We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting but not outstanding” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hali's Bistro - CLOSED

Hali's Bistro
Cuisines: American, European, Canadian, Albanian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Haliburton, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Interesting but not outstanding”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

As residents of the area, my wife and I go out to lunch once a week. The choices in Hali are somewhat limited. We recently retried Hali's Bistro after trying it when it first opened. While it was pleasant and somewhat reasonable, it certainly wasn't a spectacular, gotta do that again soon experience.
The service was quick and efficient (there were only two other couples in there ) although we were slightly put off by a funky smell in the upstairs dining room.
The food was ok but my wife ordered the big ugly salad which came as a solid half head of lettuce which she then had to cut up and mix together with the dressing. Not exactly a casual fine dining experience. The flavor was good . I had the chicken club special on a ciabatta bun. Again , it tasted fine but lacked big flavor and I wouldn't order it next time.
Maybe it's because we make BIG FLAVOR at home that we find a lot of the offerings in town to be a bit bland.
Just looking for big flavor, reasonable prices and pleasant service...Hali's Bistro has potential but needs to step up its game

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pelawpablo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    7
    9
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
wilberforce
1 review
“Haliburton is lucky to have you”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Great food, affordable price point, excellent service, will be coming back without a doubt. Haliburton is lucky to have you.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rob h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“New Years Eve”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

If you're willing to pay for fabulous food, you found it! I don't think there's anything else in Haliburton that compares to it.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank caramoyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a fine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Ate here on Dec 28th, and had an excellent meal!
Heirloom bruschetta - delicious!
Cornbread with beer/syrup reduction - the cornbread was good, but the beer and corn syrup dip frankly was just beer taste with corn syrup - just okay combined.
The bison meatloat was delicious - and was a nice taste experience.
The lemon poppy salad was great tasting - very light and tasty!

This was a very nice place with great service. The selection from the menu is very good and some good inventive dishes! Definitely will go back when I am in the area again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank brad s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Finally great food in Haliburton”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

My partner and I were delighted to discover Hali's recently. The food is absolutely delicious (we've been 5 times now) and the creative menu keeps us coming back when we're in the area. (the exotic mushroom soup is the best mushroom soup recipe I've had in a restaurant--which is saying something for a mushroom soup addict.) For the price of wings at the nearby sports bar we can have an excellent meal with great service. Very happy to see Hali's come on the scene.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Nancy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hali's Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing