We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting stop, but not much”

Canadian Potato Museum
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in O'Leary
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Didsbury, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Interesting stop, but not much”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stopped here to see the World's Biggest Potato and decided to visit the museum. The museum is very basic and has some interesting bits of information, but is quite dull. You might get a good laugh out of it (the diseased potato exhibit shows various potatoes in caskets explaining the disease) but not much else. There is a gift shop on site that I think is one of the most expensive I've been in. Worthwhile stop for a photo with the potato since it's close to the highway, but not much else.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    59
    28
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vegreville Alberta
Level Contributor
443 reviews
144 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Interesting visit to see the history of the local potato industry”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

This museum is a real good education on the history of the potato farming industry. It has many fen artifacts, great stories, along with many displays. You will get to see the olden day machines used to cultivate the potatoes, the many different types of potatoes being grown, the different types of disease that affect their growth. The museum also carries a wing which has some of the Town's historical information and displays which Is very interesting. You can top this of with a visit to the museums restaurant which serves up many fine goodies made from potatoes. All in all interesting stop.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank firechief-JL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
256 reviews
110 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
“Surprisingly impressive!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stopped here because we wanted a photo in front of the giant potato, that was it that was all. But curiousity got the best of us and we went inside. There was a nominal entrance fee, which we were hesitant to pay - after all, how much could you learn about potatoes?!? But, again, curiousity got the best of us, and in we went.

I must say, we were pleasantly surprised! The kids enjoyed the sandbox full of farm vehicles to drive around, and some of the old artifacts in the museum, but the adults loved reading all about potatoes, the history, statistics, varieties, etc.! And the artifacts were incredible to browse through.

Had we been there without kids, we could have spent far more time in the museum reading and learning. With kids, you're a little more pressed to move through at a faster pace.

Once back outside, the museum also has some buildings that were brought to the site which are neat to see. An old church, schoolhouse, and switchboard house, as well as a playground for the kids.

If you're in the area, it's worth the stop!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Trillium_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bud the Spud would be proud”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Excellent museum about the potato and the town of Oleary. History of the potato, types of potatoes, farming techniques, etc. Gift shop and friendly knowledgeable staff. Restaurant with samples of potato ice cream, fudge and also lobster chips.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank grover_777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerside, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Interesting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

Nice display of antique equipment. Surprisingly interesting. Worth stopping into

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canadian Potato Museum also viewed

Wellington, Prince Edward Island
West Point, Prince Edward Island
 
West Point, Prince Edward Island
Cavendish, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to Canadian Potato Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing