We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Ice Cream Experience”

MacKay's Cochrane Ice Cream Ltd
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Cochrane
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Calgary
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best Ice Cream Experience”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

MacKay's has been consistently good for the 40 years that I have gone here. The line ups outside the door on a warm day testify to its popularity. The flavours are rich and authentic. You won't be disappointed... They have history.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank CalgaryMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    73
    31
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ice cream is full of artificial flavors and colors”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

The idea of visiting an ice cream shop and enjoying a relaxing walk through a quaint downtown window shopping and licking your treat is wonderful. This shop falls short because none of their selections are free of artificial flavors and artificial colors. For the price I would like to sample an artisan creation made with real fruit and real cream, real chocolate, real vanilla, etc. Skip the storefront and make ice cream at home.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“So many flavors. Can afford so few visits.”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

When you decide it is time for a special treat, a drive to Cochrane for a cone should be top of your list! So many flavors - including a couple of feature that, while personally sounding foul to me, were intriguing.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kathy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern New Jersey
Level Contributor
62 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“MacKay's Ice Cream is a delight”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Our family took us to MacKay's for ice cream during our recent trip to Calgary and are we sure glad they did.

McKay's has a large variety of some very interesting flavors. I had their Cherry Custard which was a mixture of delicious yellow custard and bing cherries. It was outstanding.

They also had Tiger which was a mixture of black licorice and orange ice cream. This seemed to be a favorite of our family members so I am sure it's worth a try. Also on the menu were such flavors as Skor, butter brickle, mango, chocolate hazelnut, etc.

To top it all off the portions are very generous and the staff is very friendly. Make sure to put a pin on the corkboard map of the world to show where you're from...if you can find space because it is a very popular place. A must try treat.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CBlacklake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Icecream a little Pricey”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Wonderful day trip from Calgary. Cochrane is a wonderful little town..But the ice cream in my option is overpriced.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank flintstone859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MacKay's Cochrane Ice Cream Ltd also viewed

 

Been to MacKay's Cochrane Ice Cream Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing