new and nicely decorated, and the room was very modern and nicely decorated. The complimentary wireless internet is a plus, but you need to contact the front desk to get the password.

The only criticism for the place was that the heated jacuzzi was only luke warm, hence we did not venture into, and the pool was closed at the time.

Pemberton is a charming small village with few good restaurants despite its small size. The japanese sushi place was nice, but it can get quite busy during dinner time. Swiss Deli is a good option for lunch.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whateasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2009

We were visiting rellies in Pemberton for 10 days in March, and booked through Expedia our stay at the Lodge. Excellent prices and a very handy for us with the location, but no so much for anyone doing a Whistler/Blackcomb Ski trip. The Lodge is still quite new, and is extremely clean and well maintained. No restaurant or bar in-house, but a small trip down the road sorts that out. Underground Car Parking was a bonus for us, as it snowed during most of our stay. There is a fitness centre, and (outdoor) pool and spa, which are both heated and very popular with guests for the outdoors-ey ambience created by the snow covered mountains/landscape surrounding the lodge. I wasn't game to shuck down to the boardies to check it out, but the kids jumped in the pool with a relish. Staff are very helpful and quick to provide maps/details of things to see & do in the area. We would have no hesitation in staying at the Lodge during any future visits to the area....allowing for the greatly reduced cost compared with similar resorts up the road in Whistler. Very memorable visit, thank you.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MadsDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2009

1-Overpriced 2- Waited in the lobby for 30 minutes before being served 3 -didnt care for the 200 dollar deposit incase you smoke 4- didnt care for the non smoking lecture 5- at almost 200 per night for a room do you really want to pay almost 5 bucks for a bottle of water? ( cheap owners ) Room was clean except for the ketchup stain on the towel, no where in Pemberton to eat after 10 pm was told to go to the Petro Can gas station if I wanted to, the skiers partied all night long in the hallways and staff didnt do a thing about it, then the slamming of doors at 6 am and ski boots thumping around impossible to sleep, Next time we stay there...Actually there wont be a next time !

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pemberton
0.3 mi away
Pemberton Gateway Village Suites Hotel
15.7 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#13 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,672 reviews
15.6 mi away
Whistler Village Inn + Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,800 reviews
15.6 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,504 reviews
15.4 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pemberton Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pemberton Valley Lodge

Property: Pemberton Valley Lodge
Address: 1490 Sea to Sky Highway #99, Pemberton, British Columbia V0N 2L1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Pemberton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pemberton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pemberton Valley Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Think of jaw dropping mountain views and a vast array of recreational activities and you'll begin to envision one of the most picturesque and invigorating areas in Canada, just 25 minutes north of Whistler. Surrounded by the Coast Mountains, Pemberton Valley is widely referred to as the Gateway to Adventure. It's the perfect recreational destination with snowmobiling, horseback riding, acclaimed golf, hiking and so much more. Pemberton Valley Lodge is a spacious all-suite hotel with personalized service - its urban style and comfort meets mountain adventure getaway. Choose from Studio, One & Two Bedroom Suites and relax after a long day of adventure beside your fireplace or in the outdoor pool and hot tub. You can experience it all at Pemberton Valley Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pemberton Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pemberton Valley Hotel Pemberton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing