We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stupendous”

Fourquet Fourchette
Ranked #7 of 43 Restaurants in Chambly
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Stupendous”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

In so many ways the best all around place to enjoy local products prepared in a professional and thoughtful way. It is bar none one of the best meals we enjoyed. Perfectly seasoned and the sauces were out of this world. So hard to get perfect sauces these days. I almost went for the gusto to lick my plate but was stopped just in time. The terrace where we dined is expansive and magical with great views and the sunset behind the church. A must experience.

The reasons this did not get a perfect 5... The soup while delicious could have been warmer.. The service was a little spotty and a tad slow. But I would overlook these to dine again at this fabulous establishment.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yvestgrenier59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    67
    22
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Nice view and very good food on the terrasse”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We ( a group of six) ate for lunch on the terrasse of this restaurant. Good variety on the 'a la carte menu'. Everything was very good. There is a soup & salad bar included.

It is situated just near the Bassin de Chambly, beside the Fort Chambly and a cycling path.

Very good experience !

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DanSer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
251 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Wonderful View, Above average food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Been there a few times, always in a business environment. The staff is very discreet, but always present and always at your service. The food is good, appetizing and usually well presented. Great place to bring clients after a morinig meeting or conference

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dumos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We were invited to join another couple for their wedding anniversary. We had no idea what to expect, but knew they tried to make it back there every year. We were not disapointed.
A very unique atmosphere, with a strong French Canadian style. This is not a quick meal kind of place. You should get that impression the second you walk in. It's loud, and busy with a wide variety of clientel. The patrons wore everything from suits, to jeans and t-shirts. As odd as that sounds, it worked. We were seated by a very friendly staff member who came back to our table several times to check in on us throughout the evening. Our waitress was very pleasant and offered a very detailed knowledge of their drink menu. They serve almost a complete list of Unibroue products for the Craft Beer lovers. But they also make several beer cocktails, the Blanche Chambly with orange juice was fantastic.
While you await your meal, you are continuously entertained by a man who circulates throughout the restaurant singing traditional french songs, and several "chanson a repondre". Whether or not you are french wouldn't matter. It's hard not to get caught up in the songs. Great fun.
The meal was great for all of us. My understanding is that the main courses are all made with the Unibroue beer, to some extent or another. Do not let that scare you away. If they didn't tell you, you wouldn't know it. But as great as our main meal was, it was our appetizers that truely took the show. We had the most AMAZING french onion soup we've ever had. I'm not sure how they cook it, but it was incredible. I almost cancelled my meal and ordered two more soups. Sounds odd I know, but you will understand when you try it. :)
Overall a great experience, and topped off with a stroll through a very nice park along the old Fort Chambly. What a beautiful place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffnCher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

I have been many times and it is always excellent! The food choice is broad and the service very friendly. The brunch is also very good with much to eat. The view is gorgeous as always. Best restaurant around!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Virginie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fourquet Fourchette also viewed

 

Been to Fourquet Fourchette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing