We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best baked goods that you didn't make...”
Review of The Little Tart

The Little Tart
Ranked #10 of 26 things to do in Haliburton
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best baked goods that you didn't make...”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We read about this place on TA and were happy we were able to visit (twice!) One our first visit we each tried one of the pastries as large pies aren't available during the week. We had a large selection to choose from including cookies, bars and small tarts (strawberry rhubarb, lime custard and blueberry among others). We ate the pastries when we returned to the cottage and made the decision immediately to go back on the weekend to get a pie. Baked on site, all the treats were delicious - the Nanaimo bar was rich and chocolatey with the right balance of coconut. The chocolate chip cookie had an extra drizzle of chocolate on top and the date squares had a lot of fruit. When we returned on Friday for a pie, only one was left. (Please know that the gentleman told us that only 4 or 5 large pies are made a day on the weekends.) The apple pie was well made with lots of fruit and not too much spice. Turns our out chocolate lab enjoyed the pie too - finishing off the remaining pieces over night!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JeffVaderA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    2
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
137 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 382 helpful votes
“TART-licious!”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Here's how you have delicious sweet treats daily! You go on vacation, get up at the crack of dawn, slave making pastry and baking delicious tarts and desserts from scratch (provided you have the skills). OR you just go to The Little Tart because these nice people have done the work for you for about $2 per tart. Take a moment to read the cheeky names and descriptions. The tarts are delectable and not overly sweet: flavours include pecan, blueberry cheesecake, apple crumble, and the all-Canadian butter tart. My current fave is their tangy lemon... but I think I need more research! A Yum-tastic must if you are near Haliburton!

Details ~ Summer Hrs Mon-Tues 12-5 Wed-Sun 10-5 - go early for best selection.
Just take the 1(Gelert Rd) towards Donald and watch for their little roadside sandwich board sign at Koshlong Rd. Less than 15min from William's Landing and 8min from Chandler Point.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank 2-4-T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“What a gem!!!”
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Perfect tarts all made from scratch, right down to the lemon curd. You need to get there early for best selection. Locals know to pre-order. Fantastic variety and super friendly owners. This is surely destined to be the new "Kawartha Dairy Ice Cream" in terms of cottage traditions for those in the Haliburton Highlands. 10 mins from town and HIGHLY worth it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Brad O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haliburton, Canada
1 review
“Happy Mother's Day to me....!”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

popped in for a dozen tarts and had such a hard time deciding, they were all amazing! A perfect way to celebrate Mother's Day, it was truly a day of decadence!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sweet desserts”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This place is the bomb diggity. The tarts are out of this world good. We will return, whenever we are in The 'Burton area.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jewel126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Little Tart also viewed

 

Been to The Little Tart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing