We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This truck stop is a must stop!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gilli's Truck Stop & Restaurant

Gilli's Truck Stop & Restaurant
Cuisines: American, Canadian, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Barrie
Level Contributor
79 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“This truck stop is a must stop!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Fast friendly service, ample portions combined with a unique 'truck stop' atmosphere. Great food at reasonable prices!
VERY clean washrooms!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderersbarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    40
    17
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Ontario
Level Contributor
291 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Very Good Pork Chop Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

On Sept 21, 2013 my partner and I stopped in for lunch at Gilli;s as the parking lot was full and this seemed to be the place to go. We were not disappointed. I ordered the pork chop dinner and it was very good. The meal came with a salad, mashed potatoes and two nice flavorful pork chips. My partner ordered potatoes skins which she enjoyed. The place was very busy, yet the service was very good and wait time was very reasonable. I would recommend this family type restaurant to my family and friends.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank goldenboy1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sunday Breakfest”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Busy place. Waitress was pleasant. Coffee was typical restaurant quality. Had scramble eggs and bacon. Only complaint was their idea of scramble eggs is a fried egg chopped up.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Homesick13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
178 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Best big breakfast anywhere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

I have been many times at Gillie's for breakfast. I loved the big truckers' portions and the fast service.
I highly recommend it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millbrook, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Well Prepared Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

I ordered liver, onions and bacon & if a cook can do liver well he can do anything. This was a good meal. And not on the small side. The service was good. Friendly atmosphere. It's a truck stop and the decor reflects that. I recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gilli's Truck Stop & Restaurant also viewed

Temiskaming Shores, Northeastern Ontario
New Liskeard, Temiskaming Shores
 
New Liskeard, Temiskaming Shores
New Liskeard, Temiskaming Shores
 

Been to Gilli's Truck Stop & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing