We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Eat”

McJac's Roadhouse Grille
Ranked #39 of 831 Restaurants in Surrey
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Canadian, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: South Surrey
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Place to Eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

This place is great for couples and families, they have a great extensive menu, big breakfasts and a King George burger that is unbelievable. If you like good service then this place is for you. The location is in South Surrey about 2 miles from the Peace Arch Border crossing and very close to White Rock Beach.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill2025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    35
    12
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Astoria, Oregon
Level Contributor
218 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“homey and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

I succumbed to the veal liver with onions...not usually on my diet,but a 'comfort food' from my youth. With mashed potatoes yet...
the veggies are nicely steamed, not mushy. Prices are right. Atmosphere is funky.
we ate there on previous visits, and it has kept its appeal.'
sorry to see the adjacent bakery was shut down.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank oregonoma4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“real 60'es tables”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

This place takes you back a few decades. I don't know how but they have found all these 60'es and 70'es stuff and put them together and created a great warm atmosphere.
the food is great. They make an amazing liver and onions plate, not that I like it but a coupl eof experts with me said that was great. I had t heir burger nad it was quite alright. Very casual place and the staff are friendly.
I loved the fact that it is not outrageously loud; you can actually hear t he conversations!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mo-safer-at
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Prime Rib”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

The prime rib was on special and is awesome and the bread pudding divine. Love this place! The whole family had a get together and not one complaint.

Helpful?
Thank phwolf33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pullman, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“"McWontgoBack's"”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Last stop before the US border. Stopped for breakfast after new years eve.

Service wasn't bad but i could see the servers sweating a little under the pressure of a busy but not packed house. Ate my breakfast dry waiting for a cup of coffee and a water.
The food tasted far below par. I've worked in kitchens all around the world and I've tried some wild food on my travels. I know I can cook a better burger than McDonalds, just like I can cook a better breakfast than McJac's but my real concern was what the food did to us.
Worst place ever if your on a road trip. It felt like allergy season for our rear ends. Took way too many bathroom breaks from our overactive volcano butts. absolutely tore up our insides. So much so that it encouraged me to write my first post on TripAdvisor. Looking forward to giving great reviews to everywhere else we ate on out trip.
If you're looking for some great places to eat downtown Vancouver read my other reviews.

Thanks McJac's for enabling us to discover the pure darkness written within each rest stop bathroom stall from Surrey to Idaho. And I apologize to everyone who may have contracted pink eye from that haphazard left behind.

Hit the road Jac not going back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Benji110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McJac's Roadhouse Grille also viewed

Surrey, British Columbia
 
Surrey, British Columbia
Surrey, British Columbia
 

Been to McJac's Roadhouse Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing