We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem in a mountain paradise!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pemberton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cottage B&B on Lillooet Lake
Ranked #3 of 8 Pemberton B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A real gem in a mountain paradise!”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

My partner and I have done a lot of traveling around the world and this b&b experience tops my list! A short drive off the beaten path leads you to an extraordinary location right on the lake. We were invited to enjoy the beautiful 70ft dock, built with a tidal style bridge an beautiful upper level seating area where we watched the sunset track right across the lake! We took advantage of the canoe and kayaks and heard there's some decent fishing around too. The sun was shining and it was great that there were no bugs. We ate a spread of delicious hot cereal, fresh fruit, yogurt and poached eggs for breakfast. Martha and Andy were very warm and friendly hosts and we can't wait to come back !

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haloseija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    9
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
30
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

To start with, the location is stunning - right on the lake, with amazing views from the dock. We are glad to have enjoyed it. It is a great place to visit, in spite of a rough road leading to it.

The B&B itself is far from perfect, and can better suit families or friends interested in renting both rooms on offer. There is a big cosy living room with sofas (which also includes a kitchen), that serves both rooms and offers great views on the gorgeous lake.

The rooms themselves, though, are small. One of the rooms has no windows at all - a very strange and bad choice for such a location, The hostess advised us to keep the door open at night in order to get some air. That was possible only because there were no guests in the other room that night. If there were strangers there, we would have been forced to be closed in the room without window. It must be said it was strange we were not offered the other room, which goes at the same price, and does have a window - even though it is overlooking a stone wall and not the lake.

The breakfast was below average by the Canadian B&B standards. It mostly included the four grains porridge, which is probably extraordinary as the hostess claims it to be - she just forgot to ask me if I like porridge. The poached eggs were eatable, and the fruit salad was good.

On the day of our stay, the place was absolutely swarming in mosquitoes. The hostess said it only happens for two weeks in a year (during July), and specifically asked us not to mention the mosquitos at all on Tripadvisor - but did urge us several times to write a review here.

So here it is. While it is possible that the mosquitoes are indeed not there most of the time, the unfortunate guests who do meet them are bitten mercilessly. Luckily, the mosquitoes were not very fond of the dock, so the best part of our stay wasn't ruined. It is great to watch the stars there at night.

P.S. Expect sudden electricity shutout in the morning because the generator becomes empty during the night. The hostess thinks it's ok, and there is no need to warn the guests about it, or even to apologize for the inconvenice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DownPatrickHead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Fantastic place. Off the beaten track you get to explore the calmness of nature. Great host and the best location for relaxing. Remember to bring your own food for dinner. Breakfast is included in the price. Recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williams Lake, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Martha and Andrew have been wonderful hosts. Peace and tranquillity are in abundance at The Cottage. Martha has elevated breakfast to an art form. Take your own dinner and just drink in the views while the humming birds perform their aerial acrobatics. Must return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We had a great weekend here at this beautiful and peaceful place. The house is literally on the lake with amazing views all around. We were there in low season and were lucky as we had the whole downstairs (including kitchen and living room) to ourselves and didn't share it with another couple. The en suite room was clean and comfortable, a filling breakfast was served upstairs and we made our own dinner in the downstairs kitchen.

We had our mountain bikes with us and hit the treks just outside of Pemberton. Afterwards we had a nice drink at the Pemberton golf course with stunning views of the mountains.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lotta Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed there for 3 nights, and it was very difficult to leave! From the stunning scenery, the tranquility and being so immersed in nature...was truly spellbinding for a city-slicker like me! The hosts are such lovely people, and the breakfasts are legendary! We used it as a base to explore the local area, and for the couple of days in Whistler for some snowboarding. We were lucky with the weather (early April) and got to spend an afternoon on the lake in the canoe, watching the sunset, sipping on a chilled Chardonnay....Bliss! There is a fully equipped kitchen to whip up some gourmet dishes, and the view from the kitchen is so good...you might just forget about the cooking! The room was clean and functional, while the bed was super comfy. Take some books and games, sit on the deck, and forget about all your worries...

Room Tip: One room has a double bed and an additional single bed, and the other just has a double. Both rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blaine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

You have to drive some 7km on a gravel road (narrow at times and some visibility issues at some turns). But it's well worth it. The cottage is right on the lake, which is surrounded by mountains. Beautiful views from sunrise to sunset. See everything even better by taking the complementary kayaks (only singles) out on the water. Really comfy lounge chairs on the patio and on the dock, perfect for sun bathing or stargazing (great to be there when there's a meteor shower). Big kitchen and living area shared between two guest rooms on the lower level: you get the views even while cooking or relaxing on the couch. Also, the cottage is off the grid.

If you're a mosquito magnet make sure to bring repellant. But there are no mosquitos down on the dock, only around the house.

Friendly hosts, Martha even gave me some plant cuttings before we left!

If you have a car with good suspensions (we didn't), supposedly you can drive another 40km or so south on the gravel road to a National Historic Site of Canada (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Church_of_the_Holy_Cross,_Skatin) and some hot springs (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Skookumchuck_Hot_Springs,_British_Columbia), both of which are on an Indian Reserve.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sosonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pemberton
13.0 mi away
Pemberton Valley Lodge
Pemberton Valley Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pemberton
429 reviews
13.3 mi away
Pemberton Gateway Village Suites Hotel
24.2 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
1,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler
22.1 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,613 reviews
22.2 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#13 of 49 in Whistler
1,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage B&B on Lillooet Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage B&B on Lillooet Lake

Property: The Cottage B&B on Lillooet Lake
Address: 24 Lillooet Lake Estates | Mount Currie, Pemberton, British Columbia V0N 2K0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Pemberton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pemberton
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing