We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great day-hike, stunning views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cypress Provincial Park

Cypress Provincial Park
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Just minutes from downtown Vancouver, this mountainous park offers a variety of forested hiking trails as well as panoramic views over Vancouver.
Marburg, Germany
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great day-hike, stunning views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We went on a glorious sunny day in mid-July for a day-hike to Eagle Bluffs, just after Black Mountain. Start from the last parking lot in the park. The first stretch up a gravelly path along the ski lift was a little dusty but some of the glimpses of the mountain views already impressive. Take a dip in Cabin Lake, enjoy the views of the Lions. Then continue to Eagle Bluff for a fine picnic. The views of Vancouver, Bowen Island and Vancouver Island on a clear day were amazing.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chickaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    17
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Snow with a View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

The views as you travel up toward the mountain and down again are beautiful and we really enjoyed the snowshoeing.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Moronnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pitt Meadows, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
161 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Fabulous location for sunset's city lights”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Cypress is one of those 'local gems'. You can drive to the top of Cypress (or near the top, rather) and get the most spectacular view of Vancouver, Stanley Park, the Lions Gate Bridge and more! On a clear day, you can see Mt. Baker, a dormant volcanic mountain in Washington state and many of the gulf islands.

We went at sunset to see the sun go down, although it sets a little past the mountain's edge, so we didn't see that but did get a spectacular view of the city lights. Bring a blanket if you've spent the day in the sun, as it's a few degrees cooler up top and our July trip brought us a few mosquitos and other mountain bugs, but nothing to send us away.

While there are a few viewpoints, the first one is by far the best, so if you make the trip last minute, don't waste your time going beyond the first viewpoint as it is where you need to be for photographic moments.

We didn't go for any hikes that day, as we tacked Cypress Mountain on to a full day of hiking in Lynn Canyon, but there are several hikes that are worth doing - just look for reviews from more recent hikers to find out what the best is for your time of year. If you are interested in other mountain activities, check out the Cypress Mountain website, and not the Parks site I have listed here. I'm only reviewing the sunset and not the hikes or other mountain outlets. While we were there hosting family from out of town, there were business people showing their clients the view as well as couples and friends - a great spot for many occasions.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“good compact snow”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

ideal for winter skiing. ski areas are both good for alpine and cross country skiing or if you're a beginner skier. Watch out for when there's snow storm. very hard to drive up. must use 4 wheel drive.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank clarionsite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond BC Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best view of Vancouver”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Go there for the best view of the city of Vancouver. There is a lookout car park half way up the mountain.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cypress Provincial Park also viewed

North Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Squamish, British Columbia
 

Been to Cypress Provincial Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing