We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“one of the best roads for motorcycle riders”
Review of Duffy Lake Road

Duffy Lake Road
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“one of the best roads for motorcycle riders”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Thw views are amazing. Much of the highway has been repaved. The first 20 kms west of Lillooet is need of repair, but they are paving some of it this year.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Larry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    17
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
198 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Scenic and Peaceful”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The road is windy and single lane the whole way. I did this on my motorcycle and loved the windy curves and desolate roadways. Cars are few and far between. The scenery is amazing. Mountainsides and peaks of different types. Snowy and harsh rock faces. Streams, small falls and lake views are plenty with a few good stop areas where you can take everything in.

I live in Vancouver and have visited Whistler often but never done this road. I was amazed we have such a jewel in our backyard and recommend it to anyone who loves nature and scenery and has the one hour to drive from Pemberton to Lillooet (including several stops).

There wasn't much information on this road but its very well maintained and easy to drive or ride.

Lillooet is a small town but makes a great lunch spot. I continued on from there but several other travelers turned and drove back after lunch.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Dhoom13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pemberton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Drive over Devide”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Fabulous Drive over Devide. Leave West coast marine (rain forest) Pass by high peaks & alpine lakes & enter semiarid Interior transistion to greater Sonoarn Desert with long needle pine. Road very narrow, almost no shoulders, what shoulders exist are not compacted.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank the_Inn_Keeper_Hwy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
273 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Scenic Adventure!”
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Loved this ride! Everyone said don't ride this road late in the day, it gets really dark & then you have to watch for deer. They were right. So we camped & left in the morning. Cold at night but beautiful. Never traveled in the winter & wouldn't want to. Great spring to fall drive or ride.

Helpful?
2 Thank kathykaplar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Alternate route to Lillooet, Cache Creek or round trip back to Whistler”
Reviewed February 8, 2012

I love this high road that takes you up and over the mountains from the western rainforest to the dry interior of BC as you descend into Lillooet. From there you can go on east to Cache Creek or, in the summer, hook back up to Bralorne and take the Hurley Pass back to Pemberton. This is a great road adventure. The road is gravel, but generally fine with a normal car if you watch your speed. Check conditions and give yourself enough time for a few stops for photos and picnics. Highlights include Duffy Lake, a couple of stops on the way down to Lillooet, Anderson Lake, Bralorne and the Hurly Pass.

Helpful?
6 Thank bhs_wpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duffy Lake Road also viewed

 
Pemberton, British Columbia
Pemberton, British Columbia
 

Been to Duffy Lake Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing