We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic mountain town charm with tons of included extras”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pemberton Valley Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pemberton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed March 21, 2013

My stay here was a 5 star WOW. So many little extras and a short beautiful drive from Whistler. The perfect place to get away from the pompous noise of the village. Well appointed room. Stay included complimentary: secure underground parking, secure ski and bike storage, good quality mountain bikes for guest use, dog wash station, apple cider and milk and cookies in the lobby, post cards, ... etc. The large outdoor pool and hot tub are incredible with an electric fire pit and sitting area and workout room, all open until 11! Highly, highly recommended. Special parking area for oversize/rec vehicles. And they recycle everything! I've stayed at the Westin in the village and I prefer the authentic local service of this independent lodge.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cammosung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A M, General Manager at Pemberton Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Lodge. We appreciate that you have taken the time to highlight some of our special amenities and services. Our goal is to exceed guest expectations while providing a unique experience. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (485)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

356 - 362 of 485 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2013

This was our second stay at PVL. The last time was a few years back and we always had great memories of sitting in the hot tub surrounded by mountains. This visit was even better as the hotel has clearly been spruced up (Olympics effect?), so what was a perfectly nice place has become somewhere truly lovely.

The staff are great, the rooms are spacious and clean, the hot tub and pool are the perfect antidote to a day of being out and about. Some great restaurants are a short walk away, and if you feel like a longer stroll (or jumping in the car) The Pony was our favourite.

We are looking forward to getting back there soon.

Room Tip: A room facing the back gets you away from the main road and mountain views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maeve_os
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A M, General Manager at Pemberton Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

We appreciate the time you have taken to post your comments. It is our goal to ensure we are always enhancing overall guest experiences. We do everything we can to deliver an enjoyable stay with all the comforts of home at the highest levels of service.
Thank you for returning to the Lodge and we are delighted to hear that you have fond memories of Pemberton. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is my very first review online about anything! This is my first time to Whistler and I love this area! I must say this hotel sells itself online with the pictures, however you never know what the service is like or if there are any problems with the room until you actually stay here. First off, our heater in our room didn't work! It wouldn't blow any hot air out, keep in mind it's freezing at night! Also the shower clogged on night 1 for no apparent reason, in other words we had to shower in ankle deep water, it wasn't pleasant. The garage door to underground parking would never work! Had to see front desk to get that fixed! Also, though I made an honest mistake on my reservation I ended up having to talk to 3 different girls to ask about my refund and all of them gave me different answers! Of course I was outside of their cancel policy however, I work for a company with policies as well and though we try our best to stick by them there are some situations where we can acknowledge the guest for being honest and forget about the policy, as good customer service comes in listening to the customer and believing that they truly are always right. Besides that, front desk could use more smiles as there are absolutely no positive vibes here. If your coming to go to whistler, spend that extra money and stay in whistler! This place is quite far from the village and definitely isn't as exciting or welcoming. I am currently in my room listening to a little dog bark outside in the hallway! With that being said, I do NOT recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KauaiCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A M, General Manager at Pemberton Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Thank you for your comments and we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We respectfully wish to clarify some of the challenges you mention in your review. When maintenance issues are brought to our attention, they are dealt with as soon as possible. If they are reported at the end of a stay, we are unable to try to remedy a bad experience.

We certainly agree that policies can be adapted in some situations, however the polices in this case were not the hotel's policies. When reservations are made through an online travel source and prepaid, this restricts hotels from refunding payment, as they did not take the payment to begin with. Booking directly with the hotel would have avoided any confusion and allowed the hotel this flexibility.

We feel that the hotel has a welcoming environment and pride ourselves on our individual attention to each and every guest and are proud of the many comments we receive about our friendly staff.

The hotel does not misrepresent itself, it is clear that we are located 25 minutes north of Whistler. We are a quiet alternative to the hustle and bustle of Whistler, with our own unique mountain charm. For convenience we do provide a complimentary ski shuttle.

We are disappointed that you did not have a positive experience and that we did not met or exceed your expectations. We hope you will consider us in the future, I'm sure you will have a different experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

It's very nice, friendly place. Nice rooms, hot tub and pool. The best place in Pemberton.. But it's not as if there are many options. The one drawback is that the pull out sofa is not very comfortable as a bed...

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlbertaCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A M, General Manager at Pemberton Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

We appreciate the time you have taken to post your comments about the Lodge. We agree "the best place in Pemberton" describes us well; we are 1 of 3 hotels but certainly consider ourselves the leader in the community and the region. We strive to provide all the amenities and services of a big hotel, while maintaining the cozy comfort of a mountain lodge. We do offer larger suites with 2 separate bedrooms, each with their own queen bed that might be an option you would consider on your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in the Pemberton Valley Lodge and will definitely recommend it for anyone staying outside of Whistler.
We chose Pemberton since all the places in Whistler had a crazy cancellation policy for our dates (="no cancellations are possible within a MONTH before your stay". WTF Whistler?)
We had a 2 bedroom apartment with a fully equipped kitchen and an outside deck. The living room was nice and cozy, a couple of couches (one opened to a bed), an electric fireplace and a dinning table for 6. The apartment also had an in-suite laundry (which was a nice addition).
The apartment was well maintained, clean and nicely decorated and seemed perfect for 4 adults and 2 kids. The lodge has a secured underground parking with a few trolleys that were very useful for bringing our stuff to the apartment.
We had 2 little complaints about this lodge, though:
1. Our outside deck was completely frozen and full of snow. It was an interesting picture but kinda makes the whole deck unusable in the winter so we couldn't sit outside and enjoy the view while sipping a hot beverage...
2. The lodge has a pool which is open in the winter too, however from some reason it is located OUTSIDE the building. Obviously the kids didn't mind that but for us grown-ups it seemed like a strange design decision for a place with an average temperature of less than 10 deg C...
All in all, we enjoyed our stay in the lodge and will surely consider staying there again in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eran G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A M, General Manager at Pemberton Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay. We consider ourselves a relaxing, comfortable, affordable alternate to Whistler, this includes our cancellation policy of 48 hours. We have been very meticulous when appointing our suites to ensure our guests would have everything then need for a great stay.
Our pool and hot tub are situated outside, this is a highly sought after feature at most hotels in the region and in the Canadian mountain resorts, allowing guests to enjoy the breathtaking views both in winter and summer. Our pool deck is equipped with heat tracing that melts the snow for easy access to the pools. During the winter we don't find many guest want to sit outside, but for those that do we do have seating around the poolside fire pit.
We appreciated that you choose Pemberton Valley Lodge as your accommodation provider and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

My Son has lived in Whistler for over 5 years and anytime I come to visit I always stay at Pemberton Valley Lodge. I don't like the hustle and bustle of Whistler so Pemberton is a great quiet escape. The rooms have everything you need to make homemade meals. The lobby has a great atmosphere, and the staff here is excellent. It's the only place in Pemberton that has a hot tub and swimming pool, both of which are outdoors and have spectacular views of Mt.Currie. The rooms are always clean, and you can tell the staff care about their jobs as the attention to detail is impeccable. I strongly recommend Pemberton Valley Lodge for anyone wanting a relaxing stay outside Whistler. I will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A M, General Manager at Pemberton Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We boast a relaxing, comfortable alternative to Whistler with all the amenities and services a guest needs to enjoy a great stay. We will be sure to pass along your kudos to our staff. We appreciate that you have chosen to stay with us while visiting Whistler and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

After checking the pricey options in Whistler, we found this nice quiet hotel, although it is like 25 minutes away from Whistler is a good option for relax, it has underground parking, pool, sauna, gym and the staff is super-friendly. The room was cozy and very comfortable, it had a full kitchen with all needed things if you feel like cooking.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OscarIvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A M, General Manager at Pemberton Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

We appreciate the time you have taken to post your comments about Pemberton Valley Lodge. We do consider ourselves a quite, cozy alternate to Whistler. We fell that we offer great amenities, all of the charm and excellent value for your dollar, mid week and weekend. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pemberton
0.3 mi away
Pemberton Gateway Village Suites Hotel
15.6 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,780 reviews
17.5 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
1,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
15.5 mi away
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
#9 of 49 in Whistler
1,454 reviews
15.7 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#13 of 49 in Whistler
1,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pemberton Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pemberton Valley Lodge

Address: 1490 Sea to Sky Highway #99, Pemberton, British Columbia V0N 2L1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Pemberton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pemberton
Price Range: $134 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pemberton Valley Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Think of jaw dropping mountain views and a vast array of recreational activities and you'll begin to envision one of the most picturesque and invigorating areas in Canada, just 25 minutes north of Whistler. Surrounded by the Coast Mountains, Pemberton Valley is widely referred to as the Gateway to Adventure. It's the perfect recreational destination with snowmobiling, horseback riding, acclaimed golf, hiking and so much more. Pemberton Valley Lodge is a spacious all-suite hotel with personalized service - its urban style and comfort meets mountain adventure getaway. Choose from Studio, One & Two Bedroom Suites and relax after a long day of adventure beside your fireplace or in the outdoor pool and hot tub. You can experience it all at Pemberton Valley Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pemberton Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pemberton Valley Hotel Pemberton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing