We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing and expensive.”

Central City Brewing Co.
Ranked #119 of 838 Restaurants in Surrey
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Whalley
Cross street: City Parkway
Transit: Surrey Central Sky train and Bus Station
Description: With Brewmaster, Gary Lohin and his passion and knowledge for the art of craft beer, Central City Brewing Co is recognized as the 'Best Brewery' in Canada. (Canadian Brewing Awards, 2010) Pair the beer with Chef Carl Swatsky's devotion for using local and fresh ingredients and you'll find that we provide you with a dining experience unlike any other. In the heart of Surrey's Central City, this is The Place to have a beer, watch the game and enjoy some dinner with friends and family in a warm, inviting atmosphere!
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very disappointing and expensive.”
Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

We found the menu somewhat limited, they didn,t have any of our usual favorites which you usually see at a pub like quesidillas , chef , Cobb or taco salads. They wouldn't,t get our money gain.

Helpful?
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    31
    21
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always satisfied ... Beer and bacon!”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Food and service never disappoint! Pasta and bread homemade everyday. Can never go wrong with one of their pizzas and the cous cous salad big thumbs up! they have 4 desserts and 4 way tie for me on what takes 1st!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rachel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“The IPA is worth the trip”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We have been patronizing this establishment since day 1 - everytime we come west every other year. The beers are fabulous, especially if one is into Hops. I am. Service has always been very friendly and accommodating. On this lunch visit, I was craving a grilled salmon (this is BC) sandwich which wasn't on the menu. "No problem" said our waitress...and it was great. My wife had a West Coast Salad, a pile of mixed greens with a slab of grilled salmon on top. Good stuff. Yes, they do have the usual pub grub, but it is definitely a cut above what I have usually had in most pubs, and better than several "gastropubs" we have visited.

The atmosphere is slick and inviting. No loud pounding music, comfy seating, and civilized clientele whenever we've visited.

But it's not the food that gets the rating. Red Racer IPA...on tap...enough said.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mmkwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Below average food and beverages”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Been here twice. Wont go again. Home brew beer has the same nasty aftertaste as other Micro wanna be brewers. Makes people feel special that they don't drink main stream beers, but other than that they are very unremarkable.
Food menu is glorified Pub fair. Not many main courses. If you want wings and burgers with beer that tastes like everyone else who does not want to taste like everyone else, then give it a shot.
If you want a good selection of mains, prepared well, then go somewhere else. The food here is unmemorable. Except when it is bad. That is why I remember it.

Layout is good. Too bad the food and beverages don't match it.
Very clean. Cavernous feeling. Staff were friendly and inviting. Service was just OK. No effort to address deficiencies.

Left a bad taste in my mouth...like their beer does.

There are so many other good places to eat, there is no need to waste you time stopping here. Way better Pubs with better food and beer. Way better Restaurants with better main selections.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leavethesn0wbehind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortlandt Manor
Level 6 Contributor
402 reviews
289 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the IPA at CCBC”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Have dined at CCBC for lunch many times. Enjoyed the IPA.

For simple lunch and good value, spinich salad with shrimp is always good.

Friendly staff, and always very accomodative of our groups of 10 and 12

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AisleSeat01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central City Brewing Co. also viewed

 
Surrey, British Columbia
Surrey, British Columbia
 

Been to Central City Brewing Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing