We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Surrey
Post
Inbox
Search

“Decent Chinese food, good service.”

Golden Lion Restaurant
Ranked #514 of 1,105 Restaurants in Surrey
Neighborhood: South Surrey
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: South Surrey
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Ordered 4 dishes for take out. Decent Chinese food. Portions are a bit small. Way better service than KW gardens across the street. Will come back.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank yvralohagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (35)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 43 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2020

Yes, we visited New Year's eve. It was busy with a lot of patrons and take-out. The food was adequate, except for the sweet and sour pork spareribs. Seems to be a lot of dough and not enough pork in the actual spareribs. The garlic beef was great! Most of the dishes came out warm at best, not piping hot. it's understandable, at it was NYE. I will be trying out other restaurants to find one that is above average.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mauimar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2019

We have ordered take out from Golden Lion for years. Recently, we have had problems. Our order was wrong (wrong sauce with lemon chicken) on one occassion. We brushed it off as being an off night and didn't complain. Then on the last two visits, the food was not ready when promised. We were told 45 minutes. Arrived after 40 mins, leaving time to pay before we picked up the food. The server said it would be 10 more minutes. After 10 min, were told 5 more..and this went on for 45 mins. Unacceptable service. If you are running late, please be honest about it.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank snorkler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2019

Patrons should be aware that it is not possible to access the Golden Lion Restaurant while travelling north on King George Boulevard because of the median. We're always in the market for a new and exciting place to enjoy a repast. Our friend Al suggested the Golden Lion mentioning that the meals are satisfying however are more geared to patrons not accustomed to more traditional Chinese fare. We discovered Connie (our server) was very helpful and courteous. Also mentioned was that delivery at times takes as long as an hour and a half and that if one picks up the order there is a 10% discount. The dining room is roomy with ample space between the tables however there are no large round tables for larger groups.

Date of visit: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Renegade225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2019

Need a feed of real good Chinese Food, try Golden Lion on King George Blvd in South Surrey BC. Recommended by a local who has eaten there for years.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Martin F L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Lion Restaurant also viewed

Surrey, British Columbia
 
White Rock, British Columbia
White Rock, British Columbia
 
White Rock, British Columbia
White Rock, British Columbia
 

Been to Golden Lion Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing