We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely the best choice”
Review of Ramada Cochrane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ramada Cochrane
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cochrane
Regina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Definitely the best choice”
Reviewed September 28, 2011

We picked Super 8 because we use the chain often and because it had the best price of the ones with decent reviews. Front desk was very friendly and helpful, the pool area looked great but we didn't have time to use it, breakfast looked good, too, but we didn't get up in time. Bed was comfy, temperature easy to control. Good location, good amenities. I really don't have any complaints and would use it again when going to the Banff area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane_S8, General Manager at Ramada Cochrane, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Thank you for your review.

We definitely need to host you again the next time you are in town so you have a chance to try the pool and the breakfast! You mentioned that you travel to Banff, and Cochrane is a great choice because we're not too far away, and you're still close enough to Calgary to explore there.

Again, thank you for taking the time to write your review, and let us know when you're on your way!

Laura Sheppard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    134
    110
    55
    29
See reviews for
262
46
12
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

We've stayed many times at the Super 8 in Cochrane Alberta. It's always been a pleasant stay. This time was no exception. We found it is now owned by Canalta Hotels. Still the same very good hotel, and the free continental breakfast has been upgraded with scrambled eggs and english muffins. The quality of the rooms and the building itself are generally superb. The staff were friendly and professional and went out of their way to be accomodating.
This time however the room smelt a bit stale and the carpet had a stain on it. I was assured by the staff that these small issues will be dealt with. The beds were very comfortable and no worries about bugs etc with Super8 or Canalta.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xmitr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane_S8, General Manager at Ramada Cochrane, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Thank you for your review.

We always endeavor to have our hotel feel like your home away from home, and I love getting feedback from people who have stayed with us. I don't like to let anyone go hungry, so we added the scrambled eggs and so on. Again, it's just like home, even with the cookies to snack on!

You did mention the carpets, and we are looking to replace them in the near future. Just that small change always helps freshen the room. We take pride in our surroundings and the building, and want everything to look as super as it can.

I appreciate the time you've taken to write this review for us, and I', looking forward to welcoming you back to Cochrane the next time you're here.

Laura Sheppard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We chose the hotel due to its good location on our way to the Rockies. Excellent stay, comfortable hotel, very friendly staff, good service, kids enjoyed the pool. For a family of 6 like our's it was also very good value for money! We didn't know Super 8 prior to our holiday and will remember it for the future. Only critical remark: maybe they will review their breakfast policy of throw-away cutlery and crockery and turn greener?

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanne68_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane_S8, General Manager at Ramada Cochrane, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Thank you so much for your review.

I appreciate the time you've taken to post your thoughts about the hotel. We definitely love having families stay with us, and larger families are able to take advantage of the rooms with three beds! It definitely helps with the budget.

In regards to your suggestion for the breakfast dishes, we have since switched to biodegrable bowls, and are looking into biodegradable utensils too. We want to be as green as possible!

Again, thank you for your comments, and we'll see you the next time you head through!

Laura Sheppard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed for 4 nights as part of a huge wedding weekend. We found the front desk evening staff to be very rude, non helpful, and basically nasty to family members and the kids. The reservations were messed up upon arrival. One of the rooms had been smoked in by a previous guest and a family member was forced to stay in this room as the front desk would not help in finding a fresh room. The overall cleanliness was below acceptable levels even for a super 8. As a group of 25 persons, we were all very disgusted with this hotel and will never return here. I would recommend the Best Western or Days Inn across the street as we have stayed at both and found them to be much better for families.

Room Tip: Try the Best Western across the street, Much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kr w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane_S8, General Manager at Ramada Cochrane, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Hello and thank you for your review.

I'm sorry that your stay was anything less than pleasant while at the Cochrane Super 8. We do endeavour to offer a clean and friendly stay to every guest.

On rare occasions, there are still some travellers who will smoke in our smoke-free rooms despite our best efforts and strict smoking fees. If we were unable to move your family member, it means that the hotel was full at the time, and we didn't have any other rooms to offer, as we do move any guests who have sensitivities to cigarette smoke whenever possible.

I would like to discuss the customer service provided to you during your stay. I wish to present your issues during our next staff training to ensure that both housekeeping and front desk are aware of what occurred, and how we can prevent any issues the next time.

Your comments are extrememly important to me. Please contact me through email or phone with your comments and suggestions. We do hope to see you again in the future.

Laura Sheppard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cochrane hotels

Palmyra, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2011

We were in Cochrane to visit family and based our hotel choice on previous reviews. Super 8 Cochrane far exceeded our expectations. We loved that we had the outside access right to our car from our room, as well as the usual access within motel. The coffee and hot tea was always available and delicious. The breakfast bar was plentiful and had an excellent variety. My husband and I are committed exercisers and found their fitness center spacious, well air conditioned and clean with a large water cooler close at hand. The pool area was a fantastic place to entertain our family. The staff was friendly and met any of our requests with a smile and prompt action. Return trips to Cochrane will find us back at the Super 8!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreddyFriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane_S8, General Manager at Ramada Cochrane, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Hello and thank you for your review!

I'm very glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay at the Cochrane Super 8. It's always great to hear that the hotel has something for everyone in the family. Please let me know if you have any suggestions for improvement for your next stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back again! We'll keep the coffee hot and the waterslide fast until then!

Laura Sheppard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Canada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

the super 8 in cochrane is the best place to stay. everyone on staff is helpful and happy they take time to talk to you .this is a great place to stay. its close to calaway park, banff, kananaskis ,calgary and bragg creek . they always had cookies ,hotdogs or popcorn handy to snack on for the family. it is a great place to come . the staff is very friendly and helpful. this is the best place to stay . great for everyone. the rooms are always fresh and clean. we love the super 8

Room Tip: everything is fresh and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dragonflysparkles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane_S8, General Manager at Ramada Cochrane, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Hello and thank you for your review!

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Cochrane Super 8, and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the future. We'll be sure to have the cookies and popcorn ready!

Please let me know if you have any suggestions for improvement for your next stay.

Laura Sheppard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We stayed at the hotel in early July and our decision was based on the reviews we read. The hotel is near to lots of restaurants. We chose a family suite with a king bed and bunk beds for the kids. The pool was very large and the kids loved the water slide. The room was clean, the bed was confortable and the room was quiet as we at the end of a hall. The front desk staff was helpful and they offered hot dogs one evening which was nice to have after a long drive. The breakfast was OK, but nice to see that they offered preprocessed eggs and either sausage or bacon. The only downside was the ladder to the bunk bed was cracked at the top and we mentioned to the front desk that it needed attention. If we were back in Cochrane, we'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcajmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane_S8, Manager at Ramada Cochrane, responded to this review, July 13, 2011
Hello!

I'd like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind words in your review. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay. We always love to get feedback from our travellers, as we are always looking for ways to improve.

The bunkbed rooms are usually favorites for families staying with us, and we have taken care of that ladder. Thank you again for letting me know about it!

Please don't hesitate to stop by the next time you are travelling through Cochrane. We'd love to welcome you back.

Laura Sheppard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cochrane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Calgary
Wingate by Wyndham Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
Wyndham Garden Calgary Airport
Northwest Calgary
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
#42 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Cochrane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Cochrane

Property: Ramada Cochrane
Address: 10 Westside Dr, Cochrane, Alberta T4C 1M1, Canada (Formerly Super 8 Motel Cochrane)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Cochrane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cochrane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ramada Cochrane 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Cochrane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel Cochrane Hotel Cochrane
Super 8 Cochrane
Super Eight Cochrane
Cochrane Super Eight
Cochrane Super 8
Ramada Cochrane Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing