We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“That 70's Hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Mill River Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mill River Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in O'Leary
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“That 70's Hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

Another reviewer hit the nail on the head - Rodd seems to be letting this place go. As you walk through the entrance, make sure not to trip on the broken terra cotta tiles. Once inside, you may detect the scent of 30 year old musty carpet and the buzz of dehumidifiers. My room had a view of shingles that had well exceeded their 25 year lifespan. The fish and chips featured frozen, thawed, re-frozen and re-thawed fish with a distinctly mushy mouth feel. Would not recommend staying or eating here. The golf course is nice, but shabby compared to the Rodd courses on the East side of the island. I can only imagine what the Big Break contestants thought - good thing it wasn't featured on the show.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PieroDellaFrancesca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    62
    45
    14
    9
See reviews for
86
56
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

Nice facility, beds were very comfortable, check in and check out were easy. Employees were very pleasant. My food was good, but my companions steak was over cooked. But the rest of the dinner was good. Would go back there anytime. Central location for what we want to do and see.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank capecodnative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

We stayed 2nights and found it lovely. The staff was very friendly and accommodating - from the front desk to the golf shop to the pool/aquaplex facility to the restaurant. Overall the resort needs some upgrading ,especially as regards the bike trail info.We hired bikes (cheaply) and although the bikes were not well kept,the helpful staff made up for it. We played tennis and enjoyed the indoor pool. The golf was great in that we are a family of 4,beginners and were able to play 3 holes of golf for free ,all equipment provided!! There was no pressure to book tee off times and we could play as much as we wanted (i.e. 3 holes over and over).The restaurant was great value and good .
It was a lovely stay and we would be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wolflore53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
166 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2010

We stayed here in July 2010. We had read the reviews and thought it would be a great place to stay.

The problem we had were the bugs flying around in the room and one morning, I woke up to my wife screaming as a bug had been crawling on her body in her bed. We don't know if this is a seasonal issue or hotel issue.

We mentioned this to a staff member during breakfast and she spoke to management and told us it could be that because we were on the ground floor, it would have more bugs. Breakfast was very good, my wife order waffles and I had their buffet, stuffing myself to the gills. It had a good variety and the food was of good quality.

The staff were nice enough to move us into a different room, but alas, bugs were still there and I ended up killing three that were flying around before we went to sleep. No screaming wife the second morning.

The staff were very friendly and accommodating.

We didn't get to use the amenities as we were there mostly to sleep. The internet service was reliable and relatively fast.

We would stay there again if invited to do so. It seemed more business oriented and for golfers as there was a golf course on site.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank easyHwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2010

Twenty-seven of us enjoyed a week at this lovely resort hotel in the western part of PEI, a quiet part of the province close to beautiful beaches. Facilities, from the rooms to the indoor pool with waterslide to the restaurant to the golf course, were all excellent. Staff, including those at the front desk, in the restaurant and in housekeeping, were courteous, helpful and very friendly. We would definitely recommend a stay at the Rodd Mill River Resort and hope to go back ourselves!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dlbates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2010

I fondly remember staying at the Rodd during a childhood vacation. My most recent visit brought back many fond memories! The staff was exceptional and the grounds were absolutely lovely. I will definitely return to Mill River in the future!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katievance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJ
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2010

I had the most wonderful stay at the Rodd Mill River. The staff was so friendly and welcomed us with smiles on their faces. The grounds are beautifully manicured, the view fantastic! I found the hotel to be clean and my room was very comfortable. I cannot imagine choosing to stay anyplace else on my next visit to the Island.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GabSwanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near O'Leary
57.1 mi away
Super 8 Charlottetown PE
6.9 mi away
Rollo Bay Inn
Rollo Bay Inn
#1 of 2 in Souris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
5.9 mi away
Briarwood Inn
Briarwood Inn
#3 of 4 in Alberton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill River Resort

Property: Mill River Resort
Address: 180 Mill Rd | Route 136, O'Leary, Prince Edward Island C0B 1V0, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > O'Leary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in O'Leary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill River Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TravelClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mill River Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodd Mill River Hotel Oleary
Mill River Resort Canada/Prince Edward Island - O'Leary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing