We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and close to Skytrain”
Review of Grouse Creek Motel

Grouse Creek Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grouse Creek Motel
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Surrey
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Since the closure of the Compass Point Inn, this is now the closest accommodations to the King George Skytrain station. It's maybe an 8 minute walk along the well lit King George Blvd, so even at night it's no big deal.

The check-in process was quick, my reservation was accurate and the staff was friendly. They charge a $25 damage deposit to your card. When they refunded it the next day upon check-out, they hadn't actually even checked the room to see if there was any damage...not sure how that's supposed to work.

My room was clean, the air-conditioner worked fine (and it was a hot day), and the bed was very comfortable. It was nice have a sofa and fridge and the free wi-fi worked just fine. As always, I must complain about the flat screen TV since the aspect ratio is wrong and there is no way to adjust that.

If you are looking for fancy, certainly go somewhere else. Paying about half for a room here however, makes sense to me and I've already made another reservation for the next time I'm in town.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ydnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 29 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2013

Honestly, I've read other people' comments when I was arrived in that room. I've checked all the room. Yes, I agreed with them. Everything is filthy (the bathroom, carpet, towels and etc.). Managers and staffs are unfriendly and they look evil. I had a pretty bad nightmare in that room. I was dreaming in the same room and trying to wake up so badly. I've seen two exactly same woman in my first and second dream. I thought I was already awake but I was stuck in my dream. The third one was someone's hand tried to pull my arm down from the bed. I was screaming at my partner to get me. He did! I woke up and told him about my dream. He believes me what I've said. I love him! He said the place ****ed up! That place is creepy and it feels like a hunted house. We will never go back there again! Period!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank karebear604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

First, I would like to say that the photo displayed here, does not match the motel at the address 9414 King George Highway, V3V 5W3 Surrey. I am talking about Grouse Creek Motel at the address I have mentioned.

I spent one night there in Summer 2012. I was unhappy with the following/ Air Conditioner needs repair. It should not definetelly be available to customers use, as it is. Faucet in the buthtub does not function correctly. Not good. Shower-head does not function correctly.. Not good. Stay at your own rik.

I WOULD COME AGAIN ONLY IF I HAVE TO

.. .

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ZORAN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for one night. We had reserved for 2, but were too disgusted to make it through the second night. We spent our second night up the road at the Compass Point Inn (which was a much, much better experience).
Our "non-smoking" room reeked of cigarette smoke, and there were cigarette burn marks in the bathroom. It felt like a hotel that caters to prostitutes.

If you are considering staying at a hotel in Surrey, do yourself a favour and check the reviews for the Compass Point Inn. Their rooms are well worth the extra $10-15/night.

Room Tip: Check out the Compass Point Inn instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gfcanada78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stayed here a few weeks ago after booking through booking.com. The property was clean and at the end of the day, you get what you pay for. I couldn't ask for much considering I paid $75.00. The rooms are basic, more importantly, neat and tidy. The location is probably the most ideal aspect - close to skytrain which was a major plus on my list. I would recommend this property and know that I will be returning.

I would also recommend upgrading to the suites. I saw the rooms as I passed by them and regretted not booking them to begin with. They seemed a lot bigger, had sitting areas, had bar fridges, microwaves and stoves.

Room Tip: Upgrade to suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

The place was exceptionally quiet, and clean. Staff were generally nice and helpful. We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite which had a separate bedroom from the living room and a kitchen. The price was fantastic. The located was central - close to transit, local shops, and parks. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joanne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

We stayed here for the Olympics, but only because nothing else was available by the time we booked. We arrived to find the sheets in our room weren't washed: lots of hair in the bed and on the pillows. Luckily we were allowed to switch rooms. The rooms all smell of cigarettes. The staff is decently friendly. You can definitely find better budget motels in the area. The only redeeming quality of this place is its proximity to the light-rail station and a shopping mall.

Room Tip: Don't stay here. If you do, throughly review the room before you settle in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DosLagosDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surrey hotels
Newton
Best Western King George Inn & Suites
Whalley
Days Inn Surrey
Days Inn Surrey
#11 of 19 in Surrey
297 reviews
Guildford
Sheraton Vancouver Guildford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Newton
Econo Lodge Surrey
Econo Lodge Surrey
#12 of 19 in Surrey
96 reviews
Ramada Surrey/Langley
#3 of 19 in Surrey
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grouse Creek Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grouse Creek Motel

Address: 9414 King George Blvd, Surrey, British Columbia V3V 5W3, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Surrey > Whalley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Surrey
Price Range: $70 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Grouse Creek Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grouse Creek Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing