We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your typical Sheraton”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Vancouver Guildford Hotel
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Surrey
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We were a family of 4 - stayed here for 2 days on a weekend just recently. I am quite disappointed as the staff was pretty friendly in the past, but somehow the weekend that we were there, the hotel was busy with tourists. So the staff was not helpful at all. I didn't get the sense that they are courteous, lively. Instead, I got a straight-faced, business-like demeanor. Our booking says complimentary breakfast, but when we checked in, we were provided with complimentary breakfast for 2 only. Their breakfast was overpriced, and it says "full breakfast buffet." However, for the price of $19.95 per person, it was not a full breakfast buffet spread at all. I paid $30 for my 2 kids, money I could have spent elsewhere with better choices. The room and the hallway are not your typical Sheraton. Boring, dull. The beds were what keeps me coming back because they are comfy. The location is good because it is close to Highway 1, and all the shopping and restaurants. We ended up having dinner and breakfast at nearby restaurants. I'm surprised that a review from Dalvir says "free parking." I paid $9 a day for ours. Overall, it's just an ordinary hotel. Also, we didn't get a refrigerator. Now I know you'd have to ask for one when you book.

I'd like to pay for the experience - sorry but I didn't get it here this time.

Room Tip: Make sure to spend your green dollars while you are there. Otherwise, it's useless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SweetnessinSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Director of Sales at Sheraton Vancouver Guildford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thanks for your detailed review. The hotel offers many different rates, at different times and not all have the same inclusions. Sorry about the miscommunication regarding the breakfast, complimentary breakfast is only offered to the number of registered occupants in the room.


Ryan Matheson
Director of Sales & Marketing
Sheraton Guildford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (453)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

303 - 309 of 453 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel is good. Rooms are nice and very clean. That is important to us. The pillows are not great so take your own. All rooms do NOT have fridges so if you want a fridge, request a room with one. Only the corner rooms have fridges. We were not told this so found out the hard way and then were told all those rooms were taken!! Underground parking is an extra charge and Internet is an extra charge plus they add tax so the parking is $9.00 extra a night.
Also, I like to read a bit before turning out the light. I found the light switch too high to reach so had to get out of bed to reach it. Rather annoying.
Found it really noisy in the morning with people slamming doors and talking in the hall.
However, these things may not annoy everyone. The big thing with this hotel is that it is clean and the staff is very friendly. It is in a good location to the freeway and Guildford Mall is very close. There is a restaurant in the hotel, but if you don't want to always go there then there are several nearby such as White Spot, Earls and Moxies. Most rooms have a view.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have fridges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Postie307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Director of Sales at Sheraton Vancouver Guildford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thank for the detailed review and the tips on the area, as you've highlighted many of the benefits of our location. Yes, our upgraded corner rooms are very popular and sell out quickly because of the fridges.

We look forward to your next stay!


Ryan Matheson
Director of Sales & Marketing
Sheraton Guildford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Myself, wife, and our 2 kids recently stayed here on a layover to the Southern Gulf Islands. We arrived in town quite late and the hotel was very easy to find. The staff was very friendly and we certainly enjoyed the convenience of underground parking (this comes at a cost however). We were awed bye the amazing room service breakfast. Best room service I have ever had on a trip (was approx. $50.00 for the whole meal which is not too bad for 4 people). The bedding was very comfortable along with the beds. I would recommend this hotel as a short term stay or layover. It is right beside 152 st. and close to the #1 Highway then it is a straight shot south to #10 Highway then onto the 99 and heading to the airport or to the ferry terminal or even the US border.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Director of Sales at Sheraton Vancouver Guildford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Cheers! Thanks for the great review and the tips about the location. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Ryan Matheson
Director of Sales & Marketing
Sheraton Guildford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I have stayed in many starwood hotels such as the sheraton, however, this hotel quality isn't as like the others.

I'm own a boutique Hotel in Bangkok, Thailand called Hotel Solo Sukhumvit 2 and if i was to offer this kind of service i probably wouldn't be getting many guests as I do now. I'm sorry, but there is no Shower cap, there is no fridge (huge disappointment) and the rooms are pretty old looking...not to a sheraton standard at all. The lobby is very quiet and dull and so is the lobby Bar, not tempting at all. There's no one to help assist you to carry the bags in and out of your car and in and out of the rooms, for a sheraton standard, this service has to be offered !

What i like though is the free wifi offered if you stayed in though you have to click the submit button that you'll be paying and once checked out its waved. Free Parking for guests as i stayed for 3 nights before heading to whistler. But thats it. Hotel needs more servicing staffs for sure to take extra care for the hospitality of the guests.

Its an average hotel, i'm sorry, with only 3 stars.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dalvir N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Director of Sales at Sheraton Vancouver Guildford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to reply. Yes, the amenity standards are different between the North American & Asian hotels with the nuances or shower caps and fridges. We have introduced Sheraton Social Hour in the lobby bar on Tues, Wed & Thurs where we feature excellent wines and have a local musician on the piano.


Ryan Matheson
Director of Sales & Marketing
Sheraton Guildford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This was my second time to this hotel. I have never been disappointed with the facility or the service. The staff is always friendly and helpful. The facility is very clean and comfortable. It's the next best thing to being home. I have stayed at other hotels in the area and prefer this one.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JP1631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Director of Sales at Sheraton Vancouver Guildford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Glad you enjoyed your stay, we appreciate the 5/5!


Ryan Matheson
Director of Sales & Marketing
Sheraton Guildford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This hotel is charge after charge after charge,

1) parking is 9.00 per night
2) internet access in your room is $19.00 per day
3) no fridge in your room
4) booking it a Sheraton.com allows you to choose the rate and options like free breakfast, internet ect, but automatically defaults to a lower rate and you will have to pay for these items at the hotel.

in my opinion find another hotel, like I said above, not your typical Sheraton.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garett L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Director of Sales at Sheraton Vancouver Guildford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Sorry you felt this way about the hotel. We do have several rate options available, some which are offered only a short period of time and each differs with the inclusions of amenities.

Thanks for taking your time to review the hotel.

Ryan Matheson
Director of Sales & Marketing
Sheraton Guildford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed here for one night on business in June, it was very close to my meeting location. King room originally assigned was right next to elevator and I am a light sleeper so they moved me to a room with two doubles with no problems (not my preference). It did have a fantastic mountain view. I am surprised that there was no other room on the preferred floors available (I am a preferred member) but I guess it's possible,
Internet costs extra in the room and I was told that the lobby internet was free but after multiple failed attempts found out that I needed a password (why they didn't tell me when I checked in or called I'm not sure)
My bathroom counter had some sort of substance spilled all over it (toothpaste? hair gel?) which was so obvious - I questioned the hygiene and the cleanliness of the hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the mountains to the north?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharradog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Director of Sales at Sheraton Vancouver Guildford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Thanks to taking the time to write about your experience at Sheraton Guildford. Your review has been given to the housekeeping department to review our practices and quality control. We're sorry that this was your experience with us.

Please let me know if you'll be in our area again, as we'd like to have you stay with us again.


Ryan

Ryan Matheson
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surrey hotels
Guildford
Sandman Suites Surrey-Guildford
Guildford
Four Points by Sheraton Surrey
Guildford
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Surrey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whalley
Days Inn Surrey
Days Inn Surrey
#11 of 19 in Surrey
294 reviews
Newton
Best Western King George Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Vancouver Guildford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Vancouver Guildford Hotel

Address: 15269 104 Ave, Surrey, British Columbia V3R 1N5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Surrey > Guildford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Surrey
Price Range: $118 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Vancouver Guildford Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 279
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Vancouver Guildford Hotel, in British Columbia's Fraser Valley, is a four-star, 279 guest room hotel with a 26,000 sq ft conference centre near Stanley Park, Grouse Mountain, and White Rock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Vancouver Guildford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Surrey
Surrey Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing