We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hippy Chic” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Besidka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Besidka
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Slavonice
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Hippy Chic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

This was a tale of two halves for me.

This is quite a "funky" kind of place, whose recent history appears to be rooted in hippy land. Certainly the room I was in was a bit wacky - part-painted Orange. All the rooms are individual, are clean and comfortable, although the room I stayed in - Mr Koutak (all the rooms are named after their original owners apparently) - seemed to have very little in the way of wardrobe area, or drawers to put clothes away, except for a small hanging rail, despite it being a double plus two singles.
I ate here on one of my two nights in the town. There's a huge selection to choose from - and if the rest of the food was as nice as my own choice, there's almost no need to eat anywhere else. Plus side / down side was that a local band of musicians were playing their own inimitable style of muzak whilst I dined. Not sure if they were practicing or playing !! All part of the experience in my view.
The hotel is just off the main square of the town - a real gem of a place, off the beaten track - and the room was VERY QUIET.
Staff were friendly and helpful and was very impressed by their English, as this may not be the 1st foreign language spoken by them due to the town's proximity to the Austrain border.

But like many Czech hotels, my room had no curtains, and so light streamed in from 5.30am, in the height of summer this would be more like 3.30-4.00am.
The adverse side was breakfast in the morning. Arriving at 8.00am isn't late but it seemed that no-one was around until I prompted the cleaner / chef to call someone who came to the hotel. This happened both mornings. My suggestion would be to have a late breakfast (after 9am) and take your own blackout blinds - and then enjoy.

Other than these last two "gripes", I'd certainly recommend the place to any visitor to this part of Southern Bohemia

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
5
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

The house is located in the centre of historic small town Slavonice. It dates back to the 14th century and the facade is decorated by sgraffiti from the 16th century. In 1988, the abandoned house was bought by seven people from the legendary theatre Sklep and later turned into a hotel (it is named after its famous show). It was reconstructed at the beginning of 21st century and received some architectural prizes. There are 8 rooms named after the original owners. Each of them has a different design somehow connected with the patron. There is a nice and lively restaurant. The food was very nice but the service could have been better. (Two waitresses were not enough.) You can decorate your own cup or print on a T-shirt in the adjacent workshop.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bubolupus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2011

Besidka was simply perfection! The food was delicious, the staff friendly and helpful and the rooms were a real experience. Each room is designed in a special style. The rooms are absolutely great! Comfortable, imaginatively and creatively done. The hotel is clean and newly refurbished. This place is not just hotel or a restaurant, it is a true experience to visit Besidka and Slavonice itself! If you're looking for something special this is it! One of the best hotels I've ever visited... and I travel a lot!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Tobias2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2010

Besidka is a Hotel/Restaurant combination in Slavonice, CZ, and the best design/art hotel place I have staid in during any trip through the Czech Republic - a real gem. The rooms are clean and everything is designed in a very individual way - just beautiful. Nothing like a big hotel chain. Slavonice is also a great place to visit - beautiful little city.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmarinschek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Slavonice
6.4 mi away
Motel Dacice
Motel Dacice
#1 of 1 in Dacice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel U Ruze
Hotel U Ruze
#1 of 6 in Slavonice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arkada
Hotel Arkada
#2 of 6 in Slavonice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Apartmany pod Vezi
Apartmany pod Vezi
#1 of 3 in Slavonice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
19.3 mi away
Resort Svata Katerina
Resort Svata Katerina
#1 of 1 in Pocatky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rodinny penzion Kunc
Rodinny penzion Kunc
#2 of 2 in Slavonice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Besidka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Besidka

Property: Besidka
Address: Horni namesti 522, Slavonice 378 81, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Slavonice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Slavonice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Besidka 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Besidka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing