We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winterdance Dogsled Tours”

Winterdance Dogsled Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Experience what it's like to drive a dogsled team with Ontario's only Iditarod & Yukon Quest kennel! Our family run business complete with 150 loveable Siberian Huskies has had the honour of welcoming guests from around the world the last 14 years, with the stunning rugged wilderness of Haliburton/Algonquin Park as our backdrop. Escape today's hectic world & let your spirit soar as the huskies share their passion & the land reveals its magic
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Winterdance Dogsled Tours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

I've gone here twice. Once with my parents and brother and once with my boyfriend. Both times were amazing! The first time had nicer scenery because there was a fresh snowfall the night before. The second time was smoother because I didn't have younger dogs on my team so the older dogs were easier to control (not easily distracted). The trails are gorgeous and the sleds are comfortable. You get to play with the dogs which is so much fun. I would definitely recommend this as an outing. If you have younger kids they may not be able to push the sled, but they could still enjoy the ride. There are uphill parts so be prepared for a little workout. The staff were very friendly and informative, not to mention accommodating. Thanks for the experience Winterdance!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    17
    3
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Richmond Hill, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing experience...will be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Our family had a wonderful time on our 2 hour tour during the March break. Our two sons, ages 7 and 9, had an amazing time...they are still talking about how they miss Jasmine and Casper!
They loved spending time getting to know the dogs, riding in the sled, and even taking turns standing with us at the back of the sled. The guides were knowledgeable, funny, helpful and accomodating. We will definitely save up to come back!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 877PatriciaW877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing experience !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

My husband, my two young children (5 and 6) and I had planned a 10-days visit of Ontario in March-April 2013. The weather conditions allowed us to book a half-day dogsled tour with Winterdance end March after a very nice phone contact with Tanya, and this turned out to be the most wonderful experience of our trip to Canada !

As we live in a tropical country and did not have proper snow boots for our kids, the owner proposed to lend us 2 pairs of boots which allowed our children to fully enjoy the ride. appreciated the warm welcome and were lucky enough to have a perfect weather: blue sky, sunshine, good snow on the ground but not too cold for us !

The beautiful husky dogs were really nice to the kids, gentle and very obedient, and obviously they love the staff. It was a real pleasure to drive a sled pulled by such dogs... and it was much easier than we would have thought ! Our kids were happy to be in the sled and enjoy the speed, and also happy to step out of the sled and play in the snow during the half-way hot chocolate pause (not to mention the delicious home-made cakes).
We also saw a moose on the trail, which was a surprise to everyone (the guide said mooses are usually afraid of dogs and avoid the dogsled trails) and a great moment to live. Unforgettable !

It was an amazing experience for the whole family and we can recommend anyone to try it !

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ValerieCoutisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vienna
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a unforgrttable day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Short term, we decided to take a ride with eight people instead of four and it was no problem for the staff of "Winter Dance Dogsled Tours". By email we changed our original booking and we were immediately on ok. After a more then three-hour ride (including small breaks) from Toronto to Haliburton, we reached a gorgeous landscape in the middle of the woods Haliburtons consisting of forests, glades, and frozen lakes where our dogs and sleds, as agreed, were waiting. We were lucky with the weather and booked the two hours tour. The approximately 20 minute briefing to operate the sleds was very detailed and easy to understand. The few commands like "hike, wow, easy, and ahead" soon were part of our vocabulary and you could see how the dogs were getting nervous and just wanted to start running. The joy of the animals was obvious, as soon as we started. After about an hour we made a break for the animals and ourselves and hot chocolate and pastries had been served. We had the opportunity to befriend us more with the animals and I was surprised how much the animals enjoyed our pats. Then we drove for about an hour through the sleepy woods and glades and finally reached our starting point. It was an unforgettable experience for me and my companions.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 165joet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“the most unbelieveable experience everyone should try!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Where to begin with this review -- well to start, my sister and I wanted to celebrate our birthdays in a fun and memorable way , my sister went ahead and began organizing it all. She researched, called up Winterdance, and after a series of back and forth and VERy polite and helpful emails from the company, we were all set! Upon arrival to winterdance we were early, and got to see the dogs returning from a morning sled tour. They were very noisy and excited! we watched as they were taken for nap time. Finally, our tour was to begin after about an hour nap for the dogs and after our sign up with the tour leaders. Kevin instructed us on how to begin our adventure --commands like "HIKE, AHEAD AND WOA!!'' becamse a part of our vernacular for the rest of the day. Then, we hitched up the dogs -- every dog was SO excited to get running! They are so well-cared for, all of them so kind, sweet, and lovable -- we had Peach, Firefly, And Raven among the 5 dogs on our sled-- after getting in the sled and going over our commands we were off!!! The half day tour is just perfect-DRESS WARMLY though! even in -5 weather ( not THAT cold for the dogs- they love -20 the best!) by the end of the tour my toes and hands were very very very cold! but pushing the sled warms you up a lot! .... Anyhow-- half way through our tour we stopped for photos, pastries, and hot chocolate provided by the tour! it was a lovely break , we hopped back on our sleds and were off again heading back to base. After a mostly downhill trip back, we were sad the tour was over because we were in love with our dogs! ... They all got treats and gobbled them up very excitedly. THEN a surprise-- a Birthday cake for us provided by our hosts!!! This was such a wonderful surprise- they were all so nice, and just shows how the communication from the company is amazing.. Winterdance is a very well organized, very memorable and special experience....by the end you will not want to go home and leave the amazing dogs, i promise! I will say if going--there is one outhouse--NO changerooms, no bathrooms, but a little cabin if you have to put on some mroe layers.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lexels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Winterdance Dogsled Tours also viewed

 

Been to Winterdance Dogsled Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing